Hashgraph vs 区块链:哪个更好?

对 Hashgraph 和 Blockchain 术语感到困惑,不知道如何理解这两者? 我们比较这两种技术。

我们推荐使用 Hashgraph全面、 是两种相互竞争的技术,它们解决了在无信任环境(例如 Internet)中提供信任的相同问题。

这两种技术都有助于通过去中心化网络存储和检索信息,但它们以不同的方式解决问题。

区块链将数据记录分组到一个块中,为该块加上时间戳,并对其内容进行哈希处理以使其不可变。 另一方面,哈希图记录单个交易。 但它使用虚拟投票方式就哪些交易有效达成共识。

这篇文章探讨了这两种技术的幕后花絮。 看看他们带来了什么,以及他们对加密货币和加密行业的未来意味着什么。

这一切是如何开始

1976 年,史蒂夫·沃兹尼亚克 (Steve Wozniak) 和史蒂夫·乔布斯 (Steve Jobs) 决定通过创办 Apple Computer 来反抗体制。 到 1980 年代,个人电脑和互联网如野火般蔓延开来。 到了 1990 年代,它们已成为全球主流文化的一部分。

然而,部分机构仍然在网络上有很多发言权,尤其是在电子商务和金融方面。 原因是只有成熟的品牌才能在网络上进行支付处理和类似活动。

为了解决这个问题,一组加密研究人员和计算机程序员开发了一个系统,可以让人们在网络上安全地进行交易,而不需要银行等第三方机构。

该小组以“中本聪”的笔名开始。 他们巧妙的比特币发明的基础是区块链。

了解分布式账本技术

银行和其他交易第三方的问题在于他们可以完全控制自己的数据库。 因此,在任何人不知情的情况下很容易操纵记录。

分布式账本技术通过让多台计算机运行相同的数据库副本来解决这个问题。 每台联网的计算机称为一个节点。 网络上的节点越多,数据库的可信度就越高。

除了这种去中心化的数据库方法之外,DLT 或分布式账本技术还使用特定的协议、算法和其他约定来创建完整的包。 例如区块链或哈希图。

让我们来看看每一个。

区块链

区块链是一个数据库系统,它将数据组合成块并使用密码学链接这些块。

一个区块可以包含任何类型的数据,从金融交易到图像、视频、软件、电子书等等。 区块数据分组后,会添加时间戳和前一个区块的哈希。 然后对内容进行哈希处理以创建一个唯一标识符,使记录不可变。

这种方法的目标是,如果您更改块中的任何内容,则生成的哈希将与该块的广泛接受的哈希不同。 因此,如果您更改前一个块中的任何内容,其生成的哈希值也会不同,从而使当前块的哈希值也不同。

这种不变性为该技术赋予了区块链的名称,因为这些块是加密链接的,可以这么说。 比特币使用 SHA-256 散列函数生成长度为 256 位的随机字符串,与输入数据长度无关。

比特币区块链目前的大小超过 200 GB,平均区块大小约为 1 MB。 鉴于每个块都包含简单的金融交易,因此 1 MB 是需要处理的大量交易。

此外,处理交易的矿工必须反复运行哈希函数,直到它产生具有预定义规范的唯一 SHA-256 哈希,例如当前的 19 个前导零。 这一要求造成了比特币网络执行 150 exahashes (1018  哈希)每秒。

从这个数字来看,全球比特币挖矿网络每笔交易使用高达 800 千瓦时的电力。 这相当于每秒大约 3 MWh(4 个事务/秒)、每分钟 190 MWh,依此类推,直到您达到每年 50 – 100 TWh。 这足以为整个开曼群岛供电整整一个月。

哈希图

为了遏制与区块链维护相关的电力浪费,不同的团体提出了不同的方法。 这包括哈希图。

您应该注意,有专利的 Hashgraph 技术,该技术归其发明者所有。 然后是 Hedera Hashgraph,这是一个经过许可的公共网络,运行 Hashgraph 的实时实现。

Hashgraph 系统试图通过使用 有向亚克力图 和两个协议:

  1. 关于八卦的八卦
  2. 虚拟投票

1. 八卦八卦

要在 Hashgraph 上启动交易,您需要将该交易的详细信息传输到网络上的节点。 然后,该节点会将详细信息重新传输给几个随机节点,这些节点又将交易详细信息重新传输给其他随机节点。

这些随机节点称为邻居,每个交易细节称为一个事件。 每个事件都包含之前两个事件的信息,因此得名“关于八卦的八卦”。

以这种方式传输信息的效果是八卦像野火一样迅速传播,并且在短短几秒钟内,大多数(66%)节点应该拥有该交易的副本,从而达成共识。

现在必须使用其时间戳将事件添加到分布式账本中以进行时间排序。

2. 虚拟投票

Hashgraph 另一个令人印象深刻的部分是虚拟投票协议。 由于每个事件都携带有关它之前的两个先前事件的信息,因此节点使用此信息来投票关于哪些事件发生在它们之前并且应该得到优先处理。

