So hosten Sie eine superschnelle Website kostenlos auf Netlify

Überlegen Sie, Ihre Jamstack-Site auf Netlify zu hosten, sind sich aber immer noch nicht sicher, wie Sie vorgehen sollen und worauf Sie achten müssen? Hier ist eine Kurzanleitung, die Ihnen hilft.

Marmeladenstapel Websites sind superschnell, weil sie statische Dateien bereitstellen. Sie verbrauchen insgesamt so wenig CPU- und Serverressourcen, dass Plattformen wie Netlify kostenloses und qualitativ hochwertiges Hosting anbieten können.

Netlify is a cloud-Computing environment. But unlike other cloud platforms like AWS and Google Cloud, Netlify is simple and easy to use. No complicated tutorials and no lengthy setups.

The Netlify service aims to make your life as easy as possible by combining the best of different worlds into one service: cloud computing, the Marmeladenstapel, Git repositories, and freemium pricing.

Netlify & The Jamstack

Netlify ist seit langem Teil der Jamstack-Bewegung und eine der frühesten und besten Plattformen, die zum Wachstum dieser modernen Webdesign-Methode beitragen.

The Jamstack movement combines JavaScript, APIs, and Markup to create a front-end development methodology that separates itself from the back-end. This results in better server performance, better Sicherheitdienst, easier scaling, and cheaper running costs.

GitHub bot beispielsweise zunächst Webhosting für Dateien an, die auf seiner Plattform gehostet werden, aber der Dienst hatte seine Grenzen. Dann brachte Netlify das Erstellen von Website-Code aus Repositories und das Hosten seiner statischen Varianten auf eine ganz neue Ebene. Und das hat eine völlig neue Branche mit vielen Vorteilen geschaffen.

Gründe für die Verwendung von Netlify

Netlify bedeutet so viele Dinge, weil es so viele Dinge tut. Durch die Kombination vieler Funktionen in einem einzigen Service und die weitgehende Automatisierung davon bietet die Plattform große Vorteile für Unternehmen jeder Größe.

Im Folgenden sind die wichtigsten Vorteile aufgeführt, die Sie von Netlify erhalten können:

  • Benutzerfreundlich – Netlify is one of the easiest to use Cloud-Hosting-Plattformen out there. There is no need to read long and confusing tutorials. No complicated setup steps to follow, or even more complicated maintenance routines. Netlify just works.

    Darüber hinaus bietet das System Elastic-Computing-Funktionen wie andere Cloud-Umgebungen. Dies garantiert, dass Ihre Website oder Ihr Dienst zu gegebener Zeit problemlos skaliert wird, um Verkehrsspitzen ohne die üblichen Backend-Engpässe zu bewältigen.
  • Inhaltsverteilungsnetzwerk – Als Teil seiner Einfachheit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit umfasst der Netlify-Dienst ein Inhaltsverteilungsnetzwerk namens Netlify Edge. Es stellt Ihre Webseiten an mehreren Standorten bereit, um sie Besuchern in der Nähe so schnell wie möglich bereitzustellen.

    Das Tolle an diesem Service ist, dass Sie keine Einstellungen anpassen und konfigurieren müssen, um die besten Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Sobald Sie Ihre Website bereitgestellt haben, aktualisieren Sie alle Ihre Webressourcen und Ihren Code auf einmal. Alle Caches werden sofort ungültig gemacht und weltweit aktualisiert. Und Sie können Ihre Website auch einfach und sofort auf frühere Builds zurücksetzen.

    Netlify verwaltet das meiste davon automatisch für Sie. Der einzige Unterschied besteht in der Anzahl der Dienste und Edge-Standorte, die Sie erhalten, da der kostenlose Plan einige Einschränkungen hat.
  • Freier Plan – Netlify is a freemium Software-as-a-Service platform. But unlike other cloud-computing platforms, the free account is completely free. No credit card is needed.

    Still, this free plan includes many impressive features. Such as automated Git builds, Edge-Netzwerk deployments, instant rollback to previous versions, live previews before deploys, and free serverless functions.
  • Automatisierte Builds – Sie erhalten Netlify Build auch kostenlos. Dieses CI/CD (Continuous Integration/Continuous Deployment) erleichtert die Verwaltung Ihrer Site-Entwicklungen und -Erweiterungen. Es wird jedes Mal automatisch aus Ihrem Repository neu erstellt, wenn Sie neue Updates auf Ihr Git-Konto übertragen.

