如何在 Windows 10 上安装 Linux (Ubuntu)

准备好在您的 Windows 系统上安装 Ubuntu Linux 了吗? 嗯,你做出了正确的选择。 有两种方法可以做到这一点,它们就在这里。

Windows 用户越来越多地尝试 Linux 这是有充分理由的。 如果您还决定试一试该系统,您可以通过两种方式进行尝试。

您可以使用适用于 Linux 的 Windows 子系统 (WSL) 来安装 Ubuntu Windows 10 PC 上的命令行。 这让您拥有像原生应用程序一样运行的 Ubuntu 工具。 或者,您可以将 Ubuntu 与 Windows 一起安装,并在每次系统启动时选择要启动的操作系统。

选项 1 是两者中最简单的一种,但您目前不能使用它来运行图形程序,例如 Web 浏览器。 这使得它只适合需要在 Linux 环境中测试代码的程序员。

但是,使用选项 2,您将有更多的工作要做,但您最终也会有更多的选择和对计算硬件的控制权。 所以,做出你的选择,让我们开始工作吧。

适用于 Linux 设置的 Windows 子系统

Windows 现在可以让您在您的机器上体验 Ubuntu Linux 的强大功能。 这个过程很简单,您可以使用一些最流行的 Linux 工具,例如 SSH,就好像它是一个原生应用程序一样。

它唯一的缺点是目前缺乏对图形 UI 程序的支持,尽管微软已经承诺它即将推出。

1。 要求

要使此安装正常工作,您只需要一台运行更新版本的 Windows 的 x86 PC。 这应该至少包括从 10 年开始的 Windows 2017 Fall Creators 更新以运行 WSL 1。如果您想运行 WSL 2,则需要安装 Windows 10 May 2020 更新或更新版本。

2. 为 Linux 启用 Windows 子系统

整理好需求后,您需要先启用 WSL。 为此,请以管理员身份启动 PowerShell 并输入以下内容:

dism.exe /online /enable-feature /featurename:Microsoft-Windows-Subsystem-Linux /all /norestart

对于 WSL 1。如果您更喜欢安装 WSL 2,请输入:

dism.exe /联机/启用功能/功能名称:VirtualMachinePlatform /全部/ norestart

输入后,您需要重新启动计算机。

3. 开始安装

系统重新启动后,单击开始菜单,然后启动 Microsoft Store 应用程序。 到达那里后,搜索 Ubuntu 并单击安装以开始程序下载和安装。

4. 启动您的 Windows 终端

安装完成后,您的 Ubuntu Linux 终端现在将像任何其他 Windows 程序一样可供您使用,这意味着您可以从“开始”菜单搜索或启动它。

但是,您应该注意,该程序在您第一次运行时将需要用户名和密码。 这些不需要与您的 Windows 10 安装相匹配,因此请随意输入其他内容。

这就对了。 您现在可以在 Windows 10 环境中享受 Ubuntu Linux 的强大功能。

双引导安装步骤

另一方面,如果你想运行一个功能齐全的 Ubuntu Linux 安装,那么你需要在你的机器上安装一个完整的 Linux 操作系统。

您将需要一个至少具有 2GB 存储空间的 USB 闪存驱动器,尽管对于较新的 Ubuntu 版本建议使用 8GB 或更高。 该系统也有其最低系统要求,但如果您的 PC 已经运行 Windows 10,那么您应该没问题。

好消息是您无需删除 Windows 安装。 您可以将 Ubuntu Linux 与 Windows 10 一起安装,并在每次启动时选择要引导的两个系统中的哪一个。

这是操作方法:

1. 确定 Ubuntu 风格

Ubuntu Linux 有多种版本。 这些风格是为不同用户提供定制 Ubuntu 版本的不同配置、桌面环境和软件包。

例如,除了标准 Ubuntu 之外,还有适合需要轻量级安装的 Lubuntu,适合美学爱好者的 Kubuntu,适合音乐和视频爱好者的 Ubuntu Studio,以及适合中国用户的 Ubuntu Kylin。

还有其他的,请查看 ubuntu 口味 查找并下载您的口味。

2.下载ISO镜像文件

找到您的风格后,下一步应该是下载相应的 ISO 映像文件,因为每种风格都有不同的安装映像文件。

3. 制作可启动的 Live CD

前往 pendrivelinux 下载通用 USB 安装程序。 或者您可以使用 鲁弗斯计划.

这两个程序都会将您下载的 ISO 映像复制到您的 USB 驱动器中,并使其可启动。 这使得在您的 PC 启动时运行 Ubuntu Linux 安装程序成为可能。

这两个程序的用法简单且相似。 只需运行该程序,插入您的 U 盘并在程序中选择它,然后选择您刚刚下载的 ISO 映像文件,然后单击开始。 您的可引导 Live CD 应该会在几分钟内准备就绪。

4。 分区

您应该在此处制作文件的备份副本。 每当您要篡改计算机硬盘驱动器时,建议您这样做,尽管在 99% 的情况下,不会发生任何坏事。 但只要您在分区过程中不中断程序即可。

要对硬盘进行分区,您可以使用 Windows 内置的磁盘管理工具或使用 Ubuntu Linux 安装磁盘上的 gparted。

要使用 Windows 的磁盘管理工具,请右键单击要分区的驱动器,然后选择“Shrink Volume”。 Ubuntu 至少需要 10GB 的磁盘空间,尽管您仍然可以安装它。 但 25GB 或更高是标准建议。

如果你想用 gparted 做到这一点,那么别担心,安装程序会给你一个机会,当时间到的时候。 请记住,一旦开始就不要中断分区过程,因为结果可能是随机的。

5.启用安装

在开始安装之前,您可能需要在计算机上禁用安全启动。 这是一项 UEFI 安全功能,可防止 PC 硬件启动原始制造商安装的系统以外的其他软件。

它有助于防止 root 工具包劫持您的系统,但它也使 Windows 和 Linux 无法双启动。

您可以通过重新启动系统并按 F1、F2、F12 或 Esc(取决于您的机器)进入 BIOS/UEFI 设置页面来简单地禁用它。 然后在安全或启动选项卡中找到安全启动选项,并将其禁用。

此外,请确保您的系统在尝试从硬盘引导之前检查可引导的 USB 记忆棒。 因此,请确保在 BIOS/UEFI 配置的引导顺序中 USB 位于 HDD 之前。 然后保存退出。

6. 运行安装程序

当您的系统重新启动并且一切顺利时,Ubuntu Live CD 将启动并询问您是要试用 Ubuntu 还是立即安装它。 您可以在此处选择任何选项,因为 Live CD 桌面上还有另一个安装选项。

此安装中最重要的部分是 Windows 检测。 安装程序将检测您的 Windows 安装,并为您提供在 Windows 旁边安装 Ubuntu 的选择。 如果它不这样做,那么您的 Windows 系统有问题。 所以,在继续之前先检查一下。

第二个最重要的部分是硬盘分区。 如果您在 Windows 中压缩磁盘,那么 Ubuntu 将检测空闲分区并允许您选择它进行安装。 如果您没有调整磁盘大小,那么它会为您提供在继续之前缩小磁盘的机会。

但是请注意,所有更改都是永久性的。

安装的其余部分很简单,您只需要继续添加您的首选项和用户凭据。

7. 双启动

您现在可以对系统进行双重引导。 每次启动时,grub 引导加载程序都会询问您是否要引导至 Windows 10 或 Ubuntu Linux 系统。

只需选择您需要的任何内容并继续。 而已。

结论

在你的 Windows 机器上安装一个额外的 Ubuntu 操作系统有很多好处,正如上面的说明所示,实现起来并不难。

当然,这两种方法都没有虚拟化那么灵活,但是,它们可以让您完全访问机器的硬件,同时为您提供两全其美的体验。 虚拟化永远无法为您提供一些东西。

纳姆迪·奥克克

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

How to Install Linux (Ubuntu) on Windows 10

Windows users are increasingly trying out Linux and there is a good reason for that. If you have also decided to give the system a try, there are two ways you can go about it.

You could use the Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) to install an Ubuntu command line on your Windows 10 PC. This lets you have Ubuntu tools that run like a native app. Or you could install Ubuntu alongside Windows and select which OS to boot at each system startup.

Option 1 is the easier of both, but you currently can’t use it to run graphical programs such as a web browser. This makes it only ideal for programmers who need to test their code in a Linux environment.

With Option 2, however, you’ll have more work to do, but you’ll also end up with more choice and control over your computing hardware. So, make your choice, and let’s get to work.

Windows Subsystem for Linux Setup

Windows now makes it possible to experience the power of Ubuntu Linux on your machine. The process is simple and you get to use some of the most popular Linux tools, such as SSH, as though it was a native app.

Its only drawback is the current lack of support for graphic UI programs, although Microsoft has promised that it’s coming.

1. Requirements

All you need for this installation to work is an x86 PC that’s running an updated version of Windows. This should include the Windows 10 Fall Creators update from 2017 at the very least to run WSL 1. If you would like to run WSL 2, then you’ll need the Windows 10 May 2020 update or newer installed.

2. Enable Windows Subsystem for Linux

Once you’ve got the requirements sorted out, you’ll need to enable WSL first. To do that, fire up your PowerShell as an administrator and enter the following:

dism.exe /online /enable-feature /featurename:Microsoft-Windows-Subsystem-Linux /all /norestart

for WSL 1. If you prefer to install WSL 2, then enter:

dism.exe /online /enable-feature /featurename:VirtualMachinePlatform /all /norestart

After the entry, you’ll need to restart your computer.

3. Begin the Installation

After your system restarts, click the Start menu, and launch the Microsoft Store app. Once you are there, search for Ubuntu and click install to begin the program download and installation.

4. Launch your Windows Terminal

Once the installation is over, your Ubuntu Linux terminal will now be available to you like any other Windows program, and this means you can search for or launch it from the Start menu.

You should note, however, that the program will require a username and password the first time you run it. These don’t need to match the ones for your Windows 10 installation, so feel free to enter something else.

That is it. You can now enjoy the power of Ubuntu Linux from your Windows 10 environment.

Dual-boot Installation Steps

If you would like to run a fully functional Ubuntu Linux installation on the other hand, then you will need to install a full Linux operating system on your machine.

You will need a USB flash drive with at least 2GB storage, although 8GB or higher is the recommendation for newer Ubuntu versions. The system also has its minimum system requirements, but if your PC already runs Windows 10, then you should be fine.

The good news here is you don’t need to delete your Windows installation. You can install Ubuntu Linux alongside Windows 10 and select which of the two systems to boot at every start.

Here is how to do it:

1. Decide on the Ubuntu Flavor

There are many flavors of Ubuntu Linux. These flavors are different configurations, Desktop environments, and software packages that offer customized Ubuntu versions for different users.

For instance, asides from Standard Ubuntu, there is Lubuntu for those who need a lightweight install, Kubuntu for lovers of aesthetics, Ubuntu Studio for music and video fans, and Ubuntu Kylin for Chinese users.

There are others as well, so check out ubuntu flavours to find and download your flavor.

2. Download the ISO Image File

After you have found your flavor, your next step should be to download the respective ISO image file because each flavor has a different installation image file.

3. Make a Bootable Live CD

Head over to Pendrivelinux to download the Universal USB Installer. Or you can use the Rufus program.

Both programs will copy the ISO image you downloaded into your USB drive and additionally make it bootable. This makes it possible to run the Ubuntu Linux installer when your PC boots.

Usage is simple and similar for both programs. Just run the program, plug in your USB stick and select it in the program, then select the ISO image file you just downloaded and click Start. Your bootable Live CD should be ready in a few minutes.

4. Partitioning

Here is where you should make a backup copy of your files. This is recommended whenever you are about to tamper with a computer hard-drive, although in 99% of cases, nothing bad ever happens. But that’s as long as you don’t interrupt the program during its partitioning process.

To partition your hard disk, you can either use the Windows built-in Disk Management Tool or use gparted on your Ubuntu Linux installation disk.

To use Windows’ Disk Management Tool, right-click on the drive you want to partition and select “Shrink Volume”. Ubuntu needs at least 10GB of disk space, although you could still install it on less. But 25GB or higher is the standard recommendation.

If you want to do this with gparted, then don’t worry, the installation program will give you a chance to do it when the time comes. Just keep in mind to never interrupt the partitioning process once it starts, because the results can be random.

5. Enable Installation

Before you start the installation, you may need to disable secure boot on your machine. This is a UEFI security feature that prevents the PC hardware from booting other software other than the system installed on it by the original manufacturer.

It helps to prevent root-kits from hijacking your system, but it also makes it impossible to dual-boot Windows with Linux.

You can simply disable it by restarting your system and pressing either F1, F2, F12, or Esc (depending on your machine) to enter the BIOS/UEFI settings page. Then find the Secure Boot option in the security or boot tab, and disable it.

Also, make sure your system will check for a bootable USB stick before attempting to boot from the hard-disk. So make sure USB is before HDD in the boot sequence of your BIOS/UEFI configuration. Then save and exit.

6. Run the Installer

When your system restarts and everything goes well, the Ubuntu Live CD will start and ask if you want to try Ubuntu or Install it straight away. You can choose any option here because there’s still another installation option on the Live CD desktop.

The most important part of this installation is Windows detection. The installer will detect your Windows installation and offer you the choice to install Ubuntu alongside Windows. If it doesn’t do this, then something’s not right with your Windows system. So, check first before continuing.

The second most important part is the hard-disk partition. If you shrank your disk in Windows, then Ubuntu will detect the free partition and allow you to select it for installation. If you didn’t resize your disk, then it will offer you the chance to shrink it now before moving on.

Be warned, however, that all changes are permanent.

The rest of the installation is easy and you will just need to go along, adding your preferences and user credentials.

7. Dual Boot

You can now dual-boot your system. At every start, the grub boot-loader will ask if you want to boot into your Windows 10 or Ubuntu Linux system.

Just select whatever you need and move on. That’s it.

Conclusion

There are many advantages to having an additional Ubuntu operating system on your Windows machine and as the above instructions have shown, it’s not too difficult to achieve.

Of course, both methods are not as flexible as virtualization, but then, they give you full access to your machine’s hardware, while offering you the best of both worlds. Something virtualization can never offer you.

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via @bongotrax

Leave a Comment