加密诈骗:如何识别和避免它们

特别是金融和加密世界充满了寻找下一个受害者的骗子和女人。 本指南向您展示如何识别和避免他们的各种骗局。

加密诈骗是与加密货币相关的任何欺诈活动。 它们通常针对新的加密用户,尽管更有经验的人也会成为受害者。

互联网的扩张带来了网络犯罪的扩张。 因此,虽然诈骗并不是什么新鲜事,但万维网为骗子进行交易创造了新的途径。

Chainalysis 例如,有报道称,2021 年的非法加密交易达到 14 亿美元,这同样是在线犯罪收益的新纪录。 加密货币的唯一问题是你挽回损失的方法有限。

因此,留给您了解最流行的加密骗局并学习如何避免它们。 这篇文章通过列出最常用的方法来帮助你。

避免加密诈骗的提示

虽然不同的加密骗局需要不同的解决方案或方法来避免它们,但每个人都应该知道一些基本的智慧,以避免成为骗局的受害者。 这是一个快速列表:

  • 您永远不应该与任何人共享您的私钥或任何私有代码。 那是除非他们有枪指着你的头。 否则,任何向您索取任何信息或代码的人都可能是小偷。
  • 也不要向任何承诺工作、奖金、免费资金或声称来自政府的人发送任何加密货币。
  • 始终检查您是否正在连接 https:// 并不是 http:// 为了您的安全
  • 始终检查网站地址是否有拼写错误。
  • 始终为您的帐户启用多重身份验证,以帮助防止盗窃。
  • 远离语法错误的网站,以任何方式发出危险信号,或者你只是不喜欢。
  • 任何时候你要在压力下进行加密支付。 停下来考虑一下您以后是否会后悔自己的行为。

以下是互联网上最常见的加密诈骗类型:

1. 假 ICO

ICO 或初始代币发行是冲击加密货币和金融世界的最新概念之一。 它造就了许多新的百万富翁甚至亿万富翁。 因此,每个人都想参与其中是有充分理由的。

然而,问题是诈骗者也意识到普通人想要成为加密货币百万富翁的愿望,这就是一切的开始。

虚假的 ICO 骗局通常会通过社交媒体宣布即将到来的 ICO,并敦促您尽快采取行动,因为这是自 Cardano 以来的下一件大事。 他们也可能陈述事实,但他们所有的数字通常都是胡说八道,站不住脚。

发现假 ICO 很简单; 对硬币进行背景调查或询问加密专家。

2. 虚假应用和网站

一些骗子冒充加密货币交易所,提供许多诱人的奖励。 其他人可能会提供帮助您投资您的硬币以获得令人垂涎的回报,或者只是让您相信您正在使用信誉良好的服务。

虚假网站也会收集您的登录信息,这种方法也称为网络钓鱼。 一旦您登录虚假网站,诈骗者就会掌握您的所有详细信息,并可以使用它们来接管您的帐户。

通过交易所和其他服务,目标是让您尽快拿出资金。 然后,一旦你这样做,就为时已晚。

要发现并避免虚假应用程序和网站,您需要密切关注服务名称,以确保它不是真实公司的虚假副本。 此外,在注册任何新服务或下载他们的应用程序之前做一些研究。 然而,最好的措施是与知名品牌合作。

3. 传统骗局

这些就像传统的互联网骗局,但带有加密货币的扭曲,使其变得新颖有趣。 它们的范围从浪漫诈骗到市场、网络钓鱼、就业和庞氏骗局。

以下是每种类型的摘要:

  • 浪漫 - 你是单身,所以你上网并遇到了一个非常有趣的新情人。 他从金融市场赚了很多钱,生活得很好。 他会经常谈论这种新硬币,它肯定会让你们都成为名人。 最后,他要么提出帮助你投资,要么你决定自己把积蓄给他。
  • 市场 – 传统上,您在互联网上购买商品并获得付款说明。 只是卖家在收到您的付款后就消失了。 除了您使用加密货币付款外,加密骗局也是如此。
  • 就业机会 - 这个是另一个老歌。 如果你能从 A 读到 Z 并从 1 数到 20,那么你就有资格胜任这份每月可以赚到 5 万美元的新工作。 看看安德鲁,他甚至赚得更多,过着互联网生活。 您所要做的就是以 399 美元的价格购买“这个包”,然后您就可以成为互联网百万富翁了。 得到它?
  • 網絡釣魚 – 在这里,骗子试图获取您的私人信息。 例如,访问您的钱包、钥匙等。 网络钓鱼可以采取不同的形式,从使用虚假网站捕获您的信息,到向您发送虚假电子邮件、通过电话以及任何其他获取信息的方式。 这是一个广阔的领域,科学被称为社会工程。
  • 庞氏骗局 - 以意大利骗子查尔斯庞氏命名,庞氏骗局让您将资金投资于所谓的利润丰厚的业务。 但问题是没有生意。 首先,该计划的经理将使用您的投资来支付老投资者,并使用新投资者的投资来支付您。 当然,他们将一直靠这些收益过活,但该计划最终会崩溃。 所以,总是先做你的研究。

4. 泵和转储

Pump & Dump 骗局 它起源于金融市场,并被许多交易所禁止。 它的机制很简单——一群欺诈投机者专注于一种特定的证券,并在一段时间内积极地购买它。

结果是该证券的价格不断上涨,其他投机者注意到并决定加入这一行列。 这就是欺诈发生的时候,因为最初的投机者卖掉了他们所购买的一切。 换句话说,他们将证券抛给新进入者。

Pump & Dump 与加密货币的工作方式相同。 一群骗子瞄准了表现不佳的硬币,并慢慢围绕它制造了购买狂潮。 一旦有希望的投资者看到“趋势币”名单上的币,他们就会自动冲进去购买。

避免 Pump & Dump 骗局很简单; 只做你理解的投资。 如果你不知道为什么加密货币会上涨,那么你也不会知道它为什么会下跌。 所以,总是做你的研究。

5. 地毯拉力

加密地毯拉动就像名字所暗示的那样——加密开发商突然放弃了一个项目,并带着投资者的资金消失了。 这种骗局经常发生在去中心化交易所或 DeFi(去中心化金融)生态系统中。

加密地毯拉动背后的主要原因是去中心化交易所允许用户在没有适当审计过程的情况下列出代币。 退出可以使用智能合约中的后门或开发人员快速抛售他的资产。

加密货币交易所要么是中心化的 BinanceCoinbase,或者它们可以像 Exodus 一样去中心化。 每种方法都有其优点和缺点。 但是为了更好的监管和避免像 Rug Pulls 这样的骗局,你最好使用中心化交易所。

6. 恶意 NFT

该骗局基于黑客加密平台,最近已在 OpenSea NFT 系统上执行。 OpenSea 是最大的 NFT 市场,每月交易量高达 3.5 亿美元。

它的一个系统漏洞最近允许诈骗者以 0.77 以太币(1,760 美元)的价格购买流行的 Bored Apes NFT,并迅速以 84.2 以太币(192,000 美元)的价格转售。

另一个发现的系统漏洞甚至允许攻击者通过空投 NFT 并让用户点击它们来清理用户的钱包。

7. 不能转售的代币

购买一个加密硬币然后意识到你不能转售它怎么样? 这个骗局还使用智能合约。 骗子在代码中添加了一个您不能转售代币的条款。

因此,诈骗团伙开始购买他们的硬币,其价格开始上涨。 然后,您和许多其他人可能会注意到这种新出现的硬币,因此您购买了一些。 问题是,除了骗子之外,没有人可以在购买后转售硬币。 所以这使得它的价格不断上涨。

如果您一直在寻找新硬币,那么避免这种骗局可能会很棘手。 避免它的最好方法是远离新推出的加密货币。 另一种选择是先买一点,然后尝试转售,看看情况如何。

8. 名人赠品诈骗

名人经常在社交媒体上进行赠品活动。 但是,如果名人向您索要小额押金,以便您有资格获得他们赠送的免费资金,那么是时候逃跑了。

这种骗局的运作方式如下:首先,骗子侵入了一个受欢迎的帐户。 在 Twitter 上,这甚至可能是带有蓝色验证徽章的帐户之一。 其次,他们更改帐户上的姓名和图片以反映知名名人的姓名和图片。 然后,他们发起活动。