虚拟投票的目标是防止节点因为恶意或拜占庭而无法传递信息的情况。 而这种未能传递信息可能会阻止该交易达到 2/3 多数和最终共识。

为了解决这个问题,每个事件然后对它可以追溯到其祖先的先前事件进行投票。 这有助于确保由于节点故障而未能达到多数的早期交易仍将得到及时处理。

这个投票过程跨越不同的轮次或通信时间框架,使其异步。 因此,该算法被称为异步拜占庭容错(aBFT)。

哈希图与区块链

虽然 Hashgraph 和区块链系统试图安全可靠地管理分布式网络中的数据,但它们都以不同的方式进行,从而导致了明显的差异。

以下是这些差异的表格。

Hashgraph全面、
发行日期:20172008
执照:专利技术开源
共识:虚拟投票工作证明、股权等
速度:10,000+ TPS4-15 每秒
公平:100%
安全性:ABFT加密哈希
能源效率:
每笔交易千瓦时:〜0.0002〜100-900
交易费用:$ 0.0001 +$ 15 +
交易验证:共识由矿工
许可:有权限无许可的
网络访问:私人/公共公共

1。 发牌

比特币及其底层区块链技术是在 MIT 许可证下发布的,使其成为高度宽松的免费和开源软件。 这种使用自由有助于促进区块链的普及。 以及它不同的分叉和竞争方法。

另一方面,Hashgraph 是属于 Swirlds 的专利技术,该公司由其发明者 Leemon Baird 创立。 Swirlds 随后将该技术授权给 Hedera 基金会,以获得 Hedera 网络收入 10% 的股份。

2。 共识

Hedera Hashgraph 使用虚拟投票作为其共识机制。 它所需要的只是 2/3 的节点同意并且该决定是最终的。 另一方面,区块链使用不同的协议。

比特币使用工作量证明协议,这是一个非常耗能且浪费的系统。 以太坊使用权益证明协议,这仅仅意味着矿工在挖矿之前将他的一些加密货币进行质押。 如果他成功了,他就会赢得他所投注的金额。

其他区块链共识协议包括空间证明,它使用硬盘空间作为抵押机制。 还有经过时间证明,它使用专用硬件为每个矿工分配最短等待时间。

3。 速度

根据 这个新闻稿 从 2020 年 1.5 月开始,Hedera Hashgraph 每天的交易量超过 7 万次,是以太坊的两倍,是比特币的约 2021 倍。 到 200 年 XNUMX 月,Hedera 每月交易量已超过 XNUMX 亿,并在 XNUMX 月突破了 1亿总交易 阈。

应该指出的是,这一成功背后的原因是 Hedera 哈希图上的低且可预测的交易成本。 这与区块链系统的不可靠成本相反,后者往往会随着更多并发交易而增加。

4。 公平

区块链矿工选择要处理的交易,这为那些为矿工提供更高费用的交易提供了更高的优先级。 结果是某些交易的确认时间更长,并且随着网络使用率的增加而增加了成本。

Hashgraph 通过时间戳交易消除这种不公平性,并在达成 66% 的共识后将其添加到分类帐中。 并且通过使用虚拟投票,所有事件都可以保证快速处理。

5. 能源消耗与效率

比特币每笔交易使用数百千瓦时,通常达到 800 千瓦时。 以太坊更为保守,但每笔交易仍可使用高达 100 千瓦时的电量。 这是由于矿工必须经过哈希处理才能找到指定的字符串。

Hashgraph 每次交易仅使用 0.0002 kWh 的电力,与区块链相比,这个数量要小得多。 这也使它成为大自然爱好者的环保选择。

6. 交易成本

区块链成本是可变的,费用较高的交易会得到优先处理。 再加上每秒 4 到 15 笔交易的有限速度,如今的交易成本通常高于 15 美元。 甚至达到 25 美元和 30 美元以上的高活跃度。

对于 Hashgraph,所有成本保持相等,并以美元法定货币收取。 当然,价格会有所不同,具体取决于您想做什么。 但您总能算出一笔交易的成本,最低为 0.0001 美元。

7. 网络访问

比特币一直是一个公共且无需许可的网络。 这意味着任何拥有计算机的人都可以看到交易,任何拥有足够好的硬件的人都可以下载客户端并加入网络。 不需要许可。 其他区块链项目可能有不同但相似的要求。

Hedera Hashgraph 也像比特币一样是公开的,但它是经过许可的。 这意味着您需要收到邀请才能加入网络。

结论

我们已经到了这篇 Hashgraph vs Blockchain 文章的结尾,你已经看到了他们的底层技术。

区块链有其优点和缺点。 但哈希图也是如此。 因此,您当前的需求将决定什么对您来说是更好的选择。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Hashgraph vs Blockchain: Which is better?

By

Confused by the Hashgraph and Blockchain terms and not sure what to make of the two? We compare these two technologies.

The Hashgraph and Blockchain are two competing technologies that solve the same problem of providing trust in a trustless environment, such as the Internet.

Both technologies help in storing and retrieving information over a decentralized network, but they approach the problem in different ways.

Blockchain groups data records into a block, timestamps that block, and hashes its contents to make it immutable. Hashgraph, on the other hand, records individual transactions. But it uses a virtual voting method to reach a consensus on which transactions are valid.

This post looks behind the scenes at these two technologies. To see what they bring to the table and what they mean for the future of cryptocurrencies and the crypto industry.

How it all started

In 1976, Steve Wozniak and Steve Jobs decided to rebel against the establishment by starting Apple Computer. By the 1980s, the personal computer and the Internet were spreading like wildfire. And by the 1990s, they had become part of the mainstream culture around the world.

However, parts of the establishment still had lots of say on the web, especially when it came to e-commerce and finance. The reason being that only established brands could be trusted with payment processing and similar activities on the web.

To counter that, a group of crypto researchers and computer programmers developed a system that could let people transact safely on the web, without needing a third party from the establishment, such as banks.

That group began under the “Satoshi Nakamoto” pseudonym. And the base of their ingenious Bitcoin invention is the Blockchain.

Understanding Distributed Ledger Technologies

The problem with banks and other transaction 3rd parties is that they have full control of their databases. And as such, it is easy to manipulate the records without anyone’s knowledge.

Distributed ledger technologies solve this problem by having multiple computers run the same copies of the database. Each networked computer is called a node. And the more nodes you have on the network is the more trustworthy the database is.

In addition to such a decentralized data-banking approach, DLT or Distributed Ledger Technologies also use specific protocols, algorithms, and other conventions to create the complete package. Such as the Blockchain or Hashgraph.

Let us take a look at each.

The Blockchain

The Blockchain is a database system that groups data together in blocks and links those blocks using cryptography.

A block can contain any type of data, from financial transactions to images, videos, software, ebooks, and so on. After the block data is grouped, a timestamp and the hash of the preceding block are added to it. Then the contents are hashed to create a unique identifier that makes the record immutable.

The goal of this approach is that if you change anything in the block, the resulting hash will be different from that widely accepted hash of that block. Consequently, if you change anything in the preceding block, its resulting hash will be different as well, making the current block’s hash also different.

This immutability gives the technology the Blockchain name, as the blocks are cryptographically chained, so to say. Bitcoin uses the SHA-256 hash function to generate a random string that is 256 bits in length, irrespective of the input data length.

The Bitcoin Blockchain currently exceeds 200 GB in size, with the average block about 1 MB large. Given that each block contains simple financial transactions, 1 MB, therefore, is a lot of transactions to process.

In addition, the miners that process the transaction have to keep running the hash function over and over until it produces a unique SHA-256 hash with pre-defined specifications, such as the current 19 leading zeros. This requirement has created a situation where the Bitcoin network performs 150 exahashes (1018  hashes) per second.

To put that number in perspective, the global Bitcoin mining network uses up to 800 kWh of electricity per transaction. That comes to about 3 MWh per second (4 transactions/second), 190 MWh per minute, and so on, till you arrive at 50 – 100 TWh per year. That is enough energy to power the entire Cayman Islands for a full month.

The Hashgraph

To curb the electricity waste associated with blockchain maintenance, different groups have come up with different approaches. And this includes the Hashgraph.

You should note that there is the patented Hashgraph technology, which is owned by its inventor. And then, there is the Hedera Hashgraph, which is a permissioned, public network that runs a live implementation of the Hashgraph.

The Hashgraph system tries to create a fast and energy-efficient environment by using directed acrylic graphs and two protocols:

  1. Gossip about gossip
  2. Virtual voting

1. Gossip about Gossip

To start a transaction on the Hashgraph, you need to transmit the details of that transaction to a node on the network. This node will then re-transmit the details to a few random nodes, who in turn, re-transmit the transaction details to other random nodes.

These random nodes are called neighbors and each transaction detail is called an event. Each event contains information from the previous two events before it, and hence the name “gossip about gossip”.

The effect of transmitting information this way is that the gossip spreads as fast as wildfire, and within just a few seconds, a majority (66%) of the nodes should have a copy of that transaction, leading to a consensus.

The event must now be added to the distributed ledgers using its time stamp for chronological sorting.

2. Virtual Voting

The other impressive part of Hashgraph is the virtual voting protocol. Since each event carries information about two previous events before it, the nodes use this information to cast votes about which events occurred before them and should get priority handling.

The goal of virtual voting is to prevent a situation where a node fails to pass on information because it is malicious or Byzantine. And this failure to pass on the information can stop that transaction from reaching a 2/3 majority and eventual consensus.

To solve this problem, each event then votes on previous events that it can trace its ancestry to. And this helps in making sure that earlier transactions that failed to reach a majority because of faulty nodes, will still get timely processing.

This voting process spans different rounds or communication time-frames, making it asynchronous. So, this algorithm is said to be asynchronous Byzantine Fault Tolerant (aBFT).

Hashgraph vs Blockchain

While the Hashgraph and Blockchain systems try to securely and reliably manage data in distributed networks, they both go about it in different ways, leading to stark differences.

Here is a tabular look at those differences.

HashgraphBlockchain
Launch Date:20172008
License:Patented technologyOpen source
Consensus:Virtual votingProof of work, stake, etc
Speed:10,000+ TPS4-15 TPS
Fairness:100%N/A
Security:ABFTCrypto hashing
Energy Efficiency:HighLow
KWh per Transaction:~0.0002~100 – 900
Transaction Fees:$0.0001+$15+
Transaction Validation:ConsensusBy Miner
Permissioning:PermissionedPermissionless
Network Access:Private/PublicPublic

1. Licensing

Bitcoin and its underlying Blockchain technology were released under the MIT License, making it a highly permissive free and open-source software. This freedom of use has helped in boosting the popularity of the Blockchain. As well as its different forks and competing approaches.

Hashgraph, on the other hand, is patented technology belonging to Swirlds, a company founded by its inventor, Leemon Baird. Swirlds then licensed the technology to the Hedera Foundation for a 10% stake in the Hedera network’s revenue.

2. Consensus

Hedera Hashgraph uses virtual voting as its consensus mechanism. All it needs is for 2/3 of the nodes to agree and that decision is final. Blockchains, on the other hand, use different protocols.

Bitcoin uses the Proof-of-Work protocol, a very energy-intensive and wasteful system. Ethereum uses the Proof-of-Stake protocol, which simply means that the miner stakes some of his cryptocurrencies before mining. And if he succeeds, he wins exactly the amount that he staked.

Other Blockchain consensus protocols include Proof-of-Space, which uses hard disk space as a staking mechanism. And Proof-of-Elapsed-time, which uses specialized hardware to assign each miner a minimum waiting time.

3. Speed

According to this press release from September 2020, the Hedera Hashgraph surpassed 1.5 million transactions per day, doubling that of Ethereum, and about 7x that of Bitcoin. By March 2021, Hedera had surpassed 200 million transactions per month, and in April, it crossed the 1-billion total transactions threshold.

It should be noted that the reason behind this success is the low and predictable transaction costs on Hedera hashgraph. This opposes the unreliable costs of blockchain systems, which tend to increase with more concurrent transactions.

4. Fairness

Blockchain miners choose which transactions to process and this gives a higher priority to those that offer higher fees for the miners. The result is longer confirmation times for some transactions, and increasing costs with higher network usage.

Hashgraph does away with this unfairness by time-stamping transactions and adding them to the ledger once there is a 66% consensus. And by using virtual voting as well, all events are guaranteed speedy processing.

5. Energy Consumption & Efficiency

Bitcoin uses hundreds of kWh per transaction, often reaching 800 kWh. Ethereum is more conservative, but it can still use up to 100 kWh per transaction. This is due to the hashing process that miners must undergo to find a specified string.

Hashgraph uses just 0.0002 kWh of electric power per transaction, an infinitely smaller quantity compared to blockchains. And this also makes it an environmental-friendly option for nature lovers.

6. Transaction Costs

Blockchain costs are variable and transactions with higher fees get priority treatment. Coupled with their limited speeds of 4 to 15 transactions per second, transaction costs are often above $15 today. Even reaching $25 and $30+ with high activity.

For the Hashgraph, all costs are kept equal and charged in USD fiat money. The prices vary, of course, depending on what you want to do. But you can always figure out how much a transaction is going to cost, starting from as low as $0.0001.

7. Network Access

Bitcoin has always been a public and permission-less network. This means that anyone with a computer can see the transactions and anyone with good enough hardware can download the client and join the network. No permission is required. Other Blockchain projects may have different but similar requirements.

Hedera Hashgraph is also public like Bitcoin, but it is permissioned. This means that you will need an invitation to get accepted into the network.

Conclusion

We have come to the end of this Hashgraph vs Blockchain post and you have seen their underlying technologies laid bare.

Blockchain has its strengths and weaknesses. But so does Hashgraph as well. It is your current needs, therefore, that will determine what is the better option for you.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Leave a Comment