    Alles ist vollständig automatisiert und Vorschauen sind verfügbar, damit Sie wissen, was Sie bereitstellen werden. Sie können auch jeden Schritt des Prozesses konfigurieren und Rollbacks zu früheren Builds sind mühelos möglich.
  • Netlify-Funktionen – Jede Site, die Sie auf der Netlify-Plattform bereitstellen, bietet Zugriff auf serverlose Funktionen, die Sie für viele Dinge verwenden können. Diese Netlify-Funktionen sind serverseitige Prozesse, die auf JavaScript-Code ausgeführt werden.

    Jede Site erhält 125 Aufrufe kostenlos und Sie müssen nur bezahlen, wenn Sie dieses Kontingent überschreiten. Sie können die Funktionen zum Umgang mit Bildern, zum Senden von E-Mails, zum Validieren von Benutzereingaben und sogar zum Abrufen von Daten von anderen API-Endpunkten verwenden.
  • Automatische Formulare – Netlify makes it easy to integrate forms into your statische Seite and capture all the submissions without extensive coding or other stressful issues. Simply add the ‘netlify’ attribute to any of your forms like <form name=”contact” netlify>…</form> and that’s it.

    You can then view all submissions in your dashboard, with the forms carefully arranged by name. The system comes with an anti-spam feature and Netlify can further notify you via E-Mail, Slack, or webhooks once there is a submission.

    Weitere Optionen sind die Weiterleitung der eingereichten Formulare an über 1,000 Anwendungen mit der Zapier-Integration von Netlify.
  • NetlifyCMS – Die NetlifyCMS-App ist ein praktischer Editor für jede statische Website, die auf der Netlify-Plattform über einen Git-Anbieter wie GitHub gehostet wird. Es nimmt alle Ihre Daten aus dem Repository und erstellt eine einfach zu bedienende Verwaltungsoberfläche.

    NetlifyCMS ist eine einseitige React-App, die von einer Community aus über 100 Mitwirkenden entwickelt wurde. Es ist redaktionsfreundlich, bietet einen intuitiven Workflow, ist völlig kostenlos und macht die Verwaltung von Jamstack-Sites zum Vergnügen.
  • Kostenloses HTTPS – Alle Netlify-Hosting-Konten enthalten kostenloses HTTPS. Das sind kostenlose SSL-Zertifikate (Secure Socket Layer).

Konten & Preise

Netlify ist ein Freemium-Softwaredienst. Es gibt einen völlig kostenlosen Starter-Plan, einen Pro-Plan für 19 $ pro Mitglied und Monat, einen Business-Plan für 99 $ pro Mitglied und Monat und einen Enterprise-Plan mit benutzerdefinierten Preisen.

Das Beeindruckende an Netlify ist, dass Sie mit dem kostenlosen Starter-Plan viel erledigen können. Der Starter-Plan wurde für persönliche Projekte, Experimente, Hobbyseiten und andere Abenteuer entwickelt und umfasst automatisierte Builds mit 300 kostenlosen Build-Minuten pro Monat.

Es umfasst auch globale Edge-Bereitstellungen, sofortige Rollbacks, das NetlifyCMS, serverlose Funktionen, 100 GB Bandbreite pro Monat und bis zu 100 kostenlose Formularübermittlungen pro Website und Monat. Außerdem können Sie im Starter-Plan eine unbegrenzte Anzahl von Websites hosten.

Der Pro-Plan fügt weitere Funktionen wie passwortgeschützte Websites, Hintergrundfunktionen, mehr Build-Minuten und Bandbreite und vieles mehr hinzu. Diese zusätzlichen Funktionen nehmen zu, wenn Sie sich den höheren Plänen nähern.

So hosten Sie eine Website kostenlos auf Netlify

Netlify schlägt andere Cloud-Computing- und Hosting-Unternehmen wie AWS, Google Cloud und Azure in Sachen Einfachheit. Ja, sie haben mehr Infrastruktur, leistungsfähigere Maschinen und Rechenzentren auf der ganzen Welt, aber ihre Einrichtung kann langweilig sein.

