Elon Musk vs Jeff Bezos:影响、投资组合、历史和慈善事业

杰夫·贝佐斯和埃隆·马斯克在世界富豪榜上不断交换第一和第二的位置。 但是,他们是谁,他们做什么,为什么他们这么有钱?

Elon Musk 和 Jeff Bezos 目前是科技界最成功的两位企业家和行业领袖。 他们都在互联网上获得了关注,并且同样在追求太空飞行的梦想。

从表面上看,两人都有着令人印象深刻的商业生涯。 但是再深入一点,你会发现两个完全不同的性格。

贝索斯是经典的极客,尽管近年来他改变了风格。 另一方面,马斯克是个坏小子科学家。 如果您愿意,可以选择来自钢铁侠的真实托尼·斯塔克。

这是对这两个男人的仔细观察。

伊隆马斯克 vs 杰夫贝索斯

杰夫·贝佐斯伊隆麝香
出生日期:1964 年 1 月 12 日1971 年 6 月 28 日
国籍:美国 美国南非
Canada
美国
净资产(2021 年 XNUMX 月):的美元196亿元的美元170亿元
婚姻:麦肯齐贝佐斯贾斯汀威尔逊
塔鲁拉·莱利 (2x)
女朋友:劳伦·桑切斯克莱尔·伊莉丝·布歇 (Grimes)
投资组合:Amazon
蓝色原产地
“华盛顿邮报”
尤伯杯
重新思考机器人
MakerBot
埃弗菲
Airbnb的
人群上升
#:
特斯拉
SpaceX公司
无聊的公司
著名慈善事业:$ 10十亿的2020一半的财富承诺
成立公司:Amazon
蓝色原产地
SpaceX公司
无聊的公司
X.com
Neuralink
OpenAI
Zip2
SolarCity公司
贝宝
中断:电子商务
云计算
太空旅行
电动汽车
金融
太空旅行
隧道
显着的竞争:蓝色原产地
动物园
SpaceX公司
特斯拉
已知恶习:威士忌酒
色情短信
酒精
大麻
媒体恶作剧

早教

杰夫·贝索斯 1962 年出生于美国新墨西哥州,原名杰弗里·普雷斯顿·乔根森。 他的父母在他还是个婴儿的时候就离婚了,他的母亲又嫁给了古巴移民迈克·贝佐斯。 贝索斯四岁时收养了杰夫。

埃隆·里夫·马斯克 1971 年出生于南非,父亲是加拿大模特妈妈,父亲是南非人。 他的父母也于 1980 年离婚。马斯克在 1989 年 XNUMX 月移居加拿大之前与父亲住了一段时间。

在这两位企业家中,贝索斯似乎比与父亲疏远的马斯克更容易进入青春期和成年早期。 贝索斯于 1986 年大学毕业并从事高薪工作,然后决定创办亚马逊,为此他从父母那里得到了 300,000 万美元。

马斯克于 1997 年大学毕业,并从他自己、他的兄弟和一位朋友那里筹集了大约 2 美元的资金创办了 Zip15,000。 他在加拿大和妈妈一起生活,以及在他的 Zip1 期间每天靠 2 美元生活,他的日子要艰难得多 编程 天。 但公司的最终出售结束了这一切,因为他最终变得富有并开始追求其他企业。

婚姻

杰夫贝索斯在纽约遇到了他的妻子麦肯齐,而她在 1993 年担任他的助手。他们约会了 3 个月并结婚了。 他们的婚姻持续了 25 年,于 2019 年正式结束。她获得了贝索斯 25% 的亚马逊股份,此后捐出数十亿美元,并重新嫁给了一位科学老师。

另一方面,埃隆马斯克已经结过三次婚,但娶了两个女人。 他于 2000 年首次与贾斯汀威尔逊结婚,并于 2008 年与她离婚。

然后他于2010年与英国女演员Talulah Riley结婚,并于2012年与她离婚。然后他在2013年再次与Talulah结婚,并于2016年再次与她离婚。他目前正在与加拿大音乐家Grimes约会。

埃隆马斯克有 7 个孩子,而杰夫贝索斯有 4 个孩子。

净资产(2021 年 XNUMX 月)

两人的净资产都与股票挂钩,而股票最近波动很大。 贝索斯在 2018 年成为世界首富,首次超越比尔盖茨并保持至今。

另一方面,马斯克一直是亿万富翁,但离顶峰还差得很远。 直到特斯拉股票在 2020 年爆发,他的净资产超过 100 亿美元,相对来说是一夜之间。

马斯克在 2021 年 170 月和 196 年 XNUMX 月短暂超越贝佐斯成为世界首富,但特斯拉股价反弹并降温,让贝佐斯重回第一。 马斯克目前的身价约为 XNUMX 亿美元,而贝索斯的身价为 XNUMX 亿美元。

投资组合

马斯克的大部分净资产与特斯拉股票挂钩,就像贝索斯与亚马逊股票挂钩一样。 然而,两人都有其他兴趣,包括商业和个人,这扩大了他们的投资组合。 这是事情的样子。

  • 杰夫·贝佐斯 – 据报道,贝索斯拥有亚马逊 10% 以上的股份,这是在 10 年出售价值超过 2020 亿美元的股票之后。请记住,亚马逊拥有大量子公司,包括 Whole Foods、Zappos、Ring、Twitch、Audible 等。

    然后,他通过一家单独的控股公司拥有《华盛顿邮报》。 他还拥有航空航天公司 Blue Origin 和他的风险投资工具 Bezos Expeditions。

  • 伊隆麝香 – 除了马斯克拥有的超过 22 万股特斯拉股票外,他还拥有 SpaceX 的很大一部分。 由于它仍然是一家私人控股公司,没有任何记录可以证明任何事情,但他在该公司的持股估计超过50%。

    马斯克还拥有 SolarCity 的很大一部分,但被特斯拉收购。 然后是 AI 投资,包括已经出售的 DeepMind。 以及 NeuroVigil 和 Vicarious。 有金融科技公司 Stripe、Hyperloop TT 和非营利组织 OpenAI。

慈善事业

他们的另一个共同点是相对小气。 当然,这两个人过去都做过捐款,但与他们的财富相比,这笔钱就显得微不足道了。 贝索斯最近承诺投入 10 亿美元来应对气候变化,马斯克承诺将他的一半财产捐给火星事业,另一半捐给地球。 但请记住,承诺不是捐赠。

成立的公司

杰夫·贝索斯(Jeff Bezos)只创立了亚马逊和蓝色起源,而另一方面,埃隆·马斯克(Elon Musk)经常被描述为连续创业者。 他在 12 岁时以 500 美元的价格出售了他的第一款游戏,并于 2 年与他人共同创立了 Zip1995。他们在 307 年以 1999 美元的价格出售了公司,马斯克从中获得了 22 万美元。

随后,他创立了网上银行 X.com,该银行后来与 Confinity 合并成为 PayPal。 eBay 于 2002 年以 1.5 亿美元收购了该公司。 马斯克将出售所得的部分股份投资于特斯拉,并创立了 SpaceX 公司。

另一方面,贝索斯于 1994 年创立了 Amazon.com。为了实现这个梦想,他辞去了在对冲基金的工作,甚至与妻子 MacKenzie 从纽约搬到了西雅图。 这家网上商店最初只出售书籍。

他于 1997 年将公司上市并筹集了 54 万美元。 然后将其多元化为在线音乐和视频销售。 事情就是从那里发展起来的,亚马逊目前拥有 100 多个内部品牌,包括 AWS、Alexa、Fire、Kindle、Prime、Drive 等特定产品。

破坏

埃隆马斯克的颠覆包括 X.com 和 PayPal 的在线金融、SpaceX 的太空旅行以及特斯拉的电动汽车和人工智能。

虽然 Jeff Bezo 仅创立了 Amazon.com,但该业务已经发展到包括范围广泛的产品和 40 多家子公司。 这使它的影响范围和影响比大多数人想象的要广泛得多。

亚马逊主要专注于电子商务、数字流媒体、云计算和人工智能。 但它在出版、电影制作、消费电子、物联网、物流、机器人、杂货等领域也非常活跃。

对抗

除了“世界上最富有”的头衔竞争之外,两位科技企业家还在两个超级热门的行业中对峙——太空旅行和计算机视觉。

  1. 太空旅行 – 尽管 Elon Musk 的 SpaceX 往往会引起大部分关注,但 Jeff Bezos 于 2000 年首次推出 Blue Origin,比 SpaceX 早两年。 从那以后,两家公司就 NASA 合同、发射台权利、专利甚至人才问题展开了争夺。

    乘坐太空是许多人的梦想,因此民用太空旅游是一个充满潜力的热门行业。 Blue Origin 计划以约 200,000 万美元的价格提供此类旅行,而马斯克的 SpaceX 计划以每次约 500,000 万美元的价格提供前往火星的单程票。

  2. 计算机视觉 – 马斯克和贝索斯也将在计算机视觉行业展开激烈竞争,这是另一个有前途的新技术领域。 虽然大多数人都知道特斯拉是一个电动汽车品牌,但很少有人意识到它也是一个自动驾驶汽车品牌。

    特斯拉提供自动驾驶模式,让汽车完全接管驾驶。 到 2020 年 3 月,该品牌已在公共道路上自动驾驶超过 XNUMX 亿英里。

    亚马逊于 2020 年 1.2 月以 XNUMX 亿美元收购了 Zoox。 Zoox 是一家自动驾驶汽车初创公司,旨在打造一支自动驾驶出租车车队。 该公司拥有高度发达且令人印象深刻的计算机视觉技术,可能成为特斯拉技术的主要竞争对手。

恶习、特技和怪癖

我们都有自己的恶习,这两个也是。 马斯克以他在推特上的笑话、酗酒和使用大麻而闻名。 他在 2018 年发布了一个特斯拉龙舌兰酒愚人节玩笑,并开玩笑说它很快就会在 2020 年推出。当然,它确实做到了。 这些瓶子在特斯拉网站上以每瓶 250 美元的价格售出,很快就被抢购一空。

埃隆马斯克还以玩其他恶作剧和宣传噱头而闻名,包括出售帽子和火焰喷射器来资助他无聊的公司。 但他最杰出的是在他的网络节目中与乔罗根一起现场抽大麻。

无论如何,与马斯克相比,杰夫贝索斯对他的了解并不多。 尽管如此,据说他时不时地喜欢威士忌,尽管他在一次采访中证实,即使在成为亿万富翁之后,他仍然每天晚上和当时的妻子一起洗碗。

2019 年 XNUMX 月,有消息称贝索斯喜欢和他的新女友劳伦桑切斯发生性关系。 几个月后他离婚了。

结论

在本次并排观察两位科技界最著名的企业家结束时,您会发现生活中一切皆有可能,因为生活就是您所创造的。

技术目前正在赋予全球人类权力,并为创造它的人创造财富。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

一个评论

  1. Elon Musk 一直在发推文谈论比特币。 他关于特斯拉比特币的推文对市场产生了重大影响。 我通过 Coinbase 进行了很多投资。 他真的需要停止扰乱市场。

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Elon Musk vs Jeff Bezos: Impacts, portfolio, history & philanthropy

By

Jeff Bezos and Elon Musk keep exchanging first and second positions on the world’s richest list. But, who are they, what do they do, and why are they so rich?

Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos are currently two of tech’s most financially successful entrepreneurs and industry leaders. They both gained traction on the internet and are equally pursuing space-flight dreams.

On the surface, both men have had impressive business careers. But look a little deeper and you will find two entirely different personalities.

Bezos is the classic geek, though he has switched style in recent years. Musk, on the other hand, is a bad-boy scientist. A real-life Tony Stark from Iron Man, if you like.

Here is a closer look at both men.

Elon Musk vs Jeff Bezos

Jeff BezosElon Musk
Born:January 12, 1964June 28, 1971
Citizenship:United States of AmericaSouth Africa
Canada
United States of America
Net Worth (April 2021):$196 billion$170 billion
Marriages:MacKenzie BezosJustine Wilson
Talulah Riley (2x)
Girlfriends:Lauren SanchezClaire Elise Boucher (Grimes)
Portfolio:Amazon
Blue Origin
The Washington Post
Uber
Rethink Robotics
MakerBot
Everfi
Airbnb
CrowdRise
StackOverflow
Tesla
SpaceX
The Boring Company
Notable Philanthropy:$10 billion in 2020Half – half fortune promise
Companies Founded:Amazon
Blue Origin
SpaceX
Boring Company
X.com
Neuralink
OpenAI
Zip2
SolarCity
Paypal
Disruptions:E-commerce
Cloud computing
Space travel
Electric mobility
Finance
Space travel
Tunnels
Notable rivalries:Blue Origin
Zoox
SpaceX
Tesla
Known vices:Whiskey
Sexting
Alcohol
Marijuana
Media pranks

Early Years

Jeff Bezos was born in 1962 in New Mexico, USA as Jefferey Preston Jorgensen. His parents divorced while he was still a baby and his mother re-married to Mike Bezos, a Cuban immigrant. Bezos adopted Jeff when he was four years old.

Elon Reeve Musk was born in 1971 in South Africa to a Canadian model mom and a South African father. His parents also divorced in 1980. Musk lived for a while with his father, before moving to Canada in June 1989.

Between both entrepreneurs, Bezos seems to have had easier adolescence and early adulthood than Musk, who is estranged from his father. Bezos graduated college in 1986 and had good-paying jobs, before deciding to start Amazon, for which he got $300,000 from his parents.

Musk graduated college in 1997 and started Zip2 with about $15,000 in total funding from himself, his brother, and a friend. He had a much tougher time both living with his mum in Canada and living on $1 per day during his Zip2 programming days. But the eventual sale of the company put an end to it all, as he finally became rich and started pursuing other ventures.

Marriages

Jeff Bezos met his wife MacKenzie in New York, while she worked as his assistant in 1993. They dated for 3 months and got married. Their marriage lasted for 25 years, coming to an official end in 2019. She received 25% of Bezos’ stake in Amazon and has since given billions away from it and re-married to a science teacher.

Elon Musk, on the other hand, has been married three times, but to two women. He first tied the knot with Justine Wilson in 2000 and divorced her in 2008.

Then he married the English actress Talulah Riley in 2010 and divorced her in 2012. Then he married Talulah one more time in 2013 and divorced her again in 2016. He is currently dating the Canadian musician Grimes.

Elon musk has 7 children while Jeff Bezos has 4.

Net Worth (April 2021)

Both men’s net worths are tied to stocks, which have been pretty volatile in recent times. Bezos became the world’s richest man in 2018, surpassing Bill Gates for the first time and keeping the position to date.

Musk, on the other hand, has been a billionaire but was nowhere near the top. That was until Tesla stocks exploded in 2020 and he gained over $100 billion in net worth, relatively overnight.

Musk briefly surpassed Bezos in January and March 2021 to become the world’s richest person, but the Tesla stock rallies and cools off, bringing Bezos back to number one. Musk is currently worth around $170 billion against Bezos’ $196 billion.

Portfolios

Most of Musk’s net worth is tied to Tesla stocks, just as Bezos’ is tied to Amazon shares. However, both men have other interests, both business and personal, which expand their portfolio. Here is how things are looking.

  • Jeff Bezos – Bezos reportedly owns over 10% of Amazon and that’s after selling over $10 billion worth of its stocks in 2020. Keep in mind that Amazon owns a ton of subsidiaries, including Whole Foods, Zappos, Ring, Twitch, Audible, and so on.

    Then, he owns The Washington Post through a separate holding company. He also owns Blue Origin, the aerospace company, and Bezos Expeditions, which is his venture capital investment vehicle.

  • Elon Musk – Aside from the over 22 million Tesla shares Musk owns, he also owns a large part of SpaceX. Since it is still a privately held company, there are no records to prove anything, but his holdings in the company are estimated at over 50%.

    Musk also owned a large part of SolarCity, but it got purchased by Tesla. Then there are AI investments, including DeepMind, which has been sold. As well as NeuroVigil and Vicarious. There is the fintech company Stripe, Hyperloop TT, and the non-profit OpenAI.

Philanthropy

Another thing they have in common is being relatively stingy. Sure, both men have made donations in the past, but the sums pale in comparison to their wealth. Bezos recently pledged $10 billion to combat climate change and Musk pledged to give away half his fortune for Martian endeavors and the other half for the earth. But keep in mind that pledges are not donations.

Companies founded

While Jeff Bezos founded just Amazon and Blue Origin, Elon Musk, on the other hand, has often been described as a serial entrepreneur. He sold his first game at age 12 for $500 and co-founded Zip2 in 1995. They sold the company for $307 in 1999 and Musk received $22 million from it.

He then went on to found X.com, an online bank, which later merged with Confinity to become PayPal. eBay bought the company in 2002 for $1.5 billion. Musk invested part of his share from the sale into Tesla and founded the SpaceX company as well.

Bezos, on the other hand, founded just Amazon.com in 1994. He left his job at a hedge fund to chase this dream and even moved from New York to Seattle with his wife MacKenzie. The online shop initially sold only books.

He took the company public in 1997 and raised $54 million. Then diversified it into online music and video sales. Things grew from there and Amazon currently has over 100 in-house brands, including specific products such as AWS, Alexa, Fire, Kindle, Prime, Drive, and so on.

Disruptions

Elon Musk’s disruptions include online finance with X.com and PayPal, space travel with SpaceX, and electric mobility and AI with Tesla.

While Jeff Bezo’s founded just Amazon.com, the business has grown to include a wide range of products and over 40 subsidiaries. This gives it a far wider reach and impact than most people imagine.

Amazon focuses primarily on e-commerce, digital streaming, cloud computing, and artificial intelligence. But it is also very active in publishing, movie production, consumer electronics, the internet of things, logistics, robotics, groceries, and so many more.

Rivalry

Asides from the “world’s richest” title competition, both tech entrepreneurs are also facing off in two super-hot industries – space travel and computer vision.

  1. Space travel – Although Elon Musk’s SpaceX tends to catch most of the spotlight, Jeff Bezos first launched Blue Origin in 2000, two years before SpaceX. Since then, both companies have fought over NASA contracts, launchpad rights, patents, and even talents.

    Taking a space ride is a dream for many, so civilian space tourism is a hot industry with many potentials. Blue Origin aims to offer such trips for about $200,000 while Musk’s SpaceX plans to offer a one-way ticket to Mars for about $500,000 a pop.

  2. Computer Vision – Musk and Bezos are also set to battle it out in the computer-vision industry, another promising new tech sector. While most people know Tesla as an electric vehicle brand, few realize that it is also a self-driving car brand.

    Tesla offers an autopilot mode, which lets the car completely take over driving. And by April 2020, the brand has recorded over 3 billion miles driven autonomously on public roads.

    Amazon bought Zoox in June 2020 for $1.2 billion. Zoox is a self-driving car startup that aims to create a fleet of self-driving taxis. The company owns a highly developed and impressive computer-vision technology, which could become a major competitor to Tesla’s technology.

Vices, Stunts, & Eccentricities

We all have our vices and so do these two as well. Musk is known for his Twitter jokes, alcohol, and cannabis use. He tweeted a Tesla Tequila April Fool’s joke in 2018 and teased that it was coming soon in 2020. And surely, it did. The bottles sold for $250 each on the Tesla website and were quickly sold out.

Elon Musk is also known to play other pranks and publicity stunts, including selling caps and a flame-thrower to fund his boring company. But his most outstanding was smoking weed live with Joe Rogan on his web show.

For Jeff Bezos, not much is known about him, compared to Musk anyway. Still, he is said to like a whiskey now and then, although he confirmed in an interview that he still did the dishes every night with his then wife, even after becoming a billionaire.

In January 2019, news broke that Bezos loves to sext with his new girlfriend, Lauren Sanchez. He got divorced months later.

Conclusion

Coming to the end of this side-by-side look at two of tech’s most notable entrepreneurs, you can see that anything is possible in life because life is what you make of it.

Technology is currently empowering humans across the globe and producing riches for those who create it.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

1 thought on “Elon Musk vs Jeff Bezos: Impacts, portfolio, history & philanthropy”

  1. Elon Musk has really been tweeting about Bitcoin. His tweets about Tesla’s BTC have been affecting the market substantially. I have a lot invested through Coinbase. He really needs to stop messing with the market.

    Reply

Leave a Comment