了解初创公司的融资轮次

试图了解哪些融资轮次或哪一轮适合您的创业公司? 这里有你需要知道的一切。

创业绝对不是开玩笑!

想象一下,与您的团队进行长时间的头脑风暴,为市场打造完美的产品,处理大量数据和数据库,以使只有您能在脑海中看到的品牌栩栩如生。

您是否曾经尝试为您的创业公司获得资金,但对 A 轮融资、种子轮融资等术语感到困惑? 

然后,本文将消除您对这些术语在为您的企业寻找资金方面的含义的不确定性。 您需要大量资金来为您的业务提供资金,这就是投资者进来的地方。

无论行业如何,企业都需要多项资本投资才能发展、扩张和充分发挥潜力。 无论是初创公司还是老牌公司,每家企业都有不同类型的资本金。 

企业的成长阶段和估值决定了投资者愿意投入多少。 这些被称为融资轮次。 通常,初创公司和新企业由家人和朋友资助(引导) 但为了扩大和继续测试他们的市场,他们需要更多的融资。 

本次融资由 天使投资人风险投资公司 谁将评估业务的可行性,并对其潜力进行评估。 

每一轮融资都取决于企业的成长阶段。 例如,尚未开始运营或仍处于产品开发和测试阶段的企业将寻求种子前资金。 根据行业和业务,这些轮次可以在一个月到六个月内完成。

初创企业是高风险企业,没有确定的市场生存证据,因此银行不给他们贷款。 对于任何不了解融资轮次的企业家来说,获得投资者都是很困难的。

什么是融资轮?

一轮融资只是从风险资本家那里为企业寻找投资的时期,以扩大、开发您的产品以适应市场口味,或者只是为了让您的商业理念启动并运行。 由于银行贷款是不可能的,因此最好的选择是风险投资家,例如天使投资人和风险投资公司。 

通常,这些轮次由一两家公司牵头,然后其他公司紧随其后。 这就像如果一个企业家成功地吸引了一个投资者,他的存在就会吸引其他投资者对该业务的兴趣。 

天使投资人 是为具有高潜力的早期公司提供资金以换取股权的个人。 这些通常是高风险业务,因为在早期阶段,他们通常没有任何业绩记录来证明他们的盈利能力甚至长期在市场上的生存。 

除了资金之外,他们还提供其他好处,例如专业知识、人脉、业务指导和支持。

风险投资公司 最感兴趣的是为企业的长期潜力融资以换取股权。 

寻找投资人时该怎么做?

  • 评估您的业务当前的增长阶段。
  • 进行市场调查并根据可验证的数据确定您需要多少才能进入下一阶段。
  • 选择最适合您业务的风险投资家。
  • 创建一个有趣的音高甲板。
  • 寻找机会向潜在投资者推销您的商业理念和网络。
  • 跟进您的演示,在回合后建立稳固的业务关系。
  • 记录您的过程并重复。

不同类型的启动资金轮次?

种子轮、种子轮、A 轮、B 轮、C 轮、D 轮、E 轮和 F 轮融资。

种子轮融资

就像在农业中,在播种前准备好种子一样,这是为企业起步提供资金。 在这一点上,被资助的业务几乎没有任何吸引力,它主要只是一个出售给投资者的“想法”。 这是企业在早期阶段从投资者那里获得的首批资金之一。

一些初创公司在寻求此类资金时,只有 MVP 或产品原型用于市场测试(和验证)。 通常是短期融资,金额从 150,000 美元到 500,000 美元不等。 尽管一些初创公司如尼日利亚的 Spleet 筹集了 625,000 美元,而 Chatterbox 成功筹集了 1.5 万欧元的种子前融资。

但是,值得注意的是,该类别的企业必须具有较高的盈利潜力才能吸引投资者的兴趣。 它还必须是可以通过新融资进行扩展的。

天使投资人大多投资于早期创业公司,以换取所有权百分比。 

种子资金

这是下一轮融资。 在这个阶段,该业务已经获得了一些牵引力,但仍处于产品开发和测试过程中。 它还没有真正为市场提供那种“完美”的产品。 

这个阶段的风险还是很大的,因为企业对市场的经验很少,可能无法进入下一个阶段。 

种子资金主要用于进行市场调查,进一步测试产品并进行调整以适应市场需求,并填补组织中的关键职位。

根据行业的不同,如果企业太年轻而无法发行股票或希望将估值推迟到进一步的轮次,则该企业可能会向投资者发行可转换债券或简单的未来股权协议 (SAFE)。

根据个别行业的需求,资金约为 3 万至 30 万美元。 企业孵化器、加速器和天使投资人是这个阶段企业的主要投资者。

A系列资金

虽然种子轮融资用于测试和产品开发,但当企业准备好进入市场时,就会获得系列融资。 也就是说,为了扩大生产规模并建立在现有用户群的基础上,公司的所有行动现在都着眼于长期。

第一阶段称为 A 轮融资。 本轮融资用于根据之前融资的数据进行扩展。 

到这个时候,测试阶段已经结束,你现在有了一个适合市场的产品,你的产品有了实际的用户,企业已经准备好进行大规模生产。 由于其复杂性,很少有初创公司能够进入这个阶段。

投资者通常是风险投资公司或天使投资人,他们将提供 3 至 30 万美元,并期望通常在一年内获得回报。

B系列资金

在这一轮融资中,一家企业取得了一定程度的成功。 它拥有现成的用户群和巨大的增长潜力。 

处于这一阶段的公司可能需要更多的融资来多元化其目标市场、开发更多产品种类、推出新的营销策略并在国外开设更多分支机构。

一家初创公司也可能在这个水平上受到重视。 B 系列的投资通常很大,因为该业务已被证明是成功的,并且两个或更多的风险投资公司可能会选择在此阶段为其融资。 

C轮融资

由于需要巨额资金,C轮融资主要由大型风险投资公司资助。 这个阶段的公司已经很成熟,他们可能会寻求新的资金来支持他们向新领域的扩张,比如收购其他业务、推出新的产品线等等。 

对于投资者来说,这是最昂贵但最有利可图的投资之一。 它的风险也较小。 虽然,对于企业主来说,这是最困难的一轮。

D、E 和 F 系列资金

大多数企业停止在 C 轮寻求投资融资,因为到那时,该公司已经很成熟,可以为自己的收入来源。 然而,少数几家坚持 D 轮及以后的公司正在寻求在市场上获得全球认可。 因此,他们需要更多的资金和投资者的合作伙伴关系。

在结论

要知道哪轮融资最适合您的创业公司,您必须首先确定增长水平,然后适当计划将您的商业理念推销给潜在投资者。 因为毫无疑问,每家初创公司都需要外部融资,以便随着时间的推移扩大规模。

了解启动融资的运作方式将使您更好地适应投资者空间。 因此,现在您可以开始计划如何在其他人的薪水中将您的业务加速到一个新的水平。 筹款在某些时候可能很困难,但如果得到肯定会得到很好的回报。

Joy Gabriel

Joy Gabriel

乔伊热衷于通过她的著作帮助初创企业和企业充分发挥潜力。 作为一名商业战略家和财务专家,她明白在创业领域意味着什么。 她不工作时喜欢做饭和唱歌。
您可以通过以下方式与她联系 LinkedIn.

文章:20

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Understanding funding rounds for startups

Trying to understand what funding rounds are or which one is suitable for your startup? Here are all that you need to know.

Starting a business is definitely no joke!

Imagine all the long hours of brainstorming with your team to build the perfect product for the market, crunching up large figures and databases in a bid to bring to life the brand that only you can see in your head.

Have you ever tried to secure funding for your startup and got confused with such terms as series A, pre-seed funding round, and the like? 

Then this article will clear your uncertainty about what these terms mean in relation to sourcing funds for your business. You need serious capital to fund your business and that’s where investors come in.

Businesses need several capital investments to be able to grow, expand and reach full potential, no matter the industry. There are different types of capital funding for every business whether a startup or an established company. 

The growth stage and valuation of a business determine how much investors want to put into it. These are called funding rounds. Usually, startups and new businesses are funded by family and friends (bootstrapping) but in order to expand and continue to test their market, they need more financing. 

This financing is provided by angel investors and venture capital firms who will assess the viability of the business, and place a value on its potentiality. 

Each funding round depends on the growth stage of a business. For instance, a business that hasn’t started operation yet or is still in its product development and testing stage will seek for pre-seed funding.  These rounds can be completed in anything as from a month to six months depending on the industry and the business.

Startups are high-risk ventures with no certain evidence of surviving in the market therefore, banks do not give them loans. Getting an investor would be difficult for any entrepreneur who is ignorant of what funding rounds are.

What is a funding round?

A funding round is simply a period of sourcing investment for a business from venture capitalists in order to expand, develop your product to market taste, or just to get your business idea up and running. Since bank loans are out of the picture your best bet is venture capitalists such as angel investors and venture capital firms. 

Usually, these rounds are led by one or two firms then the others follow. It’s like if an entrepreneur succeeds in getting an investor, his presence attracts other investors’ interest in the business. 

Angel investors are individuals who fund early-stage companies with high potential in exchange for equity. These are usually high-risk businesses because, at that early stage, they usually do not have any track records to prove their profitability or even survival in the market in the long term. 

They also offer other benefits asides from funding such as expertise, connections, business mentorship, and support.

Venture capital firms are mostly interested in financing the long-term potential of a business in exchange for equity. 

What to do when seeking for investors?

  • Evaluate the current growth stage of your business.
  • Conduct market research and determine how much you need to move to the next stage based on verifiable data.
  • Choose the venture capitalist that is the best fit for your business.
  • Create an interesting pitch deck.
  • Seek for opportunities to pitch your business idea and network with potential investors.
  • Follow up your presentations, build solid business relationships after rounds.
  • Document your process and repeat.

Different types of startup funding rounds?

Pre-seed, seed, series A, series B, series C, Series D, E, and F funding rounds.

Pre-seed funding round

Just like in Agriculture when a seed is prepared ahead of the planting period, this is financing for a business to get off the ground. At this point the business being funded barely has any traction yet, it is mostly just an ‘idea’ being sold to investors. It is one of the first funding a business receives from investors in its early stage.

Some startups only have an MVP or a prototype of their product for market testing (and validation), when seeking this type of funding. It is usually short term financing with amounts ranging from $150,000 to $500,000. Although some startups like Spleet in Nigeria raised $625,000 and Chatterbox succeeded in raising 1.5 million Euros pre-seed funding round.

However, it is worthy of note that businesses in this category must have a high profitability potential to be able to attract investors’ interest. It must also be one that is scalable with fresh financing.

Angel investors mostly invest in early stage startups in exchange for percentage of ownership. 

Seed funding

This is the next round of funding. At this stage, the business has gained some traction but is still under the product development and testing process. It hasn’t really gotten that ‘perfect’ product for the market yet. 

There is still so much risk at this stage because the business has little experience with the market and may not make it to the next stage. 

Seed funding is used mostly to conduct market research, further test the product and make tweaks to suit the market needs, and fill crucial positions in the organization.

Depending on the industry the business might issue convertible debt or simple agreements for future equity (SAFE) to investors, if it is too young to issue equity or wants to defer valuation till further rounds.

Funding is around $3 million to $30 million based on individual industry requirements. Business incubators, accelerators, and angel investors are the major investors for companies in this stage.

Series A funding

While seed funding rounds are used for testing and product development, series funding is gotten when a business is ready to go big into the market. That is, to scale its production and build upon existing user base, all actions of the company are now geared towards the long-term.

The first stage is called Series A funding round. This funding round is used to expand based on the data from previous financing. 

By this time the testing stage is over, you now have a market-fit product, there are actual users of your product and the business is ready for large-scale production. Not very many startups make it to this stage because of its complexities.

Investors are usually VC firms or angels who will give between $3 and $30 million and expect returns usually within a year.

Series B funding

At this funding round, a business has recorded some measure of success. It has a ready user base and a lot of growth potentials. 

A firm in this stage might need more financing to diversify its target market, develop more products variety, launch new marketing strategies and open more branches in foreign locations.

A startup might also be valued at this level. Investment at series B is usually large since the business has proven to be successful and two or more VC firms may choose to finance it at this phase. 

Series C funding

Series C rounds are mostly funded by big VC firms because of the huge capital required. Companies at this stage are already well established, they might seek new capital to sponsor their expansion into new territories like the acquisition of other business, launching fresh product lines and so on. 

It is one of the most expensive yet profitable investment for an investor. It also carries less risk. Although, it is one of the most difficult rounds for business owners.

Series D, E, and F funding

Most businesses stop seeking investment financing at series C because by then, the company is already well established and can source for its own revenue. However, the few companies that press on to round D and beyond are looking to gain global recognition in the market place. Therefore they need more capital and partnership from investors.

In conclusion

To know which funding round best suits your startup, you have to determine first the level of growth and then plan appropriately to sell your business idea to potential investors. Because definitely, every startup needs external financing at some point in order to scale and expand over time.

Understanding how startup financing works will better position you for the investor space. So now you can begin planning how to accelerate your business to the next level on other people’s paycheck. Fundraising might be difficult at some point but it sure pays well if gotten.

Joy Gabriel

Joy Gabriel

Joy is passionate about helping startups and businesses grow to their full potential through her writings. A business strategist and a Financial Expert, she understands what it means to be in the entrepreneurial space. She loves cooking and singing when she's not working.
You can connect with her via LinkedIn.

Articles: 20

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.