Hier ist ein schrittweiser Einrichtungsprozess, der Ihnen zeigt, wie einfach es ist, eine Jamstack-Site auf Netlify zu hosten.

1. Registrieren und anmelden

Netlify-Anmeldung

Ihr erster Schritt ist die Navigation zu app.netlify.com und melden Sie sich an, falls Sie dies noch nicht getan haben. Sie werden mit fünf verschiedenen Anmeldemethoden begrüßt, von GitHub zu Gitlab, Bit Bucket, E-Mail und SSO.

Nach der Anmeldung müssen Sie sich auch bei Ihrem E-Mail-Konto anmelden, um die Bestätigungsmail von Netlify zu finden. Klicken Sie darauf, um Ihr Konto zu verifizieren und sich beim System anzumelden.

2. Fügen Sie eine neue Site hinzu

Das Laden der App dauert einige Sekunden. Dann wird Ihnen ein kurzer Fragebogen vorgelegt, der Dinge wie den Namen Ihres Teams und so weiter enthält. Einfach alles ehrlich ausfüllen. Aber denken Sie daran, dass der kostenlose Plan nur ein Mitglied beinhaltet – Sie.

Sobald Sie diese Phase durchlaufen haben, befinden Sie sich im Standard-Dashboard. Klicken Sie auf „Neue Site von Git“, um eine neue Site zu hosten. Oder Sie können auch einen Ordner mit Ihren statischen Dateien per Drag & Drop in den markierten Bereich auf dem Armaturenbrett ziehen und Netlify erledigt den Rest.

Der Klick auf die Schaltfläche aus Schritt 2 oben öffnet ein neues Fenster, in dem Sie aufgefordert werden, Ihre neue Website mit GitHub oder einem anderen Git-Repository wie GitLab und Bitbucket zu verknüpfen. Stellen Sie an dieser Stelle sicher, dass Sie über ein registriertes Git-Konto verfügen und dass sich die Dateien Ihrer Website bereits in einem Repository befinden.

4. Autorisieren Sie Netlify

Jetzt müssen Sie GitHub nur noch sagen, dass Netlify auf Ihr GitHub-Konto zugreifen darf, und alles ist erledigt.

5. Wählen Sie Ihr Repository aus

Jede Standard-Netlify-Site ist mit einem einzigen Repository verknüpft. Wählen Sie diejenige aus, die Sie verwenden möchten, und fahren Sie fort.

6. Konfigurieren Sie Build-Einstellungen

Sie müssen dieser Seite ein wenig Aufmerksamkeit schenken. Wenn Sie bereits statische Sites haben und keine Präprozessoren verwenden, können Sie das Veröffentlichungsverzeichnis auf „/“ setzen. Und lassen Sie das Build-Befehlsfeld leer.

Wenn Sie hingegen einen statischen Site-Generator wie Gatsby oder Next verwenden, hängt das, was Sie hier eingeben, vom Generator ab. Sie können sich diese Liste ansehen gemeinsame Konfigurationen, um zu wissen, was Sie eingeben müssen.

7. Erstellen und Bereitstellen

Sobald alles eingestellt ist, klicken Sie auf „Site bereitstellen“ und Netlify führt alle erforderlichen Builds aus und erstellt Ihre glänzende neue Website. Haben Sie einfach ein wenig Geduld.

8. Richten Sie den Domänennamen ein

Nachdem Sie Ihre Site erstellt und bereitgestellt haben, gibt Netlify ihr einen Namen in der Domäne *.netlify.app. Sie können diesen Namen später in etwas Schöneres ändern oder sogar eine benutzerdefinierte Domain an die Site anhängen.

Mit Netlify können Sie eine benutzerdefinierte Domain anhängen, die Sie woanders gekauft haben, oder die Domain über Ihr Netlify-Dashboard kaufen. Und das System kümmert sich um alles. Klicken Sie einfach auf die Registerkarte Domains in Ihrem Dashboard, um eine neue Domain für Ihre neue Website hinzuzufügen oder zu registrieren.

Netlify 3

Zusammenfassung

Wir haben das Ende dieser einfachen Anleitung zum kostenlosen Hosten einer superschnellen Website auf der Netlify-Plattform erreicht. Und Sie haben die Gründe und den Weg dazu gesehen.

Es bleibt Ihnen nun überlassen, Ihre statische Site entweder von Hand zu codieren oder einen statischen Site-Generator zu verwenden.

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke ist ein Computer-Enthusiast, der es liebt, eine große Auswahl an Büchern zu lesen. Er hat eine Vorliebe für Linux gegenüber Windows/Mac und verwendet
Ubuntu seit seinen Anfängen. Sie können ihn auf Twitter über sehen Bongotrax

Artikel: 278

Erhalten Sie Technikfreaks

Tech-Trends, Startup-Trends, Rezensionen, Online-Einkommen, Web-Tools und Marketing ein- oder zweimal monatlich

Hinterlassen Sie uns einen Kommentar

E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind MIT * gekennzeichnet. *

How to host a super-fast website for free on Netlify

By

Are you considering hosting your Jamstack site on Netlify, but still not sure how to go about it and what to watch out for? Here is a quick guide to help you.

Jamstack sites are super fast because they serve static files. They use so little CPU and server resources overall that platforms like Netlify can offer free and good-quality hosting.

Netlify is a cloud-computing environment. But unlike other cloud platforms like AWS and Google Cloud, Netlify is simple and easy to use. No complicated tutorials and no lengthy setups.

The Netlify service aims to make your life as easy as possible by combining the best of different worlds into one service: cloud computing, the Jamstack, Git repositories, and freemium pricing.

Netlify & The Jamstack

Netlify has been part of the Jamstack movement for a long time and is one of the earliest and best platforms that contribute to the growth of this modern web-design method.

The Jamstack movement combines JavaScript, APIs, and Markup to create a front-end development methodology that separates itself from the back-end. This results in better server performance, better security, easier scaling, and cheaper running costs.

GitHub, for instance, initially offered web hosting to files that are hosted on its platform, but the service had its limits. Then Netlify took the building of website code from repositories and the hosting of its static variants to a whole new level. And this has created a completely new industry with many benefits.

Reasons to use Netlify

Netlify means so many things because it does so many things. By combining many features into a single service and automating as much of it as possible, the platform offers great benefits for businesses of all sizes.

The following are the major advantages you can get from Netlify:

  • Ease of Use – Netlify is one of the easiest to use cloud hosting platforms out there. There is no need to read long and confusing tutorials. No complicated setup steps to follow, or even more complicated maintenance routines. Netlify just works.

    In addition to it all, the system offers elastic computing features like other cloud environments. This guarantees that when the time comes, your website or service will scale gracefully to handle traffic spikes without the usual backend bottlenecks.
  • Content Distribution Network – As part of its simplicity and ease of use, the Netlify service includes a content distribution network called Netlify Edge. It deploys your web pages across multiple locations, to serve them as quickly as possible to nearby visitors.

    The great part of this service is that you do not need to tweak and configure any settings to get the best results. Once you deploy your site, you update all your web assets and code at once. All caches are instantly invalidated and updated across the globe. And you can also roll back your site to previous builds easily and instantaneously.

    Netlify manages most of this automatically for you. The only difference is in the number of services and edge locations you get, as the free plan has some limits.
  • Free Plan – Netlify is a freemium software-as-a-service platform. But unlike other cloud-computing platforms, the free account is completely free. No credit card is needed.

    Still, this free plan includes many impressive features. Such as automated Git builds, edge network deployments, instant rollback to previous versions, live previews before deploys, and free serverless functions.
  • Automated Builds – You also get Netlify Build for free. This CI/CD (Continuous Integration/Continuous Deployment) makes it easy to manage your site developments and enhancements. It automatically rebuilds from your repository, each time you push new updates to your Git account.

    Everything is fully automated and previews are available to let you know what you will deploy. You can also configure each step of the process and rollbacks to any previous builds are effortless.
  • Netlify Functions – Each site you deploy on the Netlify platform comes with access to serverless functions that you can use for a lot of things. These Netlify Functions are server-side processes that run on JavaScript code.

    Each site gets 125K invocations for free and you only need to pay when you go past that quota. You can use the functions for handling images, sending emails, validating user input, and even fetching data from other API endpoints.
  • Automatic Forms – Netlify makes it easy to integrate forms into your static site and capture all the submissions without extensive coding or other stressful issues. Simply add the ‘netlify’ attribute to any of your forms like <form name=”contact” netlify>…</form> and that’s it.

    You can then view all submissions in your dashboard, with the forms carefully arranged by name. The system comes with an anti-spam feature and Netlify can further notify you via email, Slack, or webhooks once there is a submission.

    Other options include forwarding the submitted forms to 1,000+ applications using Netlify’s Zapier integration.
  • NetlifyCMS – The NetlifyCMS app is a convenient editor for any static site hosted on the Netlify platform through a Git provider like GitHub. It takes all your data from the repository and creates an easy-to-use management interface.

    NetlifyCMS is a single-page React app built by a community of over 100 contributors. It is editor-friendly, offers an intuitive workflow, is completely free, and makes management of Jamstack sites fun.
  • Free HTTPS – All Netlify hosting accounts include free HTTPS. That is free SSL (Secure Socket Layer) certificates.

Accounts & Pricing

Netlify is a freemium software service. There is a completely free Starter plan, a Pro plan for $19 per member per month, a Business plan for $99 per member per month, and an Enterprise plan with custom pricing.

The impressive thing about Netlify is that you can get a lot done with its free Starter plan. Designed for personal projects, experiments, hobby sites, and other adventures, the Starter plan includes automated builds with 300 free build minutes per month.

It also includes global edge deployments, instant rollbacks, the NetlifyCMS, serverless functions, 100 GB bandwidth per month, and up to 100 free form submissions per site per month. Plus, you can host an unlimited number of sites on the Starter plan.

The Pro plan adds more features like password-protected sites, background functions, more build minutes and bandwidth, plus many more. These additional features increase as you move toward the higher plans.

How to host a website free on Netlify

Netlify beats other cloud-computing and hosting companies like AWS, Google Cloud, and Azure for simplicity. Yes, they have more infrastructure, more powerful machines, and data centers around the globe, but their setup can be a bore.

Here is a step-by-step setup process that shows you how easy it is to host a Jamstack site on Netlify.

1. Sign Up & Login

Netlify login

Your first step is to navigate to app.netlify.com and sign up if you haven’t. You will be greeted with five different sign-in methods, from GitHub to GitLab, Bitbucket, Email, and SSO.

After signing up, you will also need to log into your email account to find the confirmation mail from Netlify. Click on it to verify your account and log into the system.

2. Add a New Site

The app takes a few seconds to load. Then you are presented with a short questionnaire that includes stuff like your team’s name and so on. Just fill everything out honestly. But remember that the free plan includes only one member – you.

Once you are through that stage, then you will find yourself in the default dashboard. Click on “New Site from Git” to host a new site. Or you can also drag and drop a folder containing your static files into the marked area on the dash and Netlify will do the rest.

3. Link GitHub

The button click from step 2 above will open a new window that prompts you to link your new site with GitHub, or any other Git repository like GitLab and Bitbucket. At this point, make sure that you have a registered Git account and that your site’s files are already in a repository.

4. Authorize Netlify

Now you will just need to tell GitHub to allow Netlify access your GitHub account and everything is settled.

5. Select your Repository

Each standard Netlify site is linked to a single repository. Select the one you wish to use and move on.

6. Configure Build Settings

You will need to pay a little attention to this page. If you already have static sites and not using any pre-processors, then you can set the publish directory to “/”. And leave the build command field empty.

If you are using a static site generator like Gatsby or Next, on the other hand, then what you enter here will depend on the generator. You can check out this list of common configurations, to know what to enter.

7. Build & Deploy

Once everything is set, click on “Deploy Site” and Netlify will run all necessary builds and create your shiny new website. Just have a little patience.

8. Set up the Domain Name

After building and deploying your site, Netlify will give it a name on the *.netlify.app domain. You can later change this name into something nicer or even attach a custom domain to the site.

Netlify allows you to attach a custom domain that you bought elsewhere or to buy the domain through your Netlify dashboard. And the system will take care of everything. Just click on the Domains tab in your dashboard to either add or register a new domain for your new site.

Conclusion

We have reached the end of this simple guide on hosting a super-fast website for free on the Netlify platform. And you have seen the reasons and the way to do it.

It is now left for you to either code your static site by hand or use a static site generator.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Leave a Comment