GPU 计算——它是什么?

您是否经常听说 GPU 计算或加速,但不确定它们的含义? 这是您需要知道的一切。

GPU 或图形处理单元存在于所有产生一种或另一种显示形式的电子电路中,尤其是计算机。

早期的图形处理器相对简单。 但随着游戏、3D 动画和视频渲染任务的出现,这些任务将 CPU 推到了极限,更强大的 GPU 不得不前来救援。

随着时间的推移,这些新的 GPU 卡的功能和复杂性都在增加,不同的公司和研究人员正在寻找利用其并行执行优势的方法。 这篇文章向您展示了到目前为止的进展情况。

什么是 GPU?

GPU 或图形处理单元是专为处理数据而设计的专用电路,以帮助创建用于显示的图像。 换句话说,GPU 是一个系统,它可以创建您在任何显示表面上看到的图像,例如计算机显示器、智能手机屏幕、游戏机等。

GPU 最初是简单的设备,可以将图形元素组合在一起,为特定设备创建理想的输出。 然而,随着时间的推移,随着计算机游戏的出现,GPU 的复杂性和功能开始增长,催生了 GPGPU 或 GPU 上的通用计算.

什么是 GPU 计算?

GPU 计算或 GPGPU 是使用 GPU 进行图形以外的计算。 这意味着使用嵌入在计算机视频卡中的 GPU,最初用于处理计算机图形以计算其他类型的数据,例如科学模拟、加密货币挖掘、代数计算、天气预报、神经网络等。

GPU 计算的这种演变的原因来自于图形处理单元的令人印象深刻的发展,它来自现代 GPU 系统的分布式并行架构。

随着计算机的 CPU 变得越来越强大,可以处理更复杂的程序和游戏,视频卡制造商也试图跟上现代计算和 3D 图形的发展。 英伟达公布了 GeForce 256 1999 年,作为世界上第一块 GPU 视频卡,事情从那里演变而来。

GPU 卡相对于 CPU 的主要优势在于其并行处理架构,这使得它们能够以分布式并行方式处理大型数据任务,从而防止出现瓶颈和 CPU 冻结。

GPU计算的应用有哪些?

GPU 计算的应用有很多,以下是一些热门用途:

  1. 机器学习和神经网络
  2. 模糊逻辑
  3. 生物信息学
  4. 分子建模
  5. 视频渲染
  6. 几何计算
  7. 气候研究和天气预报
  8. 天文物理学
  9. 加密
  10. 计算机视觉
  11. 密码破解
  12. 量子研究

GPU 与 CPU 处理

GPU 和 CPU 都处理数字数据,但它们的处理方式不同。 CPU 或中央处理单元设计用于高速串行处理,而 GPU 设计用于低速并行处理。 当然,一个 CPU 可以使用超线程来获得每个内核 2 个线程,甚至有几十个内核,但它们本质上是串行处理器。

虽然 CPU 可以有几个内核,但现代 GPU 有数千个内核,例如, Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 它具有 10K+ 个内核。 但是,要获得优于 CPU 的优势,数据必须能够并行处理,例如一次处理包含数千张图像的流。

GPU 与 ASIC

ASIC 代表专用集成电路,这意味着它只能执行一项任务——即它被设计执行的任务。 ASIC 是一种独特的机器,它是从头开始开发的,需要专业的硬件知识来构建。 ASIC 通常用于加密货币挖掘,因为它们提供了良好的并行处理优势和比 GPU 更好的效率。

然而,两者之间的主要区别在于 GPU 更加通用。 例如,您可以使用 GPU 轻松构建加密货币挖矿设备。 这些零件很容易获得,如果您完成了挖矿,您可以随时将 GPU 卡出售给游戏玩家或其他矿工。 但是,使用 ASIC,您只能将二手机器出售给其他矿工,因为您几乎无法用它做任何其他事情。

除了加密货币挖掘之外,将您的手放在 ASIC 机器上变得更加困难,因为它们不是大众产品。 这与您可以随处使用并轻松配置的 GPU 系统形成鲜明对比。

GPU 与集群计算

虽然单个 GPU 卡包含数千个内核,这为您连接的任何计算机增加了巨大的功率,但理论上您可以在计算机主板上添加尽可能多的 GPU 卡,从而进一步提高其处理能力。

另一方面,计算机集群是指多台计算机联网在一起以充当一台大型计算机——超级计算机。 网络上的每台计算机称为一个节点,可以有一个多核 CPU,以及板载一个或多个 GPU 卡。

每个集群必须有一个主节点,它是负责管理和调度其工作节点的前端计算机。 它还将包含为其工作节点分配数据和程序以计算和返回结果的软件。

GPU 加速与超线程

CPU 旨在一次处理多个任务,这就是为什么它以非常高的速度运行,在这些多个进程之间调度处理时间。 但是,当它遇到计算密集型函数时,它可能会在循环中花费一段时间,然后再返回其他进程。 这通常会导致计算机普遍变慢,更糟糕的是,系统会完全冻结。

计算机设计人员可以通过使用超线程或 GPU 加速来避免这种可怕的情况。 超线程允许单个 CPU 内核充当两个处理线程。 因此,当一个线程陷入计算密集型循环时,另一个线程仍然可以将系统保持在一起。

现代计算机现在有多个内核,从 2 到 4、8、16、32 等等。 此外,它们具有超线程,因此 2 核 CPU 提供 4 个线程,4 核提供 8 个线程,依此类推。

多核 CPU 的超线程将解决大多数计算问题,防止瓶颈,并通过简单的游戏、音乐制作以及小型图形、视频和机器学习项目提供顶级性能。 但是,当您需要更多功能时,GPU 通常是正确的解决方案。

GPU 或硬件加速是软件应用程序利用 GPU 的并行处理能力来处理大量数据而不会使 CPU 陷入困境的能力。 许多专业应用程序依赖 GPU 加速才能正常运行。 其中包括视频和动画设计/渲染程序、编码器、密码学、大型神经网络等。

GPGPU 编程基础

GPU 的通用编程最初是使用 的DirectXOpenGL的 图书馆。 然而,这些都是为图形开发而设计的,因此您必须将数据重新用于类似图形的模型才能工作。

幸运的是,多年来 GPGPU 取得了重大进展,导致了库、编程语言和框架的出现。 这些框架中最受欢迎的是 Nvidia 的 CUDA。

CUDA 使任何开发人员都可以轻松地深入研究 GPU 编程,而无需了解经典 GPU 编程的细节。 它提供了增强图形以外的开发的功能,许多单元甚至具有机器学习特定的功能。

可用的库还可以轻松地从头开始创建新的 GPU 加速程序,或使预先编写的程序适应并行处理。 您选择正确的库,优化并行循环的代码,重新编译,仅此而已。

CUDA 核心与流处理器

通常,您会遇到这些术语 Cuda 核心 流处理器. 这两个术语都只是指 GPU 核心或 算术逻辑单元 GPU的. CUDA Core 是 Nvidia 的专有技术,而 Stream 处理器来自 AMD。

您可能会遇到的另一个术语是流式多处理器或 SM。 这是另一种 Nvidia 技术,最初每个 SM 将 8 个 CUDA 核心分组。 它一次执行 32 个线程扭曲,每个命令使用 4 个时钟周期。 较新的设计现在每个流式多处理器具有 100 多个内核。

顶级 GPU 语言和库

有很多库和语言可以在 Nvidia CUDA 和 AMD 平台上运行。 以下只是一些:

  1. 英伟达 cuBLAS – CUDA 的基本线性代数子程序
  2. 神经网络 – 深度神经网络库
  3. OpenCL的 – 并行编程的开放标准
  4. OpenMP的 – 对于 AMD GPU
  5. HIP – C++ 库
  6. 英伟达 cuRAND - 随机数生成
  7. 立方傅立叶变换 – 对于快速傅里叶变换
  8. 英伟达核电站 – 2D 图像和信号处理
  9. GPU VSIPL – 矢量图像和信号处理
  10. OpenCV的 – 用于计算机视觉的 GPU 库
  11. 开放式ACC – 并行开发的语言
  12. PyCUDA – 用于 CUDA 平台的 Python
  13. 张量RT – CUDA 的深度学习
  14. CUDA C++ – CUDA 的 C++ 语言
  15. CUDA C – CUDA 的 C 语言
  16. CUDA 语言 – FORTRAN 开发人员的 CUDA

顶级 GPU 集群项目

截至 2022 年 8 月,世界上速度最快的 10 台超级计算机中有 XNUMX 台是 GPU 加速的。 它们也都共享 Linux 操作系统,具体如下:

名称千万亿次CPU内核GPU核心功率(kW)
1.边疆1,102591,8728,138,24021,1002022
2.LUMI151.9075,2641,034,8802,9002022
3.首脑会议148.6202,7522,211,84010,0962018
4.内华达94.64190,0801,382,4007,4382018
5.珀尔姆特(Perlmutter)64.592,5892021
6.塞勒涅63.4671,680483,8402,6462020
7.天河261.445427,0084,554,75218,4822013
8.阿达斯特拉46.121,632297,4409212022

结论

在深入了解 GPU 计算及其附带的所有内容时,您现在应该已经了解了它的功能和范围。

欲了解更多信息,您可以查看开发者平台 英伟达在这里 或那个 AMD在这里.

