如何为生物技术公司获得资金

试图为您的生物技术初创公司筹集资金? 这是一篇关于如何做到这一点的综合专家文章。

为一家生物技术公司获得资金并不像看起来那么难。 的确,生物技术部门具有巨大的创新潜力,但往往受到影响其整体产出的金融和其他限制因素的限制。

因此,挑战在于如何为生物技术公司获得资金 人工智能、快速计算解决方案、软件炒作和其他技术趋势。

什么是生物技术公司? 

生物技术公司是利用生物资源和生物体创造医疗和农产品的创新公司。 这些公司被称为 生物公司 因为它们独特的过程和最终产品源自活的有机体和分子科学。 除了药品,这些公司还生产其他商业产品,如生物燃料和基因改造工艺。

近年来,作为创新技术的分支,生物技术初创公司与其他高科技初创公司一起崛起。

这是对全球医疗保健和医疗技术挑战(例如 COVID-19 全球大流行)的补充。 这些都促成了该行业快速发展的需要。 引领行业的是生物技术行业最大的公司辉瑞和强生公司。

BioTech 与制药公司有何不同? 

生物技术公司和制药公司是同一个行业,但没有什么鲜明的特点。 虽然它们都生产医疗产品,但它们的主要区别在于材料的来源。

生物技术公司的产品基础来自生物体和分子生物学,但另一方面,制药公司的药物来自人工和化学制剂。

为什么生物技术行业是独一无二的?

  1. 巨大的资金需求规模: 生物技术公司在研发活动上花费了大量资金,以便能够为市场开发药物或产品。 如此之多,以至于他们通常依赖外部资源进行大量资本投资才能运营。
  2. 长期广泛的研究: 生物技术公司进行长期研究活动,有时甚至长达数十年,只是为了创造一种新的药物或医疗技术。 由于生命科学研究的广泛性,完成一种药物并使其完全投入市场需要很长时间。
  3. 不确定的结果: 这个行业的公司存在很多风险和不确定性。 一家公司可以花费如此多的时间和资金开发一种可能永远不会奏效并因此被拒绝进入市场的药物。 投资生物技术公司需要投资者进行大量分析和计算风险承担,尤其是在押注产品开发的早期阶段时。

为生物技术公司获得资金的 5 种简单方法是

以下是为您的生物技术初创公司筹集资金的 5 种最佳方式。

1. 风险投资公司和天使投资人的早期融资

根据 Crunchbase 的数据,仅在 65.0 年,全球生物技术初创公司就筹集了 2021 亿美元。 而全球生物技术和医疗保健投资高达 120.9 亿美元。

引领该行业投资激增的包括 GL Ventures、Northpond Ventures、淡马锡控股、Lily Asia Ventures、Novo Holdings、Orbimed 和 RA 资本管理等风险投资公司。 这些风险投资公司主要为 A、B 系列、赠款、债务和可转换票据融资提供资金。

风险投资公司 and 天使投资人 仍然是科技初创公司的最佳融资选择之一,因为它们为有前途的公司提供了巨额资本融资。 2021 年 250 月,Cantessa Pharmaceuticals 筹集了 380 亿美元的 A 轮融资,并于同年 XNUMX 月完成了 XNUMX 亿美元的 IPO。

最好的部分是他们不需要抵押品或每月还款计划来为初创公司提供资金。

然而,这种融资方式的缺点是对投资回报的高利润预期,而且在很短的时间内也是如此。 风险投资公司希望在 6 个月到 1 年之间开始获得回报。 而生物技术公司在研发过程中花费了大量时间。 这会大大降低盈利能力。

2. 启动加速器和孵化器计划

业务加速器 和孵化器计划由投资公司锚定,为初创公司提供种子资金、商业指导、交流机会和技术支持。 有一些加速器专注于培养生物技术和医疗技术初创公司。 他们还为具有高增长潜力的初创公司提供早期和种子资本投资。

优点:

  • 来自行业专业人士的专家支持
  • 提供实验室空间和其他技术设备
  • 种子资本投资
  • 获得商业指导、免费的创始人社区和专业网络
  • 无需抵押即可获得资金

缺点:

  • 没收不到 50% 的股权 
  • 失去对公司的绝对控制权

3. 慈善组织和政府的研究资助

为了促进创新药物和改善医疗保健实践,BiotTch 公司可以从许多融资计划中受益。 例如,世界卫生组织 (WHO) 和政府等慈善机构设立了基金,用于资助医疗进步、新健康技术的开发以及所有成长阶段的环境产品创造。

最好的部分是,在政府或非营利组织的资助下,生物技术初创公司可以保留 100% 的股权。

优点:

  • 获得科学研究资助
  • 产品开发支持
  • 知识产权 (IP) 保护
  • 使用研究空间和技术设备 

缺点:

  • 获得此类资金的过程很繁琐,可能需要很长时间才能获得资金。

4. 学术机构资助

学术机构等机构投资者为创新科技研究提供孵化中心。 低预算的生物技术创业公司所有者可以利用学术资源,甚至获得种子资金来建立他们的业务的早期阶段。

学术界一直在努力创造更新的技术并保持领先地位,因此,新的发现和深入的研究总是受到热烈欢迎。

优点:

  • 用于研究和产品开发的种子基金
  • 学术机构通常不持有股权
  • 提供低预算人员配置
  • 其他技术资源,例如产品测试和设计实验室
  • 技术支持和建议

缺点:

  • 融资资金少于其他机构
  • 可能必须与母机构共享知识产权和专利。

5. 众筹活动

众筹现在是任何类型的初创公司或项目越来越熟悉的融资选择。 早期的生物技术初创公司可以使用不同的模式(称为股权众筹)筹集资金,在这种模式下,投资者获得公司股权的一部分,而不仅仅是为产品付费。 

2015 年,一家名为 Eyebrain 的法国神经病学公司通过众筹网站 Anaxago 筹集了 1.3 万英镑。 Capital cell 和 Medstartr 等众筹平台是股权众筹平台,旨在将 BioTechs 和 MedTechs 的融资过程缩短一半。

尽管与 VC 公司和天使相比,众筹的资金规模很小,但它的运作速度非常快,并且提供了一种获得种子资金的好方法。 尽管最近,由于运营持续时间长且风险普遍较高,对于生物技术公司众筹的实用性存在很多怀疑。

把它包起来……

就像所有其他科技公司一样,生物技术公司有很多融资选择可供选择。 正确的融资选择取决于相关公司,他们愿意失去多少控制权? 他们需要短期或长期使用的资金吗? 需要多大的资金? 他们是否需要基础设施支持? 行业建议与否?

这些以及更多将决定个别生物技术初创公司应获得资金的最佳方式。

Joy Gabriel

Joy Gabriel

乔伊热衷于通过她的著作帮助初创企业和企业充分发挥潜力。 作为一名商业战略家和财务专家,她明白在创业领域意味着什么。 她不工作时喜欢做饭和唱歌。
您可以通过以下方式与她联系 LinkedIn.

文章:20

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

How To Get Funding For A BioTech Company

Trying to raise funding for your BioTech startup? Here is a comprehensive expert article on how to do that.

Getting funding for a biotech company is not as hard as it seems. It’s true that the biotechnology sector carries vast innovative potential but is often limited by finance and other restricting factors that have affected its overall output.

So the challenge is how to get funding for biotech companies in a world of artificial intelligence, fast computing solutions, software hype, and other technology trends.

What is a biotech company? 

Biotech companies are innovative firms that create medical and agricultural products from both biological resources and living organisms. These companies are called bio-firms because of their unique processes and end-product which are derived from living organisms and molecular science. Aside from drugs, these companies also produce other commercial products such as biofuel, and genetic modification processes.

In recent times biotech startups have been on the rise alongside other high-tech startup companies as an off-shoot of innovative technology.

That is in addition to increasing global healthcare and MedTech challenges such as the COVID-19 global pandemic. These all contributed to the need for rapid development in the sector. Leading the industry are Pfizer, and Johnson and Johnson, the largest companies in the biotech industry.

How is BioTech different from a pharmaceutical company? 

Both biotech and pharmaceutical companies are sectors in the same industry but with few distinctive features. While they both produce medical products their major difference lies in the source of their materials.

Biotech companies get their product base from living organisms and molecular biology, but pharmaceuticals, on the other hand, derive their medicines from artificial and chemical agents.

Why is the biotech sector unique?

  1. Enormous scale of funding needs: Biotech companies expend so much money on research and development activities to be able to develop a drug or product for the market. So much that they generally rely on external sources for heavy capital investments to be able to operate.
  2. Long periods of extensive research: Biotech companies conduct long-term research activities sometimes spanning up to decades just to create a new drug or medical technology. Due to the extensive nature of life science researches, it takes long periods to complete a drug and get it fully market-ready.
  3. Uncertain outcomes: There is so much risk and uncertainty associated with firms in this industry. A company can spend so much time and capital developing a drug that may never work out and hence, denied entrance into the market. Investing in biotech companies takes a lot of analysis and calculative risk-taking on the part of the investor especially when placing a bet on earlier stage of product development.

5 Easy ways to get funding for a BioTech company are

Here are the 5 best ways to get funding for your BioTech startup.

1. Early-stage funding from VC firms and angel investors

According to Crunchbase data, $65.0 billion was raised by BioTech startups globally, in 2021 alone. While worldwide biotech and healthcare investment stood at a lofty $120.9 billion.

Leading this surge of investment in the sector include VC firms like GL ventures, Northpond ventures, Temasek holdings, Lily Asia ventures, Novo Holdings, Orbimed, and RA capital management. These venture capital firms funded mostly series A, B, grant, debt, and convertible note financing.

Venture capital firms and angel investors remain one of the best financing options for tech startups because of the huge capital financing they sink into promising companies. In February 2021, Cantessa pharmaceuticals raised $250 million series A funding round and went on to complete a $380 million IPO in June that same year.

The best part is that they do not require collateral or monthly repayment plans to fund a startup.

However, the downside of this type of funding is the high-profit expectation of returns placed on investment and in a very short time too. VC firms expect to start reaping their returns anything between 6months and 1 year. Whereas biotechs use a lot of time in their R&D process. This can slow down profitability drastically.

2. Startup accelerators and incubator programs

Business accelerator and incubator programs are anchored by investment firms that provide seed funding, business mentorship, networking opportunities, and technical support for startup companies. There are certain accelerators focused on raising biotech and MedTech startups. They also provide early-stage and seed capital investment for high-growth potential startups.

Pros:

  • Expert support from industry professionals
  • Provision of Laboratory spaces and other technical equipment
  • Seed-Capital investment
  • Access to business mentorship, free founder communities and professional networks
  • No collateral required to access funding

Cons:

  • Forfeiture of less than 50% equity stake 
  • Loss of absolute control over the company

3. Research grants from charity organizations and government

In a bid to boost innovative medicines and improve health care practices, there are so many financing initiatives that BiotTch companies can benefit from. For example, there are funds set by charitable bodies like the World Health Organization (WHO) and governments to sponsor medical advancement, the development of new health technologies, and environmental products creation at all growth stages.

The best part is that BioTech startups get to keep 100% of their equity when funded by the government or nonprofits.

Pros:

  • Access to scientific research grants
  • Product development support
  • Intellectual property (IP) protection
  • Access to research spaces and technical equipment 

Cons:

  • The process of getting this type of funding is tedious and it may take a long time to get funded.

4. Academic institutional grants

Institutional investors such as academic institutions provide incubation centers for innovative scientific and technological research. Low-budget biotech startup owners can leverage academic resources and even get access to seed funding to build the early stages of their business.

The world of academia is always trying to create newer technologies and stay ahead of trends, hence, novel discoveries and intensive research is always welcomed with great enthusiasm.

Pros:

  • Seed grant for research and product development
  • Academic institutions do not usually take equity stakes
  • Provision of low-budget staffing
  • Other technological resources such as product testing and design labs
  • Technical support and advice

Cons:

  • Financing capital is less than that of other institutions
  • Might have to share IP rights and patents with parent institution.

5. Crowdfunding campaigns

Crowdfunding is now an increasingly familiar financing option for any kind of startup or project. Early-stage biotech startups can raise money using a different model (called equity crowdfunding), in which investors get a share of the company’s equity instead of just paying for a product. 

In 2015, a French neurological company called Eyebrain raised £1.3 million through the crowdfunding site, Anaxago. Crowdfunding platforms like Capital cell and Medstartr are equity crowdfunding platforms created to shorten BioTechs’ and MedTechs’ funding journey in half.

Although the finance from crowdfunding is small in comparison with VC firms and angels yet, it works very fast and provides a great way to get seed funding. Though in recent times, there has been a lot of skepticism about the practicality of Crowdfunding for biotech firms given the long operational duration and generally high-risk nature.

To wrap it up…

Just like every other tech company biotechs have so many financing choices to choose from. The right funding option depends on the company in question, what percentage of control are they willing to lose? Do they need funding for short-term or long-term use? How big is the funding needed? Do they need infrastructure support or not? Industrial advice or not?

These and many more will determine the best way individual biotech startups should source for funds.

Joy Gabriel

Joy Gabriel

Joy is passionate about helping startups and businesses grow to their full potential through her writings. A business strategist and a Financial Expert, she understands what it means to be in the entrepreneurial space. She loves cooking and singing when she's not working.
You can connect with her via LinkedIn.

Articles: 20

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.