WordPress 与 11ty:哪个更好?

11ty 是另一个基于 JavaScript 的静态网站生成器,但它与 WordPress 相比如何创建网站? 在这里查看统计数据。

如果您陷入了 WordPress 与 11ty 的辩论,那么您并不孤单。 静态网站的日益普及正在挑战 WordPress 在网站开发市场的主导地位,网站管理员也注意到了这一点。

Eleventy 或 11ty,是一个静态站点生成器,就像 盖茨比 和杰基尔。 但与运行在 Ruby 上的 Jekyll 不同,11ty 运行在 JavaScript 引擎 Node.js 上。 与盖茨比的复杂性不同,11ty 保持简单。

11ty 让创建一个 果酱栈 网站,这有足够的优势让任何 WordPress 管理员都想切换。

然而,问题仍然存在,是否值得切换到 11ty,尤其是当您只需要一个简单的博客时。 这篇文章比较了这两个平台,以帮助您做出决定。

WordPress vs 11ty 对比表

WordPress11ty
底层技术:PHP,MySQLNode.js的
生成的页面类型:动态静止
页面速度和 SEO:一般最棒的
定制选项:最棒的一般
安全问题和可破解性:一般最棒的
运行成本:降低
用户界面和模板:更好一般
CMS 选项:所见即所得“纯文本”

基础技术

回到 1980 年代和 90 年代,网站主要是静态的,但使用 PHP 和其他工具的服务器端脚本出现了,动态网站诞生了。 这催生了 Drupal 和 WordPress 等平台,生产力也随之爆发式增长。

但是今天,事情正朝着相反的方向发展,因为网站正在迁移到 JAMstack(JavaScrip、API 和标记堆栈)。 这些新环境通常基于云且无服务器。 您所需要的只是一个简单的 HTML 服务器来将您网站的静态页面提供给访问者。

因此,虽然您需要一个 PHP 和 MySQL 服务器,以及一个像 Apache 这样的 HTTP 服务器来运行 WordPress 安装,但运行 11ty 站点所需要的只是一个 HTML 服务器。

当然,您还需要 11ty 站点生成器,包括一个工作的 Node.js 引擎,但这应该在您的开发机器或笔记本电脑上。 它不是服务器环境的一部分。

生成的页面类型

WordPress 生成动态页面,而 11ty 生成静态页面。 对于动态页面,有关特定 Web 请求的所有可用信息都从数据库中提取、处理并传递给请求者——站点访问者的 Web 浏览器。

11ty 生成静态页面,预渲染并存储在网站上可公开访问的文件夹中。 这使得页面易于为请求者提供服务,但它也使所有页面都相似。 因此,没有像动态页面那样进行自定义。

例如,博客文章大多是静态内容,因为它们被创作一次并被所有读者查看。 另一方面,对帖子的评论及其回复是动态的。 您需要像 Disqus 这样的外部服务来在静态站点上实现相同的 WordPress 评论功能。

页面速度和搜索引擎优化

毫无疑问,11ty 是这里的赢家,因为静态网站的加载速度比 WordPress 等动态平台快得多。 不需要计算,不需要查询数据库,也不需要格式化。

静态网站上的每个页面都可以提供服务。 这一点尤其重要,因为页面加载速度是一个重要的 SEO 指标和排名因素。

定制化选项

WordPress 在定制方面的排名优于 11ty,因为它拥有庞大而繁荣的社区,它提供了您将需要的所有插件。

此外,这些插件比从静态站点生成器(如 11ty)获得的插件更易于使用。 只需指向并单击,因为配置大多基于鼠标,这是 11ty 无法获得的奢侈品。

但是,如果您拥有技术知识,或者您可以聘请 11ty 专家,那么您可以使用该平台创建的内容没有限制。

安全问题和可破解性

WordPress 网站每天都会收到数量惊人的暴力破解和其他黑客攻击。 原因很简单,另一端有一个服务器,它通过网络接收和处理命令。

对于纯静态网站,没有服务器来处理登录命令。 因此,理论上恶意黑客无法访问系统。 事实上,没有系统可以访问。

当然,当您在 Internet 上运行网站时,总会存在一定的风险。 尽管如此,标准的 Eleventy 网站的黑客安全性还是标准的 WordPress 网站的一千倍。

运营成本

如果您获得大量网络流量,动态网站可能会使用大量资源。 许多 WordPress 插件,例如 WP-Rocket 和 W3 Total Cache 试图通过缓存服务器的输出来解决这个问题。

缓存意味着存储频繁请求页面的静态版本并在不执行 PHP 或 MySQL 的情况下提供一段时间。 这减少了页面加载时间和整体服务器运行成本。

但是,使用静态网站,您可以获得比缓存的 WordPress 页面更好的性能。

用户界面和模板

WordPress 社区提供了几乎无限的主题和插件,从免费到高级。 这使得很容易让一个漂亮的网站立即启动并运行。

另一方面,11ty 提供了一种非常灵活的定制方法。 您可以在开发模板时使用 Markdown、HTML、JavaScript、Liquid、Haml、Mustache 或 Nunjucks,也可以在一个文件中同时使用它们。

这是一种非常强大的方法,具有很大的未来潜力。 但是目前,没有足够的预先设计的模板或主题来与 WordPress 竞争。

CMS 选项

在管理网站内容方面,WordPress 也超过了 11ty。 与大多数静态站点生成器一样,11ty 将每个页面的原始内容作为纯文本存储在给定目录中,最终构建从该目录开始。

这可以在您的本地计算机或网络上,例如 GitHub。 例如,内容创建者还需要了解 Markdown、Liquid 或其他模板语言来创建格式良好的博客文章。 因此,与带有所见即所得编辑器的 WordPress 相比,11ty 的用户友好性较差。

结论

我们已经完成了 WordPress 与 11ty 的比较,正如您所见,这是针对不同类型人群的两种不同工具。

WordPress 适用于所有人,包括编码人员和非编码人员,而 11ty 至少适用于编码人员或 JavaScript 开发人员。

您可以使用这两个平台构建大多数网站类型。 但 WordPress 更适合投资最少的简单博客和一般网站,而 11ty 更适合具有专门开发人员的高度优化网站。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

WordPress vs 11ty: Which is better?

By

11ty is another static site generator based on JavaScript, but how does it compare to WordPress for website creation? See the stats here.

If you are caught in the WordPress vs 11ty debate, you are not alone. The increasing popularity of static sites is challenging WordPress’s dominance of the website development market and webmasters are noticing.

Eleventy or 11ty, is a static site generator just like Gatsby and Jekyll. But unlike Jekyll that runs on Ruby, 11ty runs on Node.js, a JavaScript engine. And unlike Gatsby with its complexity, 11ty keeps it simple.

11ty makes it as easy as possible to create a JAMstack site and this comes with enough advantages to make any WordPress admin want to switch.

The question, however, remains if the switch to 11ty will be worth it, especially when all you need is a simple blog. This post compares the two platforms to help you decide.

WordPress vs 11ty comparison table

WordPress11ty
Underlying technology:PHP, MySQLNode.js
Type of page generated:DynamicStatic
Page speed & SEO:AverageBest
Customization options:BestAverage
Security concerns & hackability:AverageBest
Running cost:LowLower
User Interface & Templates:BetterAverage
CMS Options:WYSIWYGPlain text

Underlying Technology

Back in the 1980s and 90s, websites were mainly static, but server-side scripting using PHP and other tools came along and the dynamic website was born. This gave rise to platforms such as Drupal and WordPress and productivity exploded.

But today, things are going the other way round, as sites are migrating to JAMstack (JavaScrip, APIs, and Markup stack). These new environments are often cloud-based and server-less. All you need is a simple HTML server to deliver your site’s static pages to visitors.

So, while you will need a PHP and MySQL server, with an HTTP server like Apache to run a WordPress installation, all you need to run an 11ty site is an HTML server.

Of course, you will also need the 11ty site generator, including a working Node.js engine, but that should be on your development machine or laptop. It is not part of the server environment.

Type of Page Generated

WordPress generates dynamic pages while 11ty generates static pages. With dynamic pages, all the available information about a specific web request is pulled from the database, processed, and delivered to the requester – the site visitor’s web browser.

11ty generates static pages, are pre-rendered and stored on a publicly accessible folder on the website. This makes the pages easy to serve to the requester, but it also makes all pages similar. So, there is no customization, as is possible with dynamic pages.

Blog posts, for instance, are mostly static content because they are authored once and viewed by all readers. Comments on the post and their replies, on the other hand, are dynamic. You would need an external service like Disqus to achieve the same WordPress comment features on a static site.

Page speed & SEO

11ty is, without doubt, the winner here because static sites load much faster than dynamic platforms like WordPress. There are no calculations to compute, no databases to query, and nothing to format.

Every page on a static website is ready to be served. This is especially important because page-load speed is an important SEO metric and ranking factor.

Customization Options

WordPress ranks better than 11ty when it comes to customization because of its large and thriving community, which has provided all the plugins you will ever need.

Besides, these plugins are easier to use than what you will get from a static site generator such as 11ty. Just point and click, as the configurations are mostly mouse-based, a luxury you won’t get with 11ty.

If you have the technical know-how, though, or if you can hire an 11ty expert, then there is no limit to what you can create with the platform.

Security concerns and hackability

WordPress sites receive an astonishing amount of brute-force and other hack attacks every day. The simple reason being that there is a server on the other end, which is receiving and processing commands over the web.

With a purely static website, there is no server to process login commands. So, there is theoretically no way a malicious hacker can gain access to the system. In truth, there is no system to gain access to.

Of course, there will always be a certain amount of risk when you are running a website on the Internet. Still, a standard Eleventy website is a thousand times more hacker-secure than a standard WordPress site.

Running Costs

Dynamic websites can use huge resources if you are getting loads of web traffic. Many WordPress plugins such as WP-Rocket and W3 Total Cache try to solve this problem by caching the server’s output.

Caching means storing a static version of frequently requested pages and serving it for some time without PHP or MySQL execution. This reduces the page-load times and overall server running costs.

With a static website, however, you get even better performance than cached WordPress pages.

User Interface and Templates

The WordPress community provides a nearly infinite supply of themes and plugins, ranging from free to premium. This makes it very easy to get a nice-looking website up and running in no time.

11ty on the other hand offers a very flexible approach to customization. You can either use Markdown, HTML, JavaScript, Liquid, Haml, Mustache, or Nunjucks in developing your template, or you can use them all together in one file.

This is a very powerful approach with lots of future potentials. But for the moment, there’s just not enough pre-designed templates or themes to compete with WordPress.

CMS Options

WordPress also beats 11ty when it comes to managing website content. As with most static site generators, 11ty stores each page’s raw content as plain text in a given directory, from where the final build takes place.

This can be on your local machine or the web, for instance, GitHub. The content creator also needs a knowledge of Markdown, Liquid, or other template languages to create a well-formatted blog post, for instance. So, compared to WordPress with its WYSIWYG editor, 11ty is less user-friendly.

Conclusion

We have reached the end of this WordPress vs 11ty comparison and as you can see, these are two different tools for different types of people.

WordPress is for everyone, including coders and non-coders alike, while 11ty is for coders or JavaScript devs, at the very least.

You can build most website types with the two platforms. But WordPress is better for simple blogs and general sites with minimum investment, while 11ty is better for highly optimized sites with a dedicated developer.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Leave a Comment