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

GPU Computing – What Is It?

Do you keep hearing about GPU computing or acceleration, but are not sure what they mean? Here's everything you need to know.

GPU or Graphics Processing Units are present in all electronic circuits that produce one form of display or the other, especially the computer.

Early graphics processors were relatively simple. But with the advent of gaming, 3D animation, and video rendering tasks that pushed CPUs beyond their limits, more powerful GPUs had to come to the rescue.

These new GPU cards grew in power and complexity over time, with different companies and researchers seeking out ways to leverage their parallel execution advantage. This post shows you how it’s been going so far.

What Is A GPU?

A GPU or Graphics Processing Unit is a specialized circuit designed for the manipulation of data to aid in the creation of images for display. In other words, a GPU is a system that creates the images you see on any display surface, such as the computer monitor, smartphone screen, game consoles, and so on.

GPUs were initially straightforward devices that put graphic elements together to create an ideal output for a specific device. Over time, however, and with the advent of computer gaming, GPUs started to grow in complexity and power, giving birth to GPGPU or General Purpose Computing on GPUs.

What Is GPU Computing?

GPU computing or GPGPU is the use of a GPU for computation beyond graphics. This means using the GPUs embedded in a computer’s video card and originally intended for processing computer graphics for the computation of other types of data, such as scientific simulations, cryptocurrency mining, algebra computations, weather forecasting, neural networks, and so on.

The reason for this evolution of GPU computing comes from the impressive development of graphics processing units, which comes from the distributed parallel architecture of modern GPU systems.

As the computer’s CPU grew more powerful and could handle more complex programs and games, video card makers also tried to keep up with the developments in modern computing and 3D graphics. Nvidia unveiled the GeForce 256 in 1999 as the world’s first GPU video card and things evolved from there.

The major advantage of GPU cards over CPUs is their parallel processing architecture, which makes them able to process large data tasks in a distributed, parallel manner that prevents bottlenecks and CPU freezes.

What Are The Applications For GPU Computing?

The applications of GPU computing are many, here is a look at some top uses:

  1. Machine learning & neural networks
  2. Fuzzy logic
  3. Bio-informatics
  4. Molecular modeling
  5. Video rendering
  6. Geometric computing
  7. Climate Research and weather forecasting
  8. Astrophysics
  9. Cryptography
  10. Computer vision
  11. Password cracking
  12. Quantum research

GPU Vs CPU Processing

GPUs and CPUs both process digital data, but they do it in different ways. The CPU or central processing unit is designed for serial processing at high speeds, while GPUs are designed for parallel processing at much lower speeds. Of course, a CPU can use hyper-threading to get 2 threads per core, or even have dozens of cores, but they are fundamentally serial processors.

While CPUs can have a few cores, modern GPUs come with thousands of cores, for instance, the Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 which features 10K+ cores. To get an advantage over CPUs though, the data has to be capable of parallel processing, such as processing a stream containing thousands of images at a go.

GPUs Vs ASICs

ASIC stands for Application Specific Integrated Circuit and this means that it can only perform one task – that is, the task it was designed to perform. An ASIC is a unique machine that is developed from scratch and requires expert hardware knowledge to build. ASICs are commonly used in cryptocurrency mining, as they offer good parallel processing benefits and better efficiency than GPUs.

The major difference between the two, however, is that GPUs are more versatile. For instance, you can easily build a cryptocurrency mining rig using GPUs. The parts are easily available and if you are done with mining, you can always sell the GPU card to gamers or other miners. With ASICs however, you can only sell a used machine to other miners, because you can hardly do anything else with it.

Beyond cryptocurrency mining, it becomes even more difficult to lay your hands on an ASIC machine, because they are not mass products. This contrasts strongly with GPU systems that you can get everywhere and easily configure.

GPU Vs Cluster Computing

While a single GPU card contains thousands of cores, which add tremendous power to any computer you attach it to, you can theoretically add as many GPU cards to the computer mainboard as it can handle, and further increase its processing capability.

A computer cluster, on the other hand, refers to multiple computers that are networked together to function as one big computer – a supercomputer. Each computer on the network is called a node and can have a multi-core CPU, as well as one or more GPU cards on board.