要识别此类骗局,请始终检查名人的个人资料地址以与原始地址确认。 其次,要聪明——没有必要先付钱给想付钱给你的人。

9. 恶意软件诈骗

恶意软件包括在您的计算机或智能手机上运行的所有类型的有害应用程序。 恶意软件犯罪的概念并不新鲜,但加密恶意软件不是针对您的信用卡详细信息,而是针对您的加密钱包。

有些会监视您的剪贴板中的加密地址,而另一些则可能更加阴险。 最后,他们要么窃取你的密钥,要么与诈骗者交换加密支付地址。

另一种值得一提的方法是勒索软件,虽然不是纯粹的骗局。 这些会锁定您的设备并要求以加密货币支付赎金。

结论

我们已经到了这篇关于识别和避免加密诈骗的文章的结尾。 您已经看到了不同的方法以及避免成为受害者的最佳方法。

重要的是要注意,如果没有风险,投资成功是极不可能的。 因此,尽管您的资金总是以一种或另一种形式面临风险,但您至少可以摆脱这些骗局。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Crypto Scams: How To Identify And Avoid Them

The financial and crypto world in particular is full of con men and women hunting for their next victims. This guide shows you how to identify and avoid their various scams.

Crypto scams are any fraudulent activity associated with cryptocurrencies. They are usually targeted at new crypto users, although more experienced people also fall victim.

The expansion of the Internet brought the expansion of crime online. So, while scams are nothing new, the World Wide Web creates new avenues for con artists to ply their trade.

Chainalysis reports, for instance, that illicit crypto transactions in 2021 reached $14 billion, which is equally a new record for online crime proceeds. The only problem with crypto is that you have limited means of recovering your loss.

It is left for you, therefore, to get to know the most popular crypto scams and to learn how to avoid them as well. This post helps you with that by listing the top methods out there.

Tips on Avoiding Crypto Scams

While different crypto scams require different solutions or approaches to avoid them, there are a few basic smarts that everyone should know to avoid falling victim to scams. Here is a quick list:

  • You should never share your private keys or any code meant to be private with anyone. That is unless they have a gun to your head. Else, anyone requesting any information or code from you is probably a thief.
  • Also do not send any crypto coins to anyone with promises of work, winnings, free money, or who claims to be from the government.
  • Always check that you are connecting over https:// and not http:// for your security
  • Always check that there are no spelling mistakes on the website address.
  • Always enable multi-factor authentication for your accounts to help prevent theft.
  • Run away from websites that have bad grammar, raise a red flag in any way, or that you just don’t like.
  • Anytime you are about to make a crypto payment under pressure. Stop and consider if you might regret your actions later.

Most popular crypto scams

Here are the most common types of crypto scams on the internet:

1. Fake ICOs

The ICO or Initial Coin Offering is one of the newest concepts to hit the crypto and financial worlds. And it has minted many new millionaires and even billionaires. So, there is a good reason why everyone wants to get in on the action.

The problem, however, is that scammers are also aware of the desires of everyday people to become crypto millionaires, and that’s how it all starts.

A fake ICO scam will usually announce an upcoming ICO via social media and urge you to act as quickly as possible because it is the next big thing since Cardano. They may also state facts, but all their figures are usually nonsense and don’t hold water.

Spotting a fake ICO is simple; run a background check on the coin or ask a crypto expert.

2. Fake Apps & Websites

Some scammers pose as cryptocurrency exchanges that offer many enticing rewards. Others may offer to help you invest your coins for mouth-watering returns, or simply make you believe that you are using a reputable service.

Fake websites are also there to collect your login information, a method also known as phishing. Once you log into the fake website, the scammer has all your details and can use them to take over your account.

With exchanges and other services, the goal is to make you part with your funds as quickly as possible. Then once you do, it becomes too late.

To spot and avoid fake apps and websites, you need to keep an eye on the service’s name to make sure that it is not a fake copy of a genuine company. Also, do some research before signing up for any new service or downloading their app. The best measure, however, is to go with established brands.

3. Traditional Scams

These are like traditional Internet scams, but with a crypto twist to make it all new and interesting. They range from romance scams to marketplace, phishing, employment, and Ponzi schemes.

Here is a summary of each type:

  • Romance – You are single, so you go online and meet a very interesting new lover. He makes lots of money from the financial markets and lives well. He will often talk about this new coin that is sure to make you both bazzilionares. Finally, he either offers to help you invest or you decide to give him your savings by yourself.
  • Marketplace – Traditionally, you buy something on the Internet and get payment instructions. Only that the seller disappears after receiving your payment. It is the same with crypto scams, except that you pay with cryptocurrency.
  • Employment – This one is another oldie. If you can read from A to Z and count from 1 to 20, then you are qualified for this new job that can make you up to $5 million every month. Just check out Andrew, he is even making more than that and living the Internet life. All you have to do is purchase “this pack” for $399 and you are on your way to becoming an Internet millionaire. Get it?
  • Phishing – Here, the scammer tries to get your private information. For example, access to your wallet, your keys, and so on. Phishing can take different forms, from using fake websites to capture your information, to sending you bogus emails, through telephone calls, and any other means to get the info. This is a vast field and the science is called social engineering.
  • Ponzi – Named after Italian conman Charles Ponzi, a Ponzi scheme lets you invest money in a supposedly lucrative business. But the problem is that there is no business. First, the scheme’s manager will use your investment to pay older investors and use the investments from newer investors to pay you. Of course, they will be living large from the proceeds all this while, but the scheme eventually crashes. So, always do your research first.

