5 年 2024 家最佳免费 SSL 证书提供商(永久免费)

SSL 可以帮助提高网站的安全性和搜索引擎排名。 这是最好的免费 SSL 证书提供商

安全套接层(Secure Sockets Layer)以其首字母缩略词 SSL 最为人所知,是一种安全协议,它通过在 Web 浏览器和 Web 服务器之间创建加密链接来提供安全性。 通常,SSL 可确保 Web 服务器和浏览器之间的数据流是私密和机密的。

通过扩展,SSL 证书是托管在网站服务器上以提供 SSL 覆盖的数据文件。 SSL 证书中包含的信息包括:域名、公钥、人名或组织名称、数字签名、颁发日期、到期日期和颁发者。

浏览器上的 SSL 封条(挂锁)告诉公众网站正在使用 SSL。 SSL 是 HTTPS 而不是 HTTP。

SSL Green padlock
挂锁显示网站正在使用 SSL

使用 SSL 时,您可以保护用户的数据。 如果用户知道他们的数据不安全,他们很可能不会访问您的网站。 特别是如果您运行一个电子商务网站,用户可能必须提供机密信息,例如信用卡详细信息。 用户非常重视安全,您也应该如此。

搜索引擎通常与不使用 SSL 的网站关系不佳。

使用 SSL 有很多好处,您无需花钱即可享受 SSL 的覆盖。 在本文中,您将找到最好的免费 SSL 证书提供商。 无论您是运行 WordPress、Magento、Joomla、Drupal 还是任何设置,都有适合您的免费 SSL 解决方案。

SSL证书的类型

SSL证书基本上有3种类型:

1. 域验证 (DV SSL) 证书

DV SSL 是最流行的 SSL 证书。 这是最容易获得的。 那是因为证书颁发机构(CA)只需要申请权就可以使用域名。 没有对公司身份信息的检查。

这种类型的 SSL 证书非常适合 Blogger、公司网站和小型企业网站。 只要他们不需要客户详细信息。

2. 组织验证 (OV) 证书

对于不需要敏感用户信息但可能需要某些不敏感信息的企业来说,OV SSL 是一个完美的证书。 一个例子是使用表格来捕获潜在客户但不要求提供敏感信息(例如信用卡详细信息)的企业。

证书颁发机构(CA)在颁发此证书之前,除了检查申请人使用域名的权利外,还会对组织进行一些审查。 当用户单击浏览器上的 SSL 挂锁时,可能会显示经过审核的信息。

3. 扩展验证 (EV) 证书

EV SSL 是最强大的 SSL 证书。 它可以处理任何敏感信息。 对于需要在其网站上进行金融交易的信用卡详细信息的企业来说,它是理想的选择。

证书颁发机构 (CA) 在颁发证书之前会进行非常彻底的审查。 这是最难获得的证书。

该过程包括验证实体的法律、物理和运营存在

使用 SSL 证书的好处

使用 SSL 证书有很多好处:

1. 数据保护

这是使用 SSL 最重要和最重要的好处。 每当有人访问您的网站时,都会传输数据。 数据从 Web 服务器传输到 Web 浏览器,反之亦然。 如果此数据不安全,则可以在到达目的地之前对其进行利用。 SSL 有助于保护数据,使其无法被利用。 想象一下密码和信用卡详细信息等敏感信息被盗。 SSL 防止这种情况发生。

2.提高搜索引擎排名

仅使用 HTTPS 就可以提高您的搜索引擎排名并增加您的自然流量。 为什么会这样? 好吧,迄今为止最大的搜索引擎谷歌早就公开了 使用 SSL 是一个排名因素.

这意味着,在搜索结果中对网站进行排名时,决定网站位置的因素之一是 SSL。

3、赢得用户和客户的信任

通常,网络用户关心他们的隐私。 在浏览器上设置挂锁是向用户表明您认真对待他们的隐私的标志。

这可以提高用户对您的信任。 许多网络用户在第一次访问网站时会寻找那个挂锁以确保他们在网站上的安全。

当您向用户询问任何信息时,SSL 让他们有信心向您提供此类信息

4.它帮助您满足PCI/DSS,因此您可以在线接收付款

要通过借记卡和信用卡在线接收付款,标准是您必须符合 PCI 标准。 要被视为符合 PCI 标准,最重要的要求之一是拥有 SSL 证书。

如何获取和安装 SSSL 证书

按照以下步骤获取和安装 SSL 证书:

1.选择适合的SSL证书类型

第一步是选择您需要的 SSL 证书类型。 您需要的 SSL 类型可能决定了您可能需要的提供商。 因为并非所有 SSL 提供商都提供所有类型的 SSL 证书。

对于大多数人来说,域验证 (DV SSL) 就足够了。 对于其他一些可能需要更敏感数据的人,OV SSL 或 EV SSL 就可以了。

2. 更新您的 WHOIS 记录

更新您的 WHOIS 记录以匹配您提交给证书颁发者的确切信息非常重要。 如果您正在寻找 OV SSL 或 EV SSL 证书,这一点非常重要。

3. 生成证书签名请求 (CSR)

您需要在服务器上生成证书签名请求 (CSR)。 生成它的过程取决于您的网络主机和服务器面板。

如果您不知道如何执行此操作,最好的解决方案是让您的虚拟主机为您生成此内容。

4. 向证书颁发者提交 CSR

生成 CSR 后,将其提交给证书用户。 他们将使用它来验证您的域并准备好您的 SSL 证书。

5.安装SSL证书

验证后,您将获得 SSL 证书。 您必须安装它。 该过程可能会因网络主机和服务器面板而延迟。

最好的解决方案是让您的虚拟主机帮助您安装证书。

前 5 名免费 SSL 证书提供商

以下是顶级免费 SSL 证书提供商:

1。 我们加密吧

让我们加密 是提供免费 SSL 的非营利性证书颁发机构。 它是迄今为止最受欢迎的免费 SSL 提供商。 他们为超过 225 亿个网站提供了免费的 SSL 证书。 Let's Encrypt 提供的证书永远免费。

Let’s Encrypt

Let's Encrypt 项目由 Mozilla、Cisco、Facebook、Akamai 等科技公司资助。

他们提供的证书有效期为 90 天。 但可以终身自动更新。

2. 零SSL

零SSL 提供终身免费 SSL。 虽然他们还为有更高 SSL 需求的人提供了付费计划,但他们有一个免费的 SSL 终身计划,这对大多数人来说已经足够了。 你什么都不付。 该过程快速简单,您的 SSL 将在 5 分钟内准备就绪。

ZeroSSL free SSL

证书类似于 Let's encrypt; 有效期为90天,但可以终身自动续订。

3。 SSL免费

SSL免费 提供永久免费的 SSL 证书。 他们是通过使用域验证来提供认证的非营利性利用 ACME 服务器。 私钥在浏览器中生成,从不传输。

SSL For Free

4。 CloudFlare的

Cloudflare 是最大的之一 和世界各地的网络安全提供商。 作为其安全条款的一部分,他们提供免费的 SSL 解决方案。 许多流行的网站都依赖 Cloudflare 来确保安全性和速度。

Cloudflare

要使用 Cloudflare 免费 SSL,请登录您的 Cloudflare 帐户或创建一个。 选择要启用 SSL 的网站。 然后单击 SSL 选项卡。 选择您想要的 SSL 覆盖范围(最佳选项是完整的)。 然后清除缓存。

5.FreeSSL.org

FreeSSL.org 使用 Let's encrypt 和 Buypass 提供永久免费的 SSL 证书。 使用 let's encrypt 有效期为 3 个月,而使用 buypass 有效期为 6 个月。 所有证书均可自动续订,并提供证书到期提醒服务。

FreeSSL.org

获得免费 SSL 的最佳方式

获得免费 SSL 的最佳方式是使用 虚拟主机 提供免费 SSL 的提供商。 这样您就不必担心所有的技术问题和更新。

对于一个大网站, Kinsta 谷歌推荐的提供免费 SSL 证书。 大型网站的另一种选择是 Cloudways,他们的平台超级快,而且他们提供免费的 SSL 证书。

如果您有一个小型网站或入门网站, BlueHost的 价格便宜,并提供免费的 SSL 证书。 一个很好的选择将是 Hostinger.

Mfon Abel Ekene

冯·阿贝尔·埃肯

我喜欢创造有用的内容。 我的热情是通过为互联网用户指明正确的方向来帮助他们找到他们需要的东西。 这是我喜欢做的事情,我投入了许多小时的研究和测试,以确保我通过我在 TargetTrend 上的内容做到这一点。

文章:48

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

一个评论

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Home » Security » Top 5 free SSL certificate providers (free forever)

Top 5 free SSL certificate providers (free forever)

free SSL certificate providers

Secure Sockets Layer, mostly known by its acronym, SSL, is a security protocol that provides security by creating an encrypted link between a web browser and a web server. Generally, SSL ensures that data flow between the web server and browser is private and confidential.

By extension, SSL certificate is a data file that is hosted on the server of a website to provide SSL coverage. The information contained in an SSL certificate includes: Domain name, public key, person name or organization name, digital signature, issue date, expiry date and issuer.

An SSL seal (padlock) on the browser tells the public that a website is using SSL. And SSL is HTTPS instead of HTTP.

SSL Green padlock
The padlock shows a site is using SSL

When you use SSL, you protect the data of your users. Users will most likely not visit your website if they know that their data is not secure. Especially if you run an eCommerce website that users may have to provide confidential information such as credit card details. Users take security serious and so should you.

Search engines generally have a bad relationship with websites that do not use SSL.

There are many benefits of using SSL and you don’t need to have any money to enjoy the cover of SSL. In this article you will find the best free SSL certificate providers. Whether you are running WordPress, Magento, Joomla, Drupal or any set up, there is a free SSL solution for you.

Types of SSL certificates

There are basically 3 types of SSL certificates:

1. Domain Validated (DV SSL) Certificates

DV SSL is the most popular SSL certificate. It is the easiest to get. That is because the Certificate Authority (CA) only requires the right of application to use a domain name. There is no check on company identity information.

This type of SSL certificate is ideal for Bloggers, company websites, and small business websites. As long as they do not require customer details.

2. Organization Validated (OV) Certificates

OV SSL is a perfect certificate for businesses that do not require sensitive user information but might require certain information that are not sensitive. An example is businesses that use forms to capture leads but don’t ask for sensitive information such as credit card details.

The Certificate Authority (CA) will conduct some vetting on organization in addition to checking the right of applicant to use the domain name before issuing this certificate. The vetted information may be displayed when users click on the SSL padlock on a browser.

3. Extended Validated (EV) Certificates

EV SSL is the most powerful SSL certificate. It can handle any sensitive information. It is ideal for businesses that require credit card details for financial transactions on their website.

The Certificate Authority (CA) conducts a very thorough vetting before issuing the certificate. This is the hardest certificate to get.

The process includes verification of the legal, physical and operational existence of the entity

Benefits if using SSL certificate

There are many benefits of using SSL certificate:

1. Protection of data

This is the most important and overwhelming benefit of using SSL. Whenever someone visits your website, data is transferred. The data travels from the web server to the web browser and vice versa. If this data is not secured, it can be exploited before it reaches destination. SSL help secure the data so that it cannot not be exploited. Just imagine sensitive information such as passwords and credit card details being stolen. SSL prevent this from happening.

2. Improve search engine ranking

Just using HTTPS can improve your search engine ranking and grow your organic traffic. Why is it so? Well, Google, which is by far the biggest search engine, has long made it public that using SSL is a ranking factor.

What that means is that, when ranking a website in search results, one of the factors that will determine the position of a website is SSL.

3. Win user and customer trust

Generally, web users care about their privacy. Having the padlock on a browser is a sign to users that you take their privacy seriously.

That can boost the trust the users have for you. Many web users, when visiting a website for the first time, look for that padlock to be sure of their security on the website.

When you ask users for any information, the SSL gives them the confident to provide you with such information

4. It helps you meet PCI/DSS so you can receive payment online

To receive payment online via debit and credit cards, the standard is that you must be PCI compliant. And to be considered PCI compliant, one of the most important requirements is having an SSL certificate.

How to get and install SSSL certificate

Follow this steps to get and install SSL certificate:

1. Pick the type of SSL certificate that is suitable

The first step is to pick the type of SSL certificate that you will need. The type of SSL you need may determine the provider that you may need. Because not all SSL providers provide all types of SSL certificate.

For most people, Domain Validated (DV SSL) is enough. For some others who may require more sensitive data, OV SSL or EV SSL will do.

2. Update your WHOIS record

It is important that you update your WHOIS record to match the exact information that you submit to the Certificate Issuer. This is very important if you are looking for a OV SSL or EV SSL certificate.

3. Generating the Certificate Signing Request (CSR)

You will need to generate the Certificate Signing Request (CSR) on your server. The process of generating it depends on your web host and server panel.

The best solution if you don’t know how to do this is to ask your web host to generate this for you.

4. Submit CSR to certificate issuer

Once you have generated the CSR, submit it to the certificate user. They will use this to validate your domain and get your SSL certificate ready.

5. Install SSL certificate

After validation, you will be issued SSL certificate. You will have to install this. The process may defer by web host and server panel.

The best solution is to ask your web host to help you install the certificate.

Top 5 free SSL certificate provers

Here are the top free SSL certificate providers:

1. Let’s Encrypt

Let’s Encrypt is a nonprofit Certificate Authority that provides free SSL. It is by far the most popular free SSL provider. They have provided free SSL certificates to over 225 million websites. The certificate provided by Let’s Encrypt is forever free.

Let’s Encrypt

The Let’s Encrypt project was funded by tech companies including Mozilla, Cisco, Facebook, Akamai and others.

The certificate they provide is valid for 90 days. But can be automatically renewed for life.

2. ZeroSSL

ZeroSSL offers free SSL for life. While they also have paid plans for people who have higher SSL needs, they have a free SSL for life plan that will be enough for most people. You pay nothing. The process is fast and easy, your SSL will be ready in less than 5 minutes.

ZeroSSL free SSL

The certificate is similar to Let’s encrypt; it is valid for 90 days but can be automatically renewed for life.

3. SSL For Free

SSL For Free offers a forever free SSL certificate. They are a nonprofit making use of ACME server by using domain validation to provide certification. Private Keys are generated in the browser and never transmitted.

SSL For Free

4. Cloudflare

Cloudflare is one of the biggest CDN and web security providers in the world. As part of their security provision, they offer a free SSL solution. Many popular websites rely on Cloudflare for security and speed.

Cloudflare

To use Cloudflare free SSL, login to your Cloudflare account or create one. Select the website you want to enable SSL. Then click on the SSL tab. Chose how much SSL coverage you want (the best option is full). Then clear cache.

5. FreeSSL.org

FreeSSL.org offers forever free SSL certificate using Let’s encrypt and Buypass. With let’s encrypt it is valid for 3 months, while with buypass it is valid for 6 months. All certificates can be automatically renewed and they provide certificate expiration reminder service.

FreeSSL.org

The best way to get free SSL

The best way to get a free SSL is to use a web hosting provider that provides free SSL. That way you do not have to worry about all the technicalities and renewals.

For a big website, Kinsta which is recommended by Google offers free SSL certificate. An alternative for big websites is Cloudways, their platform is super fast and they offer free SSL certificate.

If you have a small or starter website, Bluehost is cheap and offer free SSL certificate. A good alternative will be Hostinger.

nv-author-image

Mfon Abel Ekene

Mfon is passionate blogger, digital marketer and affiliate marketer with many years of exposure to every part of internet entrepreneurship. You can follow his guide on how to start a blog and also learn how to make money blogging.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *