Hashgraph:含义、优点、缺点等

最近听到很多关于 Hashgraph 的消息,想知道它是什么? 继续阅读以了解这项技术对计算和加密世界的意义。

比特币和 blockchain技术 开创了全球安全、去中心化交易的新时代。 但是它们巨大的能源效率低下和其他限制已经产生了对替代品的需求,例如 Hashgraph 协议。

Hashgraph 是一种分布式账本技术,就像区块链一样。 但它使用不同的交易处理和投票协议,使其比比特币或以太坊更快、更节能。

该技术的发明者 Leemon Baird 还获得了专利,然后授权给 Hedera 合作。 它由一组全球公司管理。

这篇文章着眼于 Hashgraph 和 Hedera 平台。 以及 Hedera Hashgraph 的货币 HBAR。

看看哈希图

Hashgraph 是区块链概念的替代方案。 它旨在消除阻碍区块链及其相关加密货币广泛采用的限制。

Hashgraph 最初由 Leemon Baird 于 2017 年发布,承诺类似技术只能梦想的交易速度和能源效率水平。

它目前被限制在每秒 10,000 笔交易,但它的开发人员声称,如果需要,它可以轻松地处理高达每秒 250,000 笔交易 (TPS)。 这使 Hashgraph 处于有利位置。 因为它的速度与 4 TPS 的比特币和 15 TPS 的 Etheruem 的速度形成鲜明对比。

该技术使用数学定向丙烯酸图来创建一个比区块链更快、更节能的广播系统。 这使得系统上的交易也比区块链平台上的交易便宜。

哈希图技术

有几个问题需要考虑以了解 Hashgraph 的含义和位置。 这包括 Hashgraph 和 Hedera Hashgraph、私有和公共分类账以及许可和无许可数据库之间的区别。

以下是对每一个的详细介绍。

  • 哈希图与 Hedera 哈希图 – 最初的 Hashgraph 系统是属于其发明者的专利技术。 然而,他将其授权给 Hedera 组织,从而创建了 Hedera Hashgraph.

    Hedera Hashgraph 是一种公开且经过许可的分布式账本技术。 分布式分类帐只是一堆记录,例如在不同计算机上具有相同副本的数据库或 Excel 电子表格。 网络中的计算机和副本越多,数据就越可信。 它与区块链采用的技术相同。

  • 私人与公共分类帐 – 私人分类账,顾名思义,是私人的。 而公共分类账是公开的。 这意味着只有少数人可以查看私人分类账中的记录,而几乎任何拥有计算机的人都可以查看公共分类账。

    比特币和以太坊是公共分类账系统。 这有助于它们的广泛采用和成功,因为人们对公共分类账有更多的信任。 如前所述,Hedera Hashgraph 是公开的,但已获得许可。

  • 许可与无许可 – 可以通过邀请参与网络,或者每个人都可以在他们希望的时间和时间自由加入他们的计算机。 仅限邀请的网络称为许可网络,而免费网络称为无许可网络。

    Hedera Hashgraph 是一个许可网络,尽管未来计划将其转变为无许可网络。 当然,最受欢迎的无许可网络仍然是比特币和以太坊,它们有来自世界各地的数十万台匿名计算机参与其中。

HBAR——货币

Hedera Hashgraph 账本是目前唯一授权的 Hashgraph 账本,其原生货币是 HBAR。 你用它来支付 Hedera 分类账上的交易。 而且由于您无法通过挖矿获得它,因此您必须购买它。

目前流通的 HBAR 约有 8 亿个,日交易量超过 3 万,日交易量超过 150 亿美元。

HBAR 的总供应量为 50 亿,目前在加密货币中排名第 57 位。 它的市值超过1亿美元。 HBAR 目前的交易价格约为 0.17 美元(2021 年 0.40 月),创下历史新高 XNUMX 美元。 你可以 从币安购买 HBAR.

Hedera 哈希图的优势

Hashgraph 技术和 Hedera 平台提供了许多机会,使其成为传统区块链的可行替代方案。 这些优势包括速度、成本和能源改进等。

这是仔细看看。

  • 速度 – Hashgraph 不像区块链方法那样将数据分组到一个块中。 相反,共识有助于确定是否将特定交易添加到分类帐中。 这种方法加快了交易时间,使 Hashgraph 网络能够每秒处理多达 250,000 笔交易。

    这个速度目前在 Hedera Hashgraph 上被限制为 10,000 TPS,但如果需要,它可以被提升。 其共识协议的另一个好处是交易在大约 3 到 5 秒内得到确认。 这使 Hedera 远远超出了 10 到 60 分钟的区块链确认时间框架,并将其与信用卡公司相提并论。

  • 公平 – 区块链应用程序的一个问题是矿工可以选择是否处理您的交易。 这取决于交易费用。 那些收费较高的人比其他人获得更多的优先权,从而导致不公平。

    Hashgraph 协议通过其共识方法消除了这一点。 所有交易都会得到处理,只要它们没有被标记。 一旦被三分之二的网络处理,它们就会被添加到分类帐中。

  • 安保行业 – Hashgraph 使用所谓的异步拜占庭容错来维护安全的网络。 拜占庭容错在达成共识时会考虑网络节点的潜在不可靠性,以避免破坏性的系统崩溃。 该系统还受到 DDoS 和 Sybil 攻击的保护。

  • 低能耗 – 区块链依赖矿工来处理交易。 但问题是许多矿工会同时尝试挖掘(或处理和散列一个块的内容)。 只有第一个得到正确答案的人才能获胜。 其他花费他们的计算能力来找到正确的哈希的人没有得到任何补偿,他们的能量被浪费了。

    对于像比特币这样的区块链,用于散列交易的组合电能可以在数百千瓦时运行。 这通常高达 800 kWh,足以驱动大多数家庭一个月。

    Hashgraph 每笔交易仅使用约 0.0002 千瓦时,使其比大多数区块链更加节能和环保。

  • 低价位 – Hedera Hashgraph 的交易费用也非常低,从 0.0001 美元起,具体取决于您需要在系统上完成的工作。 不过,成本微不足道,与流行的区块链每笔交易收取的 15 美元以上相去甚远。

Hedera Hashgraph 的缺点

Hedera Hashgraph 也有一些值得考虑的缺点。 这里的主要问题是技术的所有权模型以及网络的运行方式。 这些缺点包括:

  • 漩涡专利 – Hashgraph 已获得专利。 区块链成功的主要原因之一在于项目的开源性质。 这导致每个人都为比自己更大的事情做出贡献。 一种运动。

    另一方面,Hashgraph 的技术已获得专利。 而拥有该专利的公司名为 Swirlds。 这家公司属于 Hashgraph 开发者 Leemon Baird。 他以 10% 的费用将其授权给 Hedera。 这意味着该项目永远不会像区块链那样真正属于公众。

  • 允许分类帐 – 您必须获得邀请才能加入 Hedera 网络才能参与。 这一要求使其成为一种专属俱乐部。 有计划使网络成为像比特币一样完全公开且无需许可的环境,但它们仍处于计划中,尚未实施。 所以,就目前而言,它仍然是一个专属俱乐部。

  • 没有办法挖矿和赚钱 – 您目前无法挖掘 Hashgraph。 因此,获得 HBAR 的唯一方法就是购买它们。 不过,有计划在 Hedera Hashgraph 中引入 POS(权益证明)挖矿。 但就像上面一样,这些仍然是计划,尚未实施。

哈希图与区块链

作为一种可能取代区块链的新技术,Hashgraph 有很多指标可供选择。 以下是两个系统的并排查看,以供快速参考。

Hashgraph全面、
每秒交易10,000+4-15
交易确认时间5秒5 60分钟
交易手续费$ 0.0001 - $ 0.10$ 20 - $ 50
每笔交易的能源0.0002千瓦时100 – 900 千瓦时
共识投票,权益证明股权证明、工作证明、时间证明、空间证明
安保行业异步拜占庭容错加密散列
交易验证共识由矿工
发射日期20172008
版权获得专利开源

Hedera 哈希图实现

Hedera Hashgraph 网络有两个版本。 开发者的测试网和实时应用的主网。 目前主网上有超过 300,000 个账户。 除了处理 HBAR 交易外,它还提供代币和共识服务。

这里是每一个仔细看看。

  • HBAR 加密货币 – HBAR 加密货币存在于 Hedera Hashgraph 上,您可以使用它来支付任何接受 HBAR 的服务。 这样做的好处是 HBAR 交易只需几秒钟即可完成,这使它们与 Visa 和 MasterCard 等信用卡处理器相提并论。

  • 代币或智能合约 – 无论您称它们为代币还是智能合约,Hedera Hashgraph 都可以让您实现它们以供您随意使用。 你可以在 Hashgraph 上标记任何你想要的东西,从合约到稳定币、加密货币,甚至是代表物理世界中独特资产的不可替代代币。

    作为具有可预测成本的低成本网络也有利于 Hedera Hashgraph。 由于金融科技和其他初创公司可以创建利用其快速、可靠和负担得起的基础设施的应用程序。 Hedera 在该领域击败了以太坊和其他区块链方法。

  • 数据共识服务 – Hedera Hashgraph 还允许您为来自世界各地的时间戳和订单信息。 所以你有任何事情的可验证证据。 该服务非常适合跟踪供应链资产、协议、文件验证、数据流记录等。

结论

在这篇关于 Hedera Hashgraph 的文章以及它所提供的所有内容的结尾处,很明显该系统是一项新颖且有前途的技术。

然而,就像生活中的一切一样,真正的考验在于它的实际应用,以及 Hedera 组织是否能够克服阻碍其全球采用的所有障碍。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Hashgraph: Meaning, Advantages, Disadvantages & More

By

Heard a lot about Hashgraph lately and curious to know what it is? Read on to discover what this technology means for the computing and crypto worlds.

Bitcoin and blockchain technology ushered in a new era of secure, decentralized transactions across the globe. But their massive energy inefficiencies and other limitations have created a need for alternatives, such as the Hashgraph protocol.

Hashgraph is a distributed ledger technology, just like the Blockchain. But it uses a different transaction handling and voting protocol to make it faster and more energy-efficient, than Bitcoin or Ethereum.

The technology is additionally patented by its inventor Leemon Baird and then licensed to the Hedera cooperation. Which is governed by a group of global companies.

This post looks at Hashgraph and the Hedera platform. As well as Hedera Hashgraph’s currency, the HBAR.

A Look at Hashgraph

Hashgraph is an alternative to the blockchain concept. And it aims to remove the limitations that hinder blockchains and their associated cryptocurrencies from widespread adoption.

Initially released in 2017 by Leemon Baird, Hashgraph promises transaction speeds and energy efficiency levels that similar technologies can only dream of.

It is currently throttled at 10,000 transactions per second, but its developers claim that it can comfortably handle up to 250,000 transactions per second (TPS) if the need arises. This puts Hashgraph in a good position. As its speed contrasts strongly with that of Bitcoin’s at 4 TPS and Etheruem’s at 15 TPS.

The technology uses mathematical directed acrylic graphs to create a broadcast system that is fast and more energy-efficient than blockchains. This makes transactions on the system also cheaper than what you can get on blockchain platforms.

The Hashgraph Technology

There are a few issues that need consideration to understand what Hashgraph means and where it stands. This includes the difference between Hashgraph and Hedera Hashgraph, private and public ledgers, as well as permissioned and permissionless databases.

Following is a closer look at each.

  • Hashgraph vs Hedera Hashgraph – The original Hashgraph system is a patented technology belonging to its inventor. He licensed it, however, to the Hedera organization, creating thereby the Hedera Hashgraph.

    The Hedera Hashgraph is a public and permissioned distributed ledger technology. A distributed ledger is simply a bunch of records, like databases or excel spreadsheets that have identical copies on different computers. The more computers and copies in the network, the more trustworthy the data. It is the same technology that Blockchain employs.

  • Private vs Public Ledger – Private ledgers, as their name implies, are private. While public ledgers are public. This means that only a select few can view the records in a private ledger, while practically anyone with a computer can view public ledgers.

    Bitcoin and Ethereum are public ledger systems. And this has contributed to their widespread adoption and success because people have more trust in public ledgers. As already stated, Hedera Hashgraph is public, but it is permissioned.

  • Permissioned vs Permissionless – Participation in the network can either happen through invitation or everyone can be free to join with their computers whenever and for how long they wish. Invitation-only networks are called permissioned networks, while free networks are called permissionless.

    Hedera Hashgraph is a permissioned network, although there are plans to transform it into a permissionless network in the future. The most popular permissionless network, remains, of course, Bitcoin and Ethereum, which have hundreds of thousands of anonymous computers from around the world in participation.

HBAR – The Currency

The Hedera Hashgraph ledger is currently the only authorized Hashgraph ledger and its native currency is the HBAR. You use it to pay for transactions on the Hedera ledger. And as you cannot earn it through mining, you have to buy it.

There are currently about 8 billion HBARs in circulation, with over 3 million daily transactions, and $150 million+ in daily trading volume.

The total supply of HBAR is 50 billion and it is currently ranked #57 in cryptocurrencies. It has a market capitalization of $1 billion+. An HBAR currently trades for about $0.17 (July 2021), with an all-time high of $0.40. You can buy HBAR from Binance.

Advantages of Hedera Hashgraph

The Hashgraph technology and the Hedera platform offer many opportunities that make it a viable alternative to conventional blockchains. These advantages include speed, cost, and energy improvements, among others.

Here is a closer look.

  • Speed – Hashgraph does not group data into a block as blockchain approaches do. Rather, a consensus helps to determine if a particular transaction is added to the ledger or not. This approach speeds up transaction times, making a Hashgraph network capable of handling up to 250,000 transactions per second.

    This speed is currently throttled to 10,000 TPS on the Hedera Hashgraph, but it can get lifted if the need arises. Another benefit of its consensus protocol is that transactions get confirmed in about 3 to 5 seconds. This puts Hedera way beyond the 10 to 60-minute blockchain confirmation time-frames and sets it on par with credit card companies.

  • Fairness – One issue with blockchain applications is that miners can choose to process your transaction or not. And this depends on transaction fees. Those with higher fees get more priority than others, leading to unfairness.

    The Hashgraph protocol eliminates this with its consensus approach. All transactions get processed, as long as they are not flagged. And they are added to the ledger once processed by two-thirds of the network.

  • Security – Hashgraph uses what is called asynchronous Byzantine fault tolerance to maintain a secure network. Byzantine fault tolerance takes the potential unreliability of the network’s nodes into consideration when reaching a consensus, to avoid a damaging system collapse. The system is also protected against DDoS and Sybil attacks.

  • Low Energy Consumption – Blockchains depend on miners to process transactions. But the problem is that many miners will try to mine (or process and hash a block’s content) at the same time. And only the first to get the right answer wins. Others who spent their computing power to find that right hash get no compensation and their energy is wasted.

    For a blockchain like Bitcoin, the combined electrical energy used in hashing one transaction can run in the hundreds of kilo-Watt hours. This is often up to 800 kWh, which is enough power to drive most households for a month.

    Hashgraph uses just about 0.0002 KWh per transaction, making it extremely more energy-efficient and environmentally friendly than most blockchains.

  • Low cost – Hedera Hashgraph’s transaction fees are also very low and start from $0.0001, depending on exactly what you need to get done on the system. The costs are insignificant though, and a far cry from the $15+ that popular blockchains charge per transaction.

Disadvantages of Hedera Hashgraph

Hedera Hashgraph also has a few disadvantages that are worth considering. The major issue here is the technology’s ownership model and how the network is run. These disadvantages include:

  • Swirlds patent – Hashgraph is patented. One of the major reasons for blockchain’s success lies in the open-source nature of the project. This led everyone to contribute to something larger than themselves. A kind of movement.

    Hashgraph’s technology, on the other hand, is patented. And the company that holds the patent is called Swirlds. This company belongs to Leemon Baird, the Hashgraph developer. And he licensed it to Hedera for a 10% fee. This means that the project will never truly belong to the public as the blockchain does.

  • Permissioned ledger – You have to get an invitation before you can join the Hedera network to participate. This requirement makes it a sort of exclusive club. There are plans to make the network a fully public and permissionless environment like Bitcoin, but they are still plans and have not been implemented. So, for now, it remains an exclusive club.

  • No way to mine and earn – You cannot mine Hashgraph at this time. So the only way to get HBARs is to buy them. There are plans to introduce POS (proof of stake) mining in Hedera Hashgraph though. But like above, these are still plans and not yet implemented.

Hashgraph vs Blockchain

As a new technology that might replace blockchains, the Hashgraph has lots of metrics going for it. Here is a side-by-side look at both systems for quick reference.

HashgraphBlockchain
Transactions per second10,000+4-15
Transaction confirmation time5 seconds5-60 minutes
Transaction fees$0.0001 – $0.10$20 – $50
Energy per transaction0.0002 KWh100 – 900 KWh
ConsensusVoting, proof of stakeProof of stake, work, time, space
SecurityAsynchronous Byzantine Fault toleranceCryptographic hashing
Transaction ValidationConsensusBy miner
Launch date20172008
CopyrightPatentedOpen source

Hedera Hashgraph Implementations

The Hedera Hashgraph network is available in two versions. The test net for developers and the main net for live applications. There are currently over 300,000 accounts on the main net. And it offers token and consensus services, in addition to handling HBAR transactions.

Here is a closer look at each.

  • HBAR Cryptocurrency – The HBAR cryptocurrency lives on the Hedera Hashgraph and you can use it to pay for any service that accepts HBARs. The good thing about this is that HBAR transactions settle in mere seconds, which puts them on par with credit card processors like Visa and MasterCard.

  • Tokens or Smart Contracts – Whether you call them tokens or smart contracts, the Hedera Hashgraph lets you implement them for use as you wish. You can tokenize anything you want on Hashgraph, ranging from contracts to stable coins, cryptocurrencies, and even non-fungible tokens that represent a unique asset in the physical world.

    Being a low-cost network with predictable costs also works in favor of Hedera Hashgraph. As fintech and other startups can create applications that leverage its fast, reliable, and affordable infrastructure. Hedera beats Ethereum and other blockchain approaches hands down in this area.

  • Data Consensus Service – Hedera Hashgraph also lets you timestamp and order information from around the world. So you have verifiable proof of anything. This service is great for tracking supply chain assets, agreements, file verifications, data streaming records, and so on.

Conclusion

Reaching the end of this post on the Hedera Hashgraph and all that it has to offer, it is obvious that the system is a novel and promising technology.

However, as with everything in life, the true test lies in its practical application and if the Hedera organization can overcome all the obstacles that hold it back from global adoption.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Leave a Comment