4. Pump & Dump

The Pump & Dump scam has its origins in the financial markets and is banned by many exchanges. Its mechanics are simple – a group of fraudulent speculators focus on a particular security and aggressively keep buying it over a period.

The result is a constant increase in that security’s price that other speculators notice and decide to join the ride. This is when the fraud happens, as the original speculators sell everything they were buying. In other words, they dump the securities on the new entrants.

Pump & Dump works the same way with cryptocurrencies. A bunch of crooks target a poorly-performing coin and slowly create a buying frenzy around it. And once a hopeful investor sees the coin on the ‘trending coins’ list, they automatically rush in to buy.

Avoiding Pump & Dump scams is straightforward; only make investments that you understand. If you do not know why a crypto coin rises, then you will also not know why it falls. So, always do your research.

5. The Rug Pull

A crypto rug pull is exactly like the name suggests – crypto developers suddenly abandon a project and disappear with investors’ funds. This scam happens frequently in decentralized exchanges or the DeFi (decentralized finance) ecosystem.

The major reason behind crypto rug pulls is that decentralized exchanges allow users to list tokens without a proper audit process. And the exit can occur either using a backdoor in the smart contract or by the developer quickly dumping his assets.

Crypto exchanges are either centralized like Binance and Coinbase, or they can be decentralized like Exodus. Each approach has its pros and cons. But for better regulation and to avoid scams like Rug Pulls, you are better off with a centralized exchange.

6. Malicious NFTs

This scam is based on hacking crypto platforms and has been recently executed on the OpenSea NFT system. OpenSea is the largest NFT marketplace, recording up to $3.5 billion in monthly trading volume.

One of its system vulnerabilities recently allowed scammers to buy the popular Bored Apes NFT for just 0.77 ether ($1,760), and quickly resell them for 84.2 ether ($192,000).

Another discovered system flaw would have even allowed an attacker to clean out a user’s wallet just by airdropping NFTs and getting the user to click on them.

7. Tokens You Cannot Resell

How about buying a crypto coin and later realizing that you cannot resell it? This scam also employs smart contracts. The scammer adds a clause in the code that you cannot resell the token.

So, the scam gang starts to buy their coins and its price starts to rise. You and many others may then notice this new emerging coin, so you buy some of it. The problem is that no one except the scammers can resell a coin once bought. So this makes its price keep going up.

Avoiding such a scam can be tricky if you are always on the lookout for new coins. The best way to avoid it is to stay away from newly launched cryptocurrencies. Another option is to buy a little at first and try reselling it to see how things go.

8. Celebrity Giveaway Scams

Celebrities often engage in giveaways on social media. But if the celebrity asks for a small deposit from you, so you can qualify for the free money they are giving away, then it is time to run.

This scam works like this: First, the scammers hack into a popular account. On Twitter, this might even be one of those accounts with blue verified badges. Secondly, they change the name and pictures on the account to reflect that of a well-known celebrity. Then, they launch the campaigns.

To identify such scams, always check the profile address of the celebrity to confirm with the original. Secondly, be smart – there is no need to first pay someone that wants to pay you.

9. Malware Scams

Malware includes all types of harmful applications that run on your computer or smartphone. The concept of malware crime is not new, but rather than targeting your credit card details, crypto-malware targets your crypto wallets.

Some will monitor your clipboard for crypto addresses, while others can be even more insidious. In the end, they will either steal your keys or exchange crypto payment addresses with that of the scammer.

Another method worth mentioning, although not purely a scam, is ransomware. These lock your device and demand a ransom payment in crypto coins.

Conclusion

We have come to the end of this post on identifying and avoiding crypto scams. And you have seen the different methods out there and the best approaches to avoiding becoming a victim.

It is important to note that investment success is highly unlikely without some risk. So, while your capital will always be at risk in one form or the other, you can at least get rid of the scams.

Default image

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using
Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Articles: 153

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply