有史以来最大的 10 大加密货币诈骗

你听说过所有伟大的加密骗局,但它们如何相互衡量,我们都可以从中学到什么? 请继续阅读,我们将讨论有史以来 10 大加密货币骗局。

网络犯罪呈上升趋势,其中包括每年发生的不同规模的加密诈骗。 虽然迄今为止发生的事件数不胜数,但我们在这里查看了有史以来排名前 10 位的加密骗局。

除了黑客和盗窃之外,诈骗是处理加密货币的第二大危险。 虽然 4.26 年总共损失了 2019 亿美元,但这一数字在 14 年攀升至据报道的 2021 亿美元。因此,每个人都需要更加小心。

这篇文章列出了有史以来排名前 10 位的加密骗局。 它会看看它们是如何以及为什么会发生的,因此您也可以对加密黑社会变得更加明智并学会保持安全。

相关新闻: Crypto 诈骗:如何识别和避免它们

10 大加密货币骗局

名称金额Type
1.Onecoin的美元4亿元庞氏骗局2014
2.Bitconnect的美元3.5亿元庞氏骗局2016
3.PLUSTOKEN的美元3亿元庞氏骗局2019
4.胸腺的美元2.2亿元出口骗局2021
5.Pincoin600 百万美元退出骗局/庞氏骗局2018
6.GainBitcoin300 百万美元庞氏骗局2017
7.吉吉兄弟100 百万美元网络钓鱼/黑客攻击2019
8.ACChain60 百万美元出口骗局2018
9.Savedroid50 百万美元假出口骗局2018
10.Plexcoin8 百万美元出口骗局2017

1.维卡币

诈骗金额: 4亿美元以上

:2014

Onecoin 由保加利亚加密货币女王 Ruja Ignatova 创立,是一个庞氏骗局,展示了人类的愚蠢程度。 它本来是一种可开采的加密货币,但没有区块链。

Onecoin 甚至没有去中心化。 相反,创始人将货币集中在私人服务器中并对世界撒谎。 该系统是一个金字塔计划,它的许多核心成员都经历过这种业务类型。

会员可以购买教育套餐,其中包括书籍和代币,然后他们可以投资挖掘新的 Onecoins 来发财。 只能通过另一个内部市场 xcoinx Onecoin Exchange 将硬币兑换成其他货币。

大多数创始人已经失踪或入狱,但没有创始人 Ruja Ignatova 的踪迹。 不过,有一部关于 Onecoin 的电影即将上映,它被称为 Fake! 在其中,伊格纳托娃将由凯特温斯莱特扮演。

以下是从这个骗局中学到的一些东西。 1.) 如果它不是去中心化的,那么它就不是一个区块链系统。 2.) 如果你不确定它是如何工作的,那就别管它了。

2.比特连接

诈骗金额: 的美元3.5亿元

:2016

Bitconnect 是一种开源加密货币,这没问题。 但是,它与名为 bitconnect.co 的 HYIP(高收益投资计划)相关联。

目标是允许加密硬币的用户借出资金以换取利息。 不过,你必须用你的比特币换取 Bitconnect 代币。

有趣的是,代币的利息是每天 1%,你可以复利。 这吸引了很多投资者,但也引起了一些当局的怀疑,促使到 2017 年对 Bitconnect 进行调查。

到 2018 年 500 月,收益计划关闭,用户以 BCC (Bitconnect) 代币而不是比特币获得退款。 这导致对代币失去信心,并迅速从近 0.40 美元的高位抛售至一年后的 XNUMX 美元。

这里的教训是,HYIP 几乎总是一个骗局。 不过也有例外。 但不总是。

3.PlusToken

诈骗金额: 的美元3亿元

:2018

PlusToken 由陈波于 2018 年创立,是另一个加密货币庞氏骗局。 它针对中国和韩国的用户,但其操作方法保持不变。

用户因使用 PlusToken 钱包和使用比特币或以太坊购买 PLUS 加密货币而收到每月利息支付。 实际上,用户的利息支付来自新用户的存款。

PlusToken 由 27 人策划,加上其他 55 人,共计 82 人。 虽然骗子在骗局曝光后消失在柬埔寨,但他们中的大多数人已经被捕入狱。

4.Thodex

诈骗金额: 2.2 美元。 十亿

:2021

此列表中的第一个出口骗局以及最近的一个骗局。 Thodex 是一家土耳其加密货币交易所,在突然退出之前最初的交易量为数十亿美元。

Thodex 于 2021 年 XNUMX 月宣布暂停交易,并在几天内无法使用,同时该公司正在进行合伙投资程序。

由于成千上万的用户无法访问他们的帐户并发出警报,当局立即采取行动并展开调查。

最终,超过 300 万用户通过该平台损失了 2 亿以上。 当局逮捕并起诉了一些骗子,但创始人 Faruk Fatih Özer 已离开该国。

5. 平币

诈骗金额: 600 百万美元

:2018

2018 年左右,越南公司 Modern Tech 开发了一种加密货币,并通过 ICO 推出。 Pincoin 活动取得了成功,该公司从大约 600 名投资者那里筹集了超过 32,000 亿美元。

Pincoin 应该为其投资者提供持续的回报。 承诺是每月超过 40% 的回报,加上您介绍的每个新会员 8% 的佣金。

现代科技最初以现金支付这些回报。 然而,该公司随后转而使用他们创建的全新代币 iFan 向投资者付款。 随着麻烦的出现,团队消失了。

同样,这个骗局的教训是高收益投资计划通常是骗局。 这是一个经典的金字塔/庞氏骗局。 而8%的高额佣金,意味着投资人经常会带上自己的亲朋好友一起剥皮。

其次,任何具有技术或金融基础知识的人都会知道避开 PIN 项目。 当然,一些商业企业每月可以回报高达 40%。 但是,如果基本原理对您来说毫无意义,那么请远离。

6.GainBitcoin

诈骗金额: 300 万美元+

:2017

GainBitcoin 骗局向投资者承诺每月 10% 的资本回报率,从毫无戒心的印度投资者那里赚取了超过 300 亿美元。

该骗局由 Amit Bhardwaj 创立,将比特币挖矿的故事卖给了投资者。 通过购买 Gainbitcoin 代币,投资者为公司的云挖矿业务做出贡献,并每月获得回报。

唯一的问题是,大部分钱都用于支付假利息,而不是用于购买矿机。

Bhardwaj 于 2018 年 2022 月被捕,但一年后获准保释。 他于 38 年 XNUMX 月因心脏骤停和肾脏问题去世,享年 XNUMX 岁。

7. 吉吉兄弟

诈骗金额: 100 百万美元

:2019

Gigi兄弟是以色列31岁的Eli和21岁的Assaf。 这些兄弟与各种在线和加密犯罪有关,包括网络钓鱼和 Bitfinex 黑客。

他们的网络钓鱼诈骗是这样的。 1.) 他们会从 Telegram 和 Reddit 等社交网站或论坛引诱潜在投资者进行虚假加密货币交易所。 2.)当潜在投资者尝试登录时,兄弟会窃取他们的信息。 3.) 然后他们将使用这些详细信息登录受害者的真实账户并转移他们的加密货币。

他们可能使用的其他技巧包括推广指向钱包管理软件的链接。 下载后,这些软件允许他们清除用户的帐户。 

两人中年长的 Eli 是前 IDF 计算机专家和黑客。 Bitfinex 黑客攻击涉及 119,000 个被盗比特币,尽管他们的参与程度尚不清楚。 兄弟俩被指控多年来窃取了超过 100 亿美元的加密货币。

8. AC链

诈骗金额: 60 百万美元

:2018

ACChain 是一个去中心化资产代币化平台,于 2017 年左右在中国深圳成立。其目标是通过将实物资产代币化来提供加密流动性。

资产代币化具有很大的未来潜力,因此投资这样的初创公司具有非常好的财务意义。 许多投资者也发现 ACChain 非常有前途,该公司成功筹集了超过 60 万美元。

然而,一位 Reddit 用户在 2018 年发布了一张空空的 ACChain 办公室的照片,称该团队刚刚离开他们的电脑就消失了。 几天后,该办公室也遭到了突袭。

很明显,这与其他骗局不同。 虽然 ACChain 项目完全有意义,但创始人并不专注。 相反,他们开始进行诈骗,因为他们还参与了其他欺诈计划,例如 Puyin coin 和 BioLifeChain。

9. 拯救机器人

诈骗金额: 50 百万美元

:2018

Savedroid 是一家拥有 SVD 加密货币的德国软件公司。 这家总部位于法兰克福的公司由 Yassin Hankir 创立,他在推特上写道:“谢谢大家! 一遍又一遍……”,18 年 2018 月 XNUMX 日。然后公司网站和频道都死了,首页显示“Aannd It's Gone”的消息。

据报道,已筹集超过 50 万美元的 Savedroid 投资者对所谓的退出骗局感到愤怒。 然而,后来发现这完全是一个宣传噱头,旨在提高人们对 ICO 骗局的认识。

大多数诈骗者不会通过荒谬的在线帖子对他们的骗局幸灾乐祸。 因此,Savedroid 退出骗局可能只是一个噱头,而不是 Hankir 博士最初偷了资金,但后来被吓坏了,又恢复了原状。 尽管如此,他还是失去了许多支持者的信任。

10.Plexcoin

诈骗金额: $8

:2017

监管美国金融市场的美国证券交易委员会在 2017 年 XNUMX 月使用紧急资产冻结来阻止潜在的 ICO 骗局。

Plexcoin 向投资者承诺在一个月内获得高达 13 倍的利润回报。 它得到了三个人的支持,他们都来自加拿大。 他们还将所有募集资金转入私人账户,用于个人开支。

Dominic Lacroix 是 Plexcorp 背后的个人之一。 他有在小额贷款企业中欺骗投资者的记录,因此被禁止从事证券交易。 他被命令在 3 小时内偿还 24 万美元的比特币,当局不得不将他没收的电脑带入法庭,他在那里进行了转账。

Lacroix 和 Plexcorp 的另外两位创始人 Sabrina Parais-Royer 和 Yan Ouellet 于 2020 年 XNUMX 月被美国大陪审团以证券和电汇欺诈罪名起诉。

结论

我们已经到达了有史以来最大的 10 个加密骗局列表的末尾,你已经看到了它们的共同点——人类的贪婪和很少的研究。

诈骗永远是人类生活的一部分,但保护自己的责任取决于您——始终保持头脑清醒并在投资前进行研究。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Top 10 Biggest Crypto Scams Ever

You've heard of all the great crypto scams out there, but how do they measure against each other and what can we all learn from them? Read on as we discuss the 10 biggest crypto scams ever.

Cybercrime is on the rise and this includes different sizes of crypto scams that happen every year. While there are countless incidences to date, we look at the top 10 ever crypto scams here.

Asides from hacks and thefts, scams are the next highest danger of dealing with cryptocurrencies. While there was a total of $4.26 billion lost in 2019, that figure climbed to a reported $14 billion lost in 2021. So, everyone needs to be more careful.

This post lists the top 10 crypto scams ever. It takes a look at how and why they happened, so you too can become a little wiser about the crypto underworld and learn to stay safe.

Related: Crypto Scams: How To Identify And Avoid Them

The 10 Biggest Crypto Scams

RankNameAmountTypeYear
1.Onecoin$4 billionPonzi2014
2.Bitconnect$3.5 billionPonzi2016
3.PlusToken$3 billionPonzi2019
4.Thodex$2.2 billionExit scam2021
5.Pincoin$600 millionExit scam/Ponzi2018
6.GainBitcoin$300 millionPonzi2017
7.Gigi Brothers$100 millionPhishing/hacking2019
8.ACChain$60 millionExit scam2018
9.Savedroid$50 millionFake exit scam2018
10.Plexcoin$8 millionExit scam2017

1. Onecoin

Scam Amount: $4 billion+

Year: 2014

Founded by the Bulgarian crypto-queen Ruja Ignatova, Onecoin was a Ponzi scheme that showed just how silly human beings can be. It was meant to be a mine-able crypto coin, but there was no Blockchain.

Onecoin was not even decentralized. Rather, the founders kept the currency centralized in private servers and lied to the world. The system was a pyramid scheme, a business type that many of its core members were experienced in.

Members could buy educational packages, which included books and tokens they could then invest into mining new Onecoins to make a fortune. Exchange of the coins into other currencies was only possible through another internal marketplace, the xcoinx Onecoin Exchange.

Most of the founders have since disappeared or are in prison, but there is no sign of the founder, Ruja Ignatova. There is an upcoming movie about Onecoin though and it is called Fake! In it, Ignatova will be played by Kate Winslet.

Here are a few things to learn from this scam. 1.) If it is not decentralized, then it is not a Blockchain system. 2.) If you are not sure how it works, then leave it alone.

2. Bitconnect

Scam Amount: $3.5 billion

Year: 2016

Bitconnect was an open-source cryptocurrency, which is okay. However, it was connected to an HYIP (High Yield Investment Program) called bitconnect.co.

The goal was to allow users of the crypto coin to lend out funds in return for interest payments. You would have to trade in your Bitcoins for the Bitconnect tokens though.

Interestingly, the interest on the coin was 1% daily and you could compound it. This attracted lots of investors, but also raised the suspicions of several authorities, prompting investigations on Bitconnect by 2017.

By January 2018, the earning program closed down and users were refunded in BCC (Bitconnect) tokens and not Bitcoins. This led to a loss of confidence in the coin and it quickly went into a selloff from its nearly $500 high to just $0.40 a year later.

The lesson here is that HYIPs are almost always a scam. There are exceptions though. But not always.

3. PlusToken

Scam Amount: $3 billion

Year: 2018

Founded by Chen Bo in 2018, PlusToken was another cryptocurrency Ponzi scheme. It targeted users in China and South Korea, but its operation method remained the same.

Users received a monthly interest payment for using the PlusToken wallet and purchasing the PLUS crypto coin using Bitcoin or Ethereum. In reality, the users’ interest payments were coming from the deposits of newer users.

PlusToken was masterminded by 27 persons, plus 55 others to make up 82 persons in total. Although the scammers disappeared to Cambodia when the scam came to light, most of them have been arrested and jailed.

4. Thodex

Scam Amount: $2.2. billion

Year: 2021

The first exit scam on this list and the most recent as well. Thodex was a Turkish cryptocurrency exchange, which initially had trading volumes in the billions of dollars before its abrupt exit.

Thodex announced in April 2021 that it was suspending trading and would be unavailable for a few days, while a partnership investment proceedings were ongoing for the company.

As thousands of users could not access their accounts and raised alarms, the authorities swung into action and launched investigations.

In the end, over 300K users lost 2 billion+ through the platform. The authorities arrested and prosecuted some of the scammers, but the founder, Faruk Fatih Özer had since left the country.

5. Pincoin

Scam Amount: $600 million

Year: 2018

Around 2018, the Vietnamese company Modern Tech developed a cryptocurrency and launched it through an ICO. The Pincoin campaign was successful and the company raised over $600 million from about 32,000 investors.

Pincoin was supposed to provide constant returns to its investors. The promise was over 40% monthly returns, plus 8% commissions for every new member that you introduced.

Modern Tech initially paid these returns by cash. However, the company then switched to paying investors with an entirely new token that they had created, called iFan. And as trouble arose, the team vanished.

Again, the lesson from this scam is that high-yield investment programs are often scams. This was a classical pyramid/Ponzi scheme. And the high 8% commission meant that the investors often brought in their friends and relatives to get skinned together.

Secondly, anyone with a fundamental knowledge of technology or finance would have known to steer clear of the PIN project. Surely, some business ventures can return up to 40% per month. But if the fundamentals make no sense to you, then stay away.

6. GainBitcoin

Scam Amount: $300 million+

Year: 2017

Promising investors a 10% monthly return on their capital, the GainBitcoin scam raked in over $300 million from unsuspecting Indian investors.

Founded by Amit Bhardwaj, the scam sold the Bitcoin-mining story to its investors. By buying the Gainbitcoin token, an investor contributes to the cloud-mining operations of the company and would receive monthly returns.

The only problem was that most of the money was used for paying fake interests and not for purchasing mining gear.

Bhardwaj was arrested in March 2018 but granted bail a year later. He died in January 2022 at the age of 38, from cardiac arrest and kidney issues.

7. Gigi Brothers

Scam Amount: $100 million

Year: 2019

The Gigi brothers are the Israeli 31-year old Eli and 21-year old Assaf. These brothers were connected with various online and crypto crimes, including phishing and the Bitfinex hack.

Their phishing scam goes like this. 1.) They would lure potential investors from social sites or forums like Telegram and Reddit to fake crypto exchanges. 2.) When the potential investors try to log in, the brothers will steal their information. 3.) They will then use the details to log into the victims’ real accounts and transfer their crypto coins.

Other tricks they possibly used include promoting links to wallet management software. And when downloaded, these software allowed them to clear out the user’s account. 

Eli, the older of the two, is a former IDF computer expert and hacker. The Bitfinex hack involved 119,000 stolen Bitcoins, although the level of their involvement is not well known. Both brothers were charged with stealing over $100 million in cryptocurrencies over many years.

8. ACChain

Scam Amount: $60 million

Year: 2018

ACChain is a decentralized asset tokenization platform founded in Shenzhen, China around 2017. Its goal was the provision of crypto liquidity by tokenizing physical assets.

Asset tokenization has lots of future potentials, so investing in such a startup makes very good financial sense. Many investors also found ACChain very promising, and the company managed to raise over $60 million.

However, a Reddit user posted a picture of an empty ACChain office in 2018, saying the team just left their computers and vanished. And the office additionally got raided some days later.

It should be obvious that this is not like other scams. While the ACChain project makes complete sense, the founders were not dedicated. Rather, they set out to defraud, as they were also implicated in other fraud schemes like Puyin coin and BioLifeChain.

9. Savedroid

Scam Amount: $50 million

Year: 2018

Savedroid is a German software firm with the SVD cryptocurrency. The Frankfurt-based firm is founded by Yassin Hankir, who tweeted “Thanks guys! Over and out…” on 18 April 2018. Then the company website and channels went dead, with the homepage displaying the message “Aannd It’s Gone”.

Reported to have raised over $50 million, Savedroid investors were in a rage about the supposed exit scam. However, it later emerged that it was all a publicity stunt, designed to raise the people’s awareness of ICO scams.

Most scammers do not gloat about their scams with ridiculous online posts. So it is possible that the Savedroid exit scam was just a stunt, and not that Dr. Hankir initially stole the funds, but then got scared and reverted. All the same, he lost the trust of many supporters.

10. Plexcoin

Scam Amount: $8

Year: 2017

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, which regulates the American financial markets, used an emergency asset freeze to halt a potential ICO scam in December 2017.

Plexcoin promised investors up to 13-fold returns in profit within a month. It was backed by three individuals, all from Canada. They also transferred all the raised funds to their private accounts and used them for personal expenses.

Dominic Lacroix is one of the individuals behind Plexcorp. He had a record of defrauding investors in a micro-loan venture, and so was banned from dealing in securities. He was ordered to pay back $3 million in Bitcoin within 24 hours and the authorities had to bring his seized computer into the courtroom, where he made the transfer.

Lacroix and the other two founders of Plexcorp, Sabrina Parais-Royer, and Yan Ouellet, were indicted by a U.S. grand jury in July 2020 for securities and wire fraud.

Conclusion

We have reached the end of this list of the 10 biggest crypto scams ever and you have seen what they all have in common – human greed and little research.

Scams will always be a part of human life, but it is up to you to protect yourself – by always staying level-headed and doing your research before investing.

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using
Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Articles: 177

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.