大型科技公司:优势、危险和未来

大科技是指拥有数百万日常用户的大型科技公司。 但是,它们对整个社会是有益的还是有害的? 我们在这里看看。

大型科技公司是跨国公司,在世界各地拥有资产,通常赚取数十亿美元的收入,并对用户的日常生活产生重大影响。

大多数大型科技公司都是初创公司的颠覆者——他们通过实施完成工作的新方法改变了各自的行业。 然后,他们最终成长为庞大而强大的组织,但没有必要的政治责任。

GAMAM 代表 Google、Amazon、Meta、Apple 和 Microsoft,因为它们是典型的大型科技公司。 然而,大科技的特点并不仅限于它们,因为还有许多其他公司在同一条道路上。 这篇文章着眼于所有这些。

大科技有多大?

考虑到像丹麦这样的国家,2021 年的 GDP 估计约为 290 亿美元。 还要考虑一下保加利亚估计有 78 亿美元,巴拿马为 60 亿美元,新西​​兰为 247 亿美元,牙买加为 15 亿美元。 GDP或国内生产总值是一组人或一个国家在给定年份创造的所有价值的总和。

国家2021 GDP2016年政府收入
1.Poland的美元655亿元的美元236亿元
2.Slovenia的美元60.9亿元的美元20亿元
3.New Zealand的美元247亿元的美元72亿元
4.科威特的美元132亿元的美元61亿元
5.巴基斯坦的美元286亿元的美元43亿元
6.Romania的美元287亿元的美元72亿元

表1。

现在看看下面的表 2,看看 2021 年全球最大的科技公司的收入,以及它们的市值数据。 市值或资本化是公司股票的总价值,通过将股票价格乘以股票总数来计算。

公司部门/产品2021收入 市值
1.Amazon零售、云计算的美元470亿元$ 1.7 万亿
2.Apple消费电子、软件的美元275亿元$ 2.7 万亿
3.Samsung消费电子、软件的美元200亿元的美元417亿元
4.字母搜索、谷歌、YouTube的美元182亿元$ 1.7 万亿
5.富士康硬件制造商的美元181亿元的美元51亿元
6.微软软件的美元143亿元$ 2.2 万亿
8.华为消费电子、软件的美元129亿元 -
9.戴尔电脑硬件的美元92亿元的美元45亿元
10软件、脸书、Instagram的美元85亿元的美元589亿元
11.索尼消费电子、软件的美元84亿元的美元129亿元
12.腾讯电子游戏、娱乐的美元70亿元的美元567亿元
13.特斯拉电动车、锂电池的美元54亿元的美元870亿元

表2。

从上面的表 2 中可以明显看出,世界上许多最大的科技公司比世界上许多地缘政治实体或国家赚取更多的收入,并最终获得利润。 在一个越来越受资本流动控制的世界中,这些高收入使大型科技公司具有潜在的危险。 这是因为他们有资源去追求广泛的利益,并在此过程中减轻大多数障碍。

剑桥分析丑闻

随着剑桥分析丑闻的发生,让一个商业实体管理数百万用户记录的明显危险变得显而易见。

随着 Facebook Inc. 如何让 Cambridge Analytica 在未经他们同意的情况下从 87 万份 Facebook 个人资料中收集数据的细节浮出水面,并且出于政治原因,日常用户开始对大型科技公司如何使用他们收集的信息表示担忧。

除了商业用途外,科技公司还应保护其用户数据免受恶意行为者的侵害。 但正如 2011 年轰动一时的索尼 PlayStation Network 黑客事件所示,许多科技公司做得还不够。 黑客窃取了 70 万用户的个人信息,包括他们的信用卡号码。

大科技的优势

大型科技公司为我们的生活带来了许多优势和有用的功能。 大多数现代生活方式甚至依赖于大型科技公司的服务组合。 这里有一些:

  • 轻松访问 – 大型科技公司让普通人更容易获得原本不可能获得的服务。 从 1990 年代免费但高效的 Google 搜索引擎到社交网络、云计算以及众多其他个人和商业服务。

    这里的商业模式通常是免费增值模式,其中一些服务的功能是免费提供的,而那些支付溢价的人可以获得额外的溢价服务。 这里的一个重要例子是谷歌云计算和亚马逊网络服务。

    其他大型科技商业模式包括广告收入,如谷歌搜索和 Facebook。 然后,还有与亚马逊及其卖家一样的佣金,以及其他不同的方法。 简而言之,大型科技让每个人都能获得必需品,同时让成功的人为其他人支付费用。
  • 广泛的功能 – 通过迭代和增量开发,大型科技公司还能够提供比其他方式更多的任何特定服务的功能。 这是因为这些公司拥有深厚的流动性、庞大的工程师和开发人员队伍以及付费客户。
  • 优化服务 – 这就是大数据因大数据而大放异彩的地方。 鉴于数据存储、计算能力和带宽的价格不断下降,大型科技公司可以利用人工智能带来的新机遇来创造更好的产品。

    这可能意味着优化他们的服务以更好地为个人用户服务,以及发现使用模式、人口统计数据和其他支持人工智能的结果,从而更容易提供更好的服务并赚取更多收入。
  • 高效的研发 – 大科技的另一个好处是他们在研发方面的长期投资。 通过利用其可观的收入,科技巨头对未来的投资比传统公司要远得多。 结果是不断改进、多样化或更便宜的产品和服务。
  • 好稳定的工作 – 大型科技公司无疑是工程师、开发人员、经理和其他创意人才找到稳定和有利可图的工作的最佳场所。 他们不仅薪水很高,而且还通过提供最好的员工福利来竞争。 亚马逊除外。

大科技的危险

毫无疑问,大科技的巨大社会力量、财富和计算资源使它们对整个社会构成潜在危险。 每家公司都有自己的长处和短处,因此它们所带来的风险并不一致。

然而,以下是对大型科技公司对整个世界构成的主要威胁的总结:

  • 他们什么都知道 – 大多数科技公司都知道你住在哪里、在哪里工作以及你喜欢什么。 例如,谷歌可能会先于您知道您的妻子、女朋友或女儿何时怀孕。 像亚马逊这样的其他人可能会从您的生活方式购买中知道您可能或实际上有多健康。
  • 危险数据 – 如果您是来自亚洲或中东国家的顶级政治家,那么您不想整天都在 Facebook 上。 因为您的数据很容易落入坏人之手,并可能危及您的国家安全。 权力和地位较低的人也是如此。
  • 数据隐私 – 虽然不同国家对个人隐私采取不同的方法,但欧洲通用数据保护条例 (GDPR) 仍然是地球上最严格的安全和隐私法。 事实是,大型科技公司试图尽可能地规避这些法律。
  • 竞争对手歧视 – 业务可能是残酷的,因此这些大型科技公司的庞大规模让您知道他们多年来对竞争对手的残酷程度。 有些人甚至压制了伟大的产品,比如苹果公司收购了德国 Emagic GmbH 并扼杀了他们为 Windows 平台开发的令人惊叹的 Logic Audio。 这很简单,因此您只能在 Macintosh 上获得它。 一个恶魔般的举动。 😈
  • 金钱腐败 ——这个大家都知道,这里就不多说了。
  • 垄断 – Apple Inc. 于 2014 年收购了“Beats by Dr. Dre”,将这位老派说唱歌手推向了亿万富翁的净资产评级。 有趣的是,虽然这些耳机和耳塞售价数百美元,但据报道它们的制作成本仅为 15 美元。
  • 推特革命 – 从阿拉伯之春到 2021 年 XNUMX 月的美国国会大厦暴动,以及无数其他社会动荡、公民不服从暴动以及随之而来的人员伤亡,社交媒体一直对一切负责。 在这个媒体列表的顶部是 Twitter。
  • 言论自由和社会控制 – 当一个或几个人有权从他们的平台上禁止任何帐户或删除任何团体或政治运动时,他们拥有比大多数普通政府官员更多的权力。 唯一的问题是 他们不是被选举来履行其职能的。

政客们对大型科技公司一无所知

对大型科技公司进行严格监管的理由很明确。 但是,当谈到这些科技巨头的绝对权力、能力、影响力和现实世界的影响力时,普通的政治家是一无所知的。 要设想一个拥有大量金钱和计算能力的高管可以做什么,需要对计算机和技术有充分的了解。

尽管如此,只有政治家才有能力控制大型科技公司。 一些行业需要更严格的监管,一些公司需要分拆以促进更好的竞争,等等。 但与此同时,大型科技公司正在花费数百万美元游说这些立法者。

中国和俄罗斯等其他国家采取了更残酷的做法,简单地禁止部分大型科技服务在本国运营。

大科技的未来

如果可以借鉴过去的教训,那么技术将继续在我们的生活中发挥重要作用。 但是,该角色是由大型科技公司还是由不同的组织结构管理,则是完全不同的问题。

大科技是资本主义的产物,所以它只能像我们今天所知的那样,在一个相对安全和经济稳定的资本主义社会中蓬勃发展。 改变这些基本变量中的任何一个,大型科技公司在那个地理区域都没有机会。

中国和俄罗斯等东方国家拥有巧妙的创新者和许多令人印象深刻的本土技术。 然而,例如,与西方政府不同的是,中国领导层更积极地参与了国内科技公司的运营。 例如,这使得像阿里巴巴这样的公司变成了一种略有不同的科技巨头。

在非洲,与地球其他地区相比,技术创新相对较低,政界人士很少或根本不努力提供在其他地方被视为理所当然的基本基础设施。 如果没有稳定的电力、廉价的带宽和低息资本,即使是最聪明的创始人也几乎不可能创办一家初创公司并将其发展成为一家大型科技公司。

随着俄罗斯军队于 2023 年 200 月袭击乌克兰,加密行业在短时间内损失了超过 XNUMX 亿美元的价值。 虽然没有人知道这场冲突会持续多久或会变成什么样,但一个明显的事实是,大型科技的未来取决于一个地区的政治格局。

这归结为资本主义及其所有信条。 当然,随着投资者寻求可靠的押注,大多数大型科技股都被高估了。 但正如股市所显示的那样,今天的许多科技巨头可能会在 10 到 15 年内成为自己的影子。 原因很简单,新发明和颠覆是推动科技行业变革的引擎。

总而言之,帕累托原则向我们表明,自然从来都不是全面的——总会有少数人控制着任何社会的许多价值观。 正如大型制药公司和其他理论所表明的那样,大型科技公司可能会一直存在。 多年来,只有球员可能会改变。

著名的大型科技高管

如果没有幕后的男男女女,大型科技公司本身就什么都不是。 从任何组织的创新到营销和成长阶段,最重要的是其管理质量。

因此,这里列出了一些最著名的科技行业先驱和领导者,他们帮助引导他们的公司盈利或将他们变成科技巨头。

  • 杰夫·贝佐斯 – 亚马逊的创始人和领导者
  • 伊隆麝香 ——特斯拉投资人兼CEO
  • 拉里·佩奇 – 谷歌联合创始人兼前谷歌 & Alphabet Inc. 首席执行官
  • 埃里克·施密德 – 谷歌公司第一任首席执行官
  • 马云 ——阿里巴巴创始人兼总裁
  • Steve Jobs – 苹果公司的联合创始人和苹果崇拜的首席大师
  • 比尔·盖茨 – 微软联合创始人和前首席执行官
  • 杰克·多西 – 有争议的 Twitter 创始人兼首席执行官
  • 谢尔盖·布林 ——谷歌联合创始人、Alphabet Inc. 前总裁
  • 拉里埃里森 – 甲骨文创始人兼首席执行官
  • 蒂姆·库克 ——苹果公司首席执行官
  • 马克·扎克伯格 – Facebook (Meta) 创始人兼首席执行官
  • 萨蒂亚纳德拉 – 微软现任 CEO

结论

在这篇文章的结尾,您已经看到了比世界上大多数政府赚更多钱的公司。 你也看到了他们做了什么以及他们是如何做到的。

最后,由你来决定对大科技和你的生活的看法。 可以肯定的是,集中的市场力量对任何社会都是危险的,因为它扭曲了资本主义和民主的好处。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Big tech companies: The advantages, the danger & the future

Big tech refers to huge technological companies with millions of daily users. But, are they beneficial or dangerous to society at large? We take a look here.

Big tech companies are multi-national corporations that own assets around the world, often earn billions in revenue, and make lots of impact on the daily lives of their users.

Most big tech firms were disruptors as startups – they changed their respective industries by implementing new ways of getting things done. Then, they eventually grew into large and powerful organizations, but without the necessary political responsibilities.

GAMAM stands for Google, Amazon, Meta, Apple, and Microsoft, as they are your typical big tech companies. However, the characteristics of big tech are not limited to them alone, because there are many other companies on the same path. This post looks at them all.

How Big is Big Tech?

Consider that a country like Denmark has an estimated 2021 GDP of about $290 billion. Also consider that Bulgaria had an estimated $78 billion, with Panama at $60 billion, New Zealand at $247 billion, and Jamaica at $15 billion. The GDP or Gross Domestic Product is the sum of all the value created by a group of people or a country in a given year.

Country2021 GDP2016 Government Revenue
1.Poland$655 billion$236 billion
2.Slovenia$60.9 billion$20 billion
3.New Zealand$247 billion$72 billion
4.Kuwait$132 billion$61 billion
5.Pakistan$286 billion$43 billion
6.Romania$287 billion$72 billion

Table 1.

Now take a look at Table 2 below to consider the revenues of the world’s largest technology companies in 2021, as well as their market cap figures. Market cap or capitalization is the total value of a company’s shares, calculated by multiplying the stock’s price with the total number of shares.

CompanySector /Products2021 Revenue Market Cap
1.AmazonRetail, cloud computing$470 billion$1.7 trillion
2.AppleConsumer electronics, software$275 billion$2.7 trillion
3.SamsungConsumer electronics, software$200 billion$417 billion
4.AlphabetSearch, Google, YouTube$182 billion$1.7 trillion
5.FoxconnHardware maker$181 billion$51 billion
6.MicrosoftSoftware$143 billion$2.2 trillion
8.HuaweiConsumer electronics, software$129 billion
9.DellComputer hardware$92 billion$45 billion
10MetaSoftware, Facebook, Instagram$85 billion$589 billion
11.SonyConsumer electronics, software$84 billion$129 billion
12.TencentVideo games, entertainment$70 billion$567 billion
13.TeslaElectric cars, lithium batteries$54 billion$870 billion

Table 2.

It should be obvious from Table 2 above that many of the world’s largest tech companies earn more revenue, and eventually profits than many of the world’s geopolitical entities or countries. And in a world increasingly controlled by capital flow, these high levels of income make big tech companies potentially dangerous. This is because they have the resources to pursue a wide range of interests, and to also mitigate most obstacles along the way.

The Cambridge Analytica Scandal

The apparent danger of having a single commercial entity managing records of millions of users became apparent to the public with the Cambridge Analytica Scandal.

As details emerged of how Facebook Inc. enabled Cambridge Analytica to harvest data from 87 million Facebook profiles without their consent, and for political reasons, everyday users began to show concern about how big tech uses the information they collect.

Asides from business use, tech companies should also protect their user’s data from malicious actors. But as the sensational Sony PlayStation Network hack of 2011 shows, many tech companies do not do enough. The hacker made away with the personal information of 70 million users, including their credit card numbers.

Advantages of Big Tech

There are many advantages and helpful features that big tech companies bring into our lives. Most modern lifestyles even depend on a combination of services from big tech companies. Here are some:

  • Easy Access – Big tech companies make it easy for average people to access services that would have otherwise been impossible. Starting from the free but highly efficient Google search engine from the 1990s to social networks, cloud computing, and numerous other personal and business services.

    The business model here is often the freemium model, where some of the service’s features are offered for free, while those who pay a premium get premium services in addition. A big example here is Google Cloud Computing and Amazon Web Services.

    Other big tech business models include ad revenue as is with Google Search and Facebook. Then, there are also commissions as with Amazon and its sellers, as well as other varied methods. In a nutshell, big tech makes necessities available to everyone, while allowing the successful ones to cover the costs for others.
  • Extensive Features – Through iterative and incremental development, big tech is also able to offer more features of any particular service than you would otherwise get. This comes as a result of the companies’ deep liquidity, a vast army of engineers and developers, as well as paying customers.
  • Optimized Services – This is where big tech shines because of big data. Given the continually decreasing prices of data storage, computing power, and bandwidth, big tech companies can leverage new opportunities from artificial intelligence to create better products.

    This could mean optimizing their services to better serve individual users, as well as discovering usage patterns, demographics, and other AI-enabled results that make it easier to provide a better service and earn more.
  • Efficient Research & Development – Another benefit of big tech is their long-term investments in research and development. By leveraging their solid incomes, the tech giants invest much farther into the future than conventional corporations would. The result is continuously better, diverse, or cheaper products and services.
  • Good & Stable Jobs – Big tech corporations are no doubt the best places for engineers, developers, managers, and other creative talents to find stable and profitable jobs. Not only do they pay very well, but they also compete by offering the best employee perks. Except maybe, Amazon.

Dangers of Big Tech

There is no doubt that the vast social power, wealth, and computational resources of big tech make them potentially dangerous to society at large. Each company has its strengths and weaknesses, so the risks they pose are not uniform across the board.

The following, however, is a summary of the major threats that big tech companies pose to the world at large:

  • They know Everything – Most tech companies know where you live, where you work, and the things you like. Google, for instance, may first know when your wife, girlfriend, or daughter gets pregnant before you. Others like Amazon might know how healthily you may be or actually are, from your lifestyle purchases.
  • Dangerous Data – If you are a top politician from an Asian or middle-eastern country, then you don’t want to be on Facebook all day. Because your data can easily land in the wrong hands and possibly jeopardize your national security. The same goes for people of lesser power and status.
  • Data Privacy – While different countries have different approaches to the privacy of individuals, the European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) remains the toughest security and privacy law on the planet. The truth is, big tech tries to circumvent these laws as much as possible.
  • Competitor Discrimination – Business can be brutal, so the sheer size of these big tech corporations lets you know how brutal they have been to their competitors over the years. Some even go as far as suppressing great products, like when Apple Inc. bought the German Emagic GmbH and killed the development of their amazing Logic Audio for the Windows platform. This was simply so you can only get it on a Macintosh. A devilish move. 😈
  • Money Corrupts – Everyone knows this one, so not much to say here.
  • Monopoly – Apple Inc. bought ‘Beats by Dr. Dre’ in 2014, sending the old-school rapper to billionaire net worth ratings. The funny thing is that while these headphones and earbuds sell for hundreds of dollars, they cost just a reported $15 to make.
  • Twitter Revolutions – Social media has been responsible for everything from the Arab Spring to the U.S. Capitol insurrection of January 2021, and countless other social unrests, civil disobedience riots, and their accompanying human casualties. At the top of this media list is Twitter.
  • Free Speech & Social Control – When one or a few people have the right to ban any account or delete any group or political movement from their platform, then they have more powers than most ordinary government officials. The only problem is that they are not elected to their functions.

Politicians Are Clueless About Big Tech

The case for serious regulation of big tech is clear. But the average politician is clueless when it comes to the sheer power, capability, reach, and real-world clout of these tech behemoths. It takes a sound understanding of computers and technology to envision what an executive with lots of money and computing power can do.

Still, it is only the politicians that have the power to keep big tech in check. Some industry sectors need tighter regulations, some companies need to break up to foster better competition, and so on. But in the meantime, big tech is spending millions of dollars lobbying these lawmakers.

Other countries like China and Russia have taken more brutal approaches and simply banned select big tech services from operating in their countries.

The Future With Big Tech

If lessons from the past are anything to go by, then technology will continue to play a major role in our lives. But whether that role is managed by big tech or a different organizational structure is an entirely different issue.

Big tech is a product of capitalism, so it can only thrive as we know it today in a capitalist society with relative security and a stable economy. Change any of these basic variables and big tech has no chance in that geographical region.

Eastern countries like China and Russia have ingenious innovators and lots of impressive indigenous technologies. However, unlike western governments, for instance, the Chinese leadership takes a more active part in the operations of their domestic tech companies. And this makes a company like Alibaba, for instance, become a slightly different kind of tech giant.

In Africa, where technological innovation is relatively low compared to the rest of the planet, politicians make little or no effort to provide the basic infrastructure that is taken for granted elsewhere. Without constant electricity, cheap bandwidth, and access to low-interest capital, it becomes a near impossibility for even the smartest of founders to launch and grow a startup into a big tech company.

As Russian troops attacked Ukraine in February 2023, the crypto industry lost over $200 billion in value within a short period. And while no one knows how long this conflict might last or what might become of it, one obvious fact is that the future of big tech depends on the political landscape of a territory.

This boils down to capitalism and all its tenets. Surely, most big tech shares are overvalued as investors seek out sure bets. But as the stock markets have shown, many of today’s tech giants may become a shadow of themselves in 10 to 15 years. The simple reason being that new inventions and disruptions are the engines that drive change in the tech industry.

In summary, the Pareto Principle shows us that nature is never even across the board – there will always be a few that control the many values of any society. And as the big pharma and other theories show, big tech companies will probably always be around. Only the players might change over the years.

Notable Big Tech Executives

The big tech companies on their own are nothing without the men and women that run the show behind the scenes. From the innovations to marketing and growth stages of any organization, it is the quality of its management that matters the most.

So, here is a list of some of the most notable tech industry pioneers and leaders, who have helped to either steer their companies profitably or turn them into tech giants.

  • Jeff Bezos – Founder and leader of Amazon
  • Elon Musk – Investor & CEO of Tesla
  • Larry Page – Google co-founder and former CEO of Google & Alphabet Inc.
  • Eric Schmid – First CEO of Google Inc.
  • Jack Ma – Founder and chief of Alibaba
  • Steve Jobs – Co-founder of Apple Inc. and chief guru of the Apple cult
  • Bill Gates – Microsoft co-founder and former chief
  • Jack Dorsey – Controversial Twitter founder and chief
  • Sergei Brin – Google co-founder and former president of Alphabet Inc.
  • Larry Ellison – Oracle founder and chief
  • Tim Cook – CEO of Apple Inc.
  • Mark Zuckerberg – Founder and chief of Facebook (Meta)
  • Satya Nadella – Current CEO of Microsoft

Conclusion

Reaching the end of this post, you have seen the companies that make more money than the majority of governments around the world. And you have also seen what they do and how they do it.

In the end, it is up to you to make up your mind about big tech and your life. One thing for sure is that concentrated market power is dangerous to any society, as it skews the benefits of capitalism and democracy.

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using
Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Articles: 177

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.