SaaS 公司面临的 5 大挑战

SaaS 公司一直是热门话题。 但是随着越来越多的人进入这个领域,它带来了更多的挑战。 以下是最大的挑战。

在线工作工具的概念从未像现在这样对雇主更具吸引力,尤其是在数字后 COVID 时代。 在经历了 2020 年远程工作、网络研讨会和在线董事会会议的繁荣之后,越来越多的公司开始欣然采用基于云的解决方案作为传统工作系统的替代方案。 导致对远程协作和云计算选项的近乎痴迷的全球渴望。 

在本文中,您将了解有关 软件作为服务 以及它如何使企业用户受益,包括 SaaS 公司面临的特殊挑战。

什么是SaaS公司?

软件即服务公司,也称为 (SaaS),是为用户提供远程访问云软件的第三方软件提供商。 简而言之,该服务将在线软件商业化给客户,而无需他们拥有或安装该应用程序。 

SaaS公司如何运作?

软件即服务公司托管在线应用程序,公司支付年度订阅费才能访问这些应用程序。 服务提供商从字面上为客户摆脱了软件安装和定期更新的烦恼; 通过提供托管在其大型服务器上的基于 Web 的软件。 这是传统的打包软件的直接再生。 

SaaS的好处

  • 软件灵活性和移动性: 想象一下,从字面上看,您的公司数据触手可及。 这是云软件服务的一项重要优势。 在线应用程序托管使用户可以随时从任何设备轻松访问数据,从而节省时间。

    向按需软件的过渡颠覆了企业使用的传统数据管理系统,节省了公司的技术基础设施物流,并降低了设置应用程序的成本。
  • SaaS 自动化能力提升市场增长:据统计,全球 38% 的公司几乎完全在 SaaS 上运行,至少 85% 计划到 2025 年转换为基于云的软件。原因是使用在线软件的整体效果加速了业务产量和效率提高一半以上。 
  • 可扩展的商业模式: 云软件市场发展迅速,预计到 176.62 年底全球市场价值将达到 $2022B,年增长率为 18%。

    因此,越来越多的公司开始涉足该领域。 在线软件服务继续蓬勃发展的原因之一是其可扩展的商业模式。 像 Salesforce 和微软这样的大牌公司每年的年收入都达到了数十亿美元,而且像 Lucid 这样的独角兽公司的估值为 3B 美元,软件业务的利润从未像现在这样高。
  • 为用户减轻IT基础设施维护的压力: 通过订阅按需软件,公司不再需要将大部分运行成本花费在软件更新、安装或定期错误修复上。

SaaS公司的挑战

过去几年,软件即服务行业在技术进步和总收入方面在全球范围内见证了巨大的增长。 此外,市场规模不断扩大,以适应实体产品业务和远程服务公司。 

然而,这种快速增长并非一帆风顺。 以下是云计算和软件即服务行业的公司面临的一些挑战。

1.商业和销售模式问题

SaaS 公司面临的一项挑战是让用户为商业产品付费。 基于其免费增值模式,客户可以在有限的时间内或具有限制性功能的免费产品版本中受益。

 然而,现在的趋势是客户不愿意订阅使用货币化版本。 这极大地阻碍了业务的收入模式。 收入的主要来源是客户支付的订阅费。 

软件供应商(大约 38% 的 SaaS 公司)逐渐采用基于使用的定价来取代基于订阅的服务。 这意味着客户按使用量计费,并且仅在他们使用服务时计费。

将免费用户转变为付费用户的方法是基于用户的定价模式,该模式根据软件用户的数量向公司收费。 尽管仍处于发展阶段,但远程软件公司的商业模式正在不断发展,以吸引客户并保持盈利。

2、产品开发和基础设施维护成本高

开发托管服务器所需的基础设施,尤其是在不断融入新技术趋势时,成本很高。 更新和升级管理系统的过程非常耗费精力。

虽然托管公司可能会决定不定期更新,但其后果是遭受严重攻击的风险,这将导致其系统上存储的数据丢失。 

3. 网络攻击和不熟练的工人可能导致大量数据丢失

SaaS 公司面临的另一个巨大挑战是网络攻击的影响,这可能会削弱服务提供商。 由于大量存储的数据会落入坏人之手,这可能会阻碍他们的市场增长。 

此外,数据系统崩溃的影响是多维的。 鉴于他们对第三方软件托管的依赖,如果系统崩溃或对软件提供商系统的网络攻击,用户公司可能会受到严重影响。

4、市场竞争太激烈

SaaS 部门迅速发展,主导了软件和云计算市场。 这导致对其产品的更高需求,以及 SaaS 公司的大量风险投资资金。 因此,该行业现在充满了试图利用这一新机会的公司也就不足为奇了。

甚至传统的打包软件供应商现在也更名为“在线软件供应商”。 言下之意,在花费如此多的资金成功加入客户公司之后,现在保持客户一致性是一项挑战。

5. 高流失率

流失率是在一段时间内停止使用特定产品而转而使用另一种产品的用户数量。 客户跳槽的原因有很多,例如价格、糟糕的营销策略、产品灵活性、敏捷性和用户体验。

解决方案是展示您的产品在帮助用户开展业务方面的重要性,而不是试图追加销售或让他们购买更多。 不断指出他们通过订阅您的产品而不是加强营销工作所取得的成功。

还有其他挑战,从招募合适的劳动力,让营销人员在一个精简的市场中“销售”产品,到瞄准合适的市场并进行足够的销售以实现盈利的成本。

顶级软件即服务提供商 

该行业的大玩家包括:

  • 微软
  • Salesforce
  • Adobe Creative Cloud
  • 谷歌工作空间
  • CISCO
  • 意会
  • Github上
  • 亚马逊网络服务
  • Databricks
  • ServiceNow 
  • HubSpot的
  • 盒子
  • Mailchimp
  • 数据整合功能: 尽管行业面临所有挑战,但数据集成功能等仍取得了突破性进展。 最初,公司很难将他们的数据迁移和集成到云软件中,但最近该服务的改进包括为公司提供无缝数据集成流程,从而消除了对第三方影响的需求。 
  • 垂直SaaS: 与公司通常使用的横向 SaaS 不同,科技公司可以针对特定行业利用纵向 SaaS 可定制模型。 借助垂直 SaaS,公司可以构建和适应目标消费者需求和个别产品利基市场。
  • 人工智能(AI)技术: 人工智能技术可以实现服务的自动化和个性化,包括数据系统的速度和安全性以及数据适应。

值得注意的是,人工智能技术目前正在市场上大肆宣传,因为它正在扰乱科技行业各个领域的活动。 结合 SaaS 基础设施,人工智能有助于提高自动化服务的效率,帮助客户适应服务,同时提升 SaaS 产品的用户体验。

最后的话

软件即服务不仅仅是科技领域的流行语。 从本质上讲,它是技术行业中最赚钱的利基市场之一,无论是在收入还是使用方面。 可能性是无穷无尽的,公司离不开某种形式的 SaaS 产品,使其备受追捧。

Joy Gabriel

Joy Gabriel

乔伊热衷于通过她的著作帮助初创企业和企业充分发挥潜力。 作为一名商业战略家和财务专家,她明白在创业领域意味着什么。 她不工作时喜欢做饭和唱歌。
您可以通过以下方式与她联系 LinkedIn.

文章:20

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Top 5 Challenges Of SaaS Companies

SaaS companies have been the buzz for a while. But with more people entering the space, it creates more challenges. Here are the top challenges.

The concept of online work tools has never been more appealing to employers, especially in the digital post-COVID era. Having gone through the boom of remote work, webinars and online board meetings in 2020, more and more companies are readily embracing cloud-based solutions as alternative to traditional work systems. Leading to an almost obsessive, global craving for remote collaborative and cloud computing options. 

In this article, you’d learn everything about Software-as-a-service and how it benefits corporate users, including the peculiar challenges faced by SaaS companies.

What is a SaaS company?

A Software-as-a-service company, also known as (SaaS), is a third-party software provider that offers users remote access to cloud software. Simply put, the service commercializes online software to customers without them necessarily owning or installing the application. 

How does a SaaS company work?

Software as a service companies host online applications that companies pay annual subscription fees to access. The service provider literally takes off the headache of software installation and regular updating for customers; by providing web-based software hosted over their large servers. This is a direct regeneration of conventional, packaged software. 

Benefits of SaaS

  • Software flexibility and mobility: Imagine walking around with your company data at your fingertips, literally. That’s one important benefit of cloud software services. Online application hosting makes data easily accessible from any device, at any time by the user, thereby saving time.

    The transition to on-demand software has disrupted traditional data management systems used by businesses, saves a company’s technical infrastructure logistics, and reduces costs for setting up applications.
  • SaaS automation ability improves market growth: Statistically, 38% of companies globally are almost run completely on SaaS, and at least 85% plan to convert to cloud-based software by 2025. The reason is that the overall effect of using online software accelerates business output and efficiency by more than half. 
  • Scalable business model: The cloud software market is rapidly developing with a global market worth predicted to reach $176.62B by the end of 2022, and an annual growth rate of 18%.

    As a result, more and more companies are plunging into the space. One reason why online software service continues to thrive is because of their scalable business model. What with big names like Salesforce and Microsoft raking in annual revenues in billions of dollars by the year and also, unicorns like Lucid valued at $3B, the software business has never been more profitable.
  • Saves users the stress of IT infrastructure maintenance: By subscribing to on-demand software, companies no longer have to spend a huge percentage of their running costs on software updates, installation, or regular bug fixes.

Challenges of SaaS companies

The Software-as-a-Service industry has witnessed massive growth globally over the past few years in terms of technological advancement and gross revenues. In addition, the market size grew to accommodate both physical product businesses as well as remote service companies. 

However, this rapid growth is not without a few hitches. Here are some of the challenges faced by companies in the cloud computing and Software-as-a-service industry.

1. Business and sales model issues

One challenge for SaaS companies is getting users to pay for commercial products. Based on its freemium model, customers can benefit from free product versions for a limited time or with restrictive features.

 However, the trend nowadays is that clients are unwilling to subscribe to use monetized versions. This greatly impedes the revenue model of the business. The major source of income is from subscription fees paid by customers. 

Gradually software providers (about 38% of SaaS companies), are embracing usage-based pricing in replacement of subscription-based services. This means that customers are billed per volume of usage, and only when they use the service.

Converting free users into paid subscribers has been tacked by user-based pricing model which charges companies based on number of software users. Though still under much development, the business model of remote software companies is evolving to attract customers and maintain profitability.

2. High product development and infrastructure maintenance cost

Developing infrastructures required to host the servers, especially when constantly incorporating new technology trends, is expensive. The process of updating and upgrading management systems is quite pocket-draining.

While a hosting company might decide against regular updates the consequence is the risk of a severe attack, which will lead to the loss of stored data on its systems. 

3. Cyber-attacks and unskilled workers could lead to massive data loss

Another great challenge for SaaS companies is the impact of cyber-attack which could cripple a service provider. Due to the large amount of stored data that would get into the wrong hands, it could frustrate their market growth. 

Furthermore, the effect of data systems crash is multi-dimensional. Given their dependence on third-party software hosting, user companies could be severely affected in the event of a system crash or cyber-attack on the software provider systems.

4. Too much market competition

The SaaS sector has rapidly grown to dominate the software and cloud computing market. This has resulted in higher demand for its products, and a lot of VC funding for SaaS companies. Therefore, it comes as no surprise that the industry is now saturated with companies trying to milk this new opportunity.

Even traditional packaged software providers are now rebranding as “Online software providers”. By implication, it is now challenging to maintain customer consistency after spending so much to successfully onboard client companies.

5. High churn rate

Churn rate is the number of users who stopped using a particular product in favor of another, within a period of time. Customers jump ship for one of many reasons such as price, poor marketing strategy, product flexibility, agility, and user experience.

The solution is to demonstrate just how important your product keeps helping the user in their business instead of trying to upsell or make them buy more. Keep pointing out the successes they’ve achieved by subscribing to your product instead of intensifying marketing efforts.

There are other challenges ranging from recruiting the right workforce, and getting marketers to ‘sell’ products in a condensed market, to targeting the right market and making enough sales to cover costs profitably.

Top software-as-a-service providers 

Big players in this industry include:

  • Microsoft
  • Salesforce
  • Adobe creative cloud
  • Google workspace
  • CISCO
  • Intuit
  • Github
  • Amazon web services
  • Databricks
  • ServiceNow 
  • Hubspot
  • Box
  • Mailchimp

What’s trending right now in the software-as-a-Service industry?

  • Data integration feature: Despite all the challenges in the industry there are still recorded breakthroughs such as the data integration feature. Initially, companies had a hard time migrating and integrating their data onto cloud software but recent improvements in the service include a seamless data integration process for companies thereby eliminating the need for third-party influence. 
  • Vertical SaaS: Unlike horizontal SaaS generally used by companies, tech companies can leverage vertical SaaS customizable model for specific industries. With vertical SaaS, companies can build and adapt to targeted consumer needs and individual product niches.
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI) technology: AI technology allows for automation, and personalization of service, including speed and security of data systems and data adaptation.

It is worthy of note that, AI technology is building a lot of hype in the market right now as it is disrupting activities in every sector of the tech industry. Combined with SaaS infrastructure, AI helps create efficiency in automated services that helps customers adapt to the service and also boosts the user experience of SaaS products.

Final words

Software-as-a-service is more than just a buzzword used in tech spaces. In essence, it is one of the most profitable niches in the technology industry, both in revenue and usage. The possibilities are endless, companies cannot do without using some form of SaaS product, making it highly sought after.

Joy Gabriel

Joy Gabriel

Joy is passionate about helping startups and businesses grow to their full potential through her writings. A business strategist and a Financial Expert, she understands what it means to be in the entrepreneurial space. She loves cooking and singing when she's not working.
You can connect with her via LinkedIn.

Articles: 20

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.