Each cluster must have a master node, which is the front computer that is responsible for managing and scheduling its worker nodes. It will also contain software that allocates data and programs for its worker nodes to compute and return results.

GPU Acceleration Vs Hyper-threading

The CPU is designed to handle multiple tasks at once, and that’s why it runs at very high speeds, scheduling processing time between those multiple processes. However, when it encounters a compute-intensive function, then it might spend a while in the loop before it returns to the other processes. This usually results in a general slow-down of the computer, and worse cases, a complete freeze of the system.

Computer designers can avoid this dreaded scenario by either using hyper-threading or GPU acceleration. Hyper-threading allows a single CPU core to function as two processing threads. So, when one thread is trapped in a compute-intensive loop, the other thread can still hold the system together.

Modern computers now have multiple cores from 2 to 4, 8, 16, 32, and so on. Plus, they feature hyper-threading, so a 2-core CPU offers 4 threads, a 4-core offers 8 threads, and so on.

Hyper-threading with multi-core CPUs will solve most computing problems, prevent bottlenecks, and deliver top performance with simple games, music production, and small graphics, video, and machine learning projects. But when you need more power than that, then a GPU is often the right solution.

GPU or hardware acceleration is the ability of a software application to leverage a GPUs parallel processing power to crunch large numbers of data, without bogging down the CPU. Many professional applications depend on GPU acceleration to function well. These include video and animation design/rendering programs, encoders, cryptography, large neural networks, and so on.

GPGPU Programming Basics

General purpose programming of GPUs was initially done using DirectX and OpenGL libraries. These were designed strictly for graphics development, however, so you had to re-purpose your data into graphic-like models to work.

Luckily, there have been major advancements in GPGPU over the years, leading to libraries, programming languages, and frameworks. The most popular of these frameworks is CUDA from Nvidia.

CUDA makes it easy for any developer to dive into GPU programming without needing to know the nitty-gritty of classic GPU programming. It provides features that enhance development beyond graphics, with many units even featuring machine-learning-specific functions.

Available libraries also make it easy to create new GPU-accelerated programs from scratch or to adapt pre-written ones to parallel processing. You choose the right library, optimize your code for parallel loops, recompile, and that’s it.

CUDA Cores Vs Stream Processors

Often, you will come across the terms Cuda cores and stream processors. Both terms simply refer to the GPU core or Arithmetic Logic Units of a GPU. CUDA Core is a proprietary technology from Nvidia, while Stream processors are from AMD.

Another term you may come across is Streaming Multi-Processor or SM. This is another Nvidia technology that originally grouped 8 CUDA cores per SM. It executes 32-thread warps at a go, using 4 clock cycles per command. Newer designs now feature over 100 cores per streaming multi-processor.

Top GPU Languages & Libraries

There are so many libraries and languages out there that work on both Nvidia CUDA and AMD platforms. Following are just a few:

  1. Nvidia cuBLAS – Basic linear algebra subprograms for CUDA
  2. cuDNN – Deep neural networks library
  3. OpenCL – Open standard for parallel programming
  4. OpenMP – For AMD GPUs
  5. HIP – C++ library
  6. Nvidia cuRAND – Random number generation
  7. cuFFT – For Fast Fourier transform
  8. Nvidia NPP – 2D image and signal processing
  9. GPU VSIPL – Vector image and signal processing
  10. OpenCV – GPU library for computer vision
  11. OpenACC – Language for parallel development
  12. PyCUDA – Python for CUDA platform
  13. TensorRT – Deep learning for CUDA
  14. CUDA C++ – C++ language for CUDA
  15. CUDA C – C language for CUDA
  16. CUDA Fortran – CUDA for FORTRAN developers

Top GPU Cluster Projects

As of June 2022, 8 of the 10 fastest supercomputers in the world are GPU-accelerated. They all share the Linux OS as well, and are as follows:

RankNamePetaflopsCPU CoresGPU CoresPower (kW)Year
1.Frontier1,102591,8728,138,24021,1002022
2.LUMI151.9075,2641,034,8802,9002022
3.Summit148.6202,7522,211,84010,0962018
4.Sierra94.64190,0801,382,4007,4382018
5.Perlmutter64.59N/AN/A2,5892021
6.Selene63.4671,680483,8402,6462020
7.Tianhe-261.445427,0084,554,75218,4822013
8.Adastra46.121,632297,4409212022

Conclusion

Reaching the end of this dive into GPU computing and all that comes with it, you should have gotten an idea of its power and scope by now.

For further information, you can check out the developer platform of Nvidia here or that of AMD here.

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using
Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Articles: 204

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *