IP 地址:含义、类型、工作原理等

想知道 IP 地址是什么以及它们有什么作用? 这是您需要知道的一切。

Internet 上的每台设备都使用 IP 地址,因此了解它是什么以及您可以做什么和不能做什么很重要。

什么是IP地址?

IP 地址或 Internet 协议地址是分配给连接到 Internet 并使用 Internet 协议与其他计算机通信的任何计算设备的数字标签,例如 127.0.0.1。

Internet 协议是用于在构成 Internet 的计算机和网络路由器之间中继信息的既定标准。 没有 Internet 协议和 IP 地址系统,就没有您今天所知道的 Internet。

这篇文章仔细研究了 IP 地址,以更清楚地了解它们的体系结构和特征,以便您可以充分利用它们。

IPv4 或互联网协议版本 4 于 1982 年首次推出 卫星网 并于 1983 年在 ARPANET. 快进到今天,它是处理当前大多数 Internet 流量的相同协议。

为了使 Internet 上的通信快速高效,Internet 协议版本 4 (IPv4) 包括一个 Internet 协议 (IP) 地址系统,该系统为每台计算机提供一个数字标识符,就像电话号码一样。 这使得 Internet 上的每台计算机都可以与任何其他计算机连接,只要它知道自己的 IP 地址即可。

127.0.0.1 是 IP 地址的典型示例。 但是,此接口会自动保留供您计算机的环回接口使用,该接口是处理同一设备内所有数据路由的虚拟网络。 它是在同一台计算机或移动设备上访问所有网络服务的地址。

因此,如果您想在笔记本电脑或 Android 设备上运行 Web 服务器,例如,您的 Apache Web 服务器将监听 127.0.0.1:80 上的传入连接。 :80 代表端口 80,而 127.0.0.1 代表相同的设备或 家庭网络 or 本地

(请参阅下面的 IP 地址和端口)

IPv4 地址范围从 0.0.0.0 到 255.255.255.255。 第二种地址称为 IPv6,虽然比 IPv4 更先进,但遗憾的是没有得到广泛使用。

IPv4 与 IPv6

IPv4 或互联网协议版本 4 是互联网上使用最广泛的寻址系统。 它使用 32 位寻址系统,以四个八位字节排列。 这里的八位字节是一组 8 位,二进制格式的最大值为 11111111,十进制格式仅为 255。

IPv4 地址以十进制格式书写,便于人类阅读。 否则,其十进制的最高地址值 255.255.255.255 将是二进制的 11111111.11111111.11111111.11111111。 工作起来很痛苦。

总的来说,IPv4 寻址系统最多允许大约 4 亿个唯一地址,这看起来可能很多,但考虑到每年上线的 IoT 设备数量时就更少了。 此外,它还细分为多个类别,您可以从下表中推断出这一点。

增益级Range
最低地址最高地址
A0.0.0.0127.255.255.255
B128.0.0.0191.255.255.255
C192.0.0.0223.255.255.255
D224.0.0.0239.255.255.255

表 1. IPv4 因特网地址范围

另一方面,IPv6 是一个 128 位寻址系统,最多支持 3.4 x 1038 设备。 这是 3.4 乘以 38 个零——足以为世界上所有计算机、平板电脑、手机、物联网设备和无人机提供 IP 地址多倍的地址。

典型的 IPv6 地址由八组四个十六进制数字组成,这些数字由冒号分隔。 因此,示例 IPv6 地址如下所示:

1aa1:0db8:02fa:0bc3:0000:8a2e:0730:7345

IP 地址的类型

IP地址有四种主要类型——即动态、静态、私有和公共。 然而,大量的使用场景产生了许多不同的IP相关标签。 因此,以下是您会发现的最流行的 IP 地址类型及其含义。

1.动态IP地址

现在大多数 Internet 服务提供商都提供动态 IP 地址。 该系统使用 DHCP(动态主机配置协议)服务器在每次登录到提供商网络时为您的设备分配一个新的 IP 地址。 而且这个 IP 通常会持续到您的浏览会话结束。

2.静态IP地址

分配给特定设备且不会更改的特定地址。 它用于通过 Internet 识别该设备,直到网络管理员更改它为止。

3.私有IP地址

这种类型的地址用于识别封闭网络(例如家庭或办公室网络)内的设备。 具有私有 IP 的设备无法被 Internet 上的其他计算机访问。

4.公网IP地址

这是分配给连接到 Internet 的设备的地址。 任何其他计算机都可以从世界任何地方连接到它。

5.共享IP地址

顾名思义,这是一个由多个在线服务共享的 IP 地址。 廉价的托管服务通常将许多网站捆绑到一个共享的 IP 地址中,并自动将数据路由到其中的不同域。

6.专用IP

与多个域使用相同 IP 的共享 IP 地址不同,专用 IP 地址指向单个域名。 专用 IP 地址通常表明业务严肃。

7.广播IP地址

这是一个地址,用于向网络上的所有用户发送消息。 它仅在 IPv4 上可用,但在 IPv6 上不可用。

8. 组播 IP 地址

这是网络上的一组设备可以立即接收消息的地址。 与所有主机的广播地址不同,只有感兴趣的设备才能接收多播数据,而且发送方只需传输一次数据。 多播 IP 通常用于流式传输音乐和视频。

IP 地址的工作原理

IP 地址根据网络的大小分配给网络。 以地址范围为例:

从212.0.0.1到212.255.255.255

可以分配给名为 XYZ Incorporated 的网络。 此外,XYZ Inc. 现在可以在其网络用户之间分配其 IP 地址,或者如果用户多于可用 IP 地址,则可以使用 DHCP 服务器实施动态 IP 分配系统。

现在,任何时候互联网设备请求连接到该范围内的号码时,数据传输都是根据互联网协议进行的。 在这里,每个通信都分为包含标头和有效负载的数据包。

每个网际协议传输包的包头部分包括一个目的IP地址和一个源IP地址。 有效载荷部分是网络传输的实际数据。 Internet 协议的设计方式使得每个网络节点继续将其接收到的数据传输到最近的最佳节点。

由于 XYZ 公司数据中心的物理位置是已知的,因此数据最终将通过路由器到达它。 然后 XYZ Inc. 现在必须将数据进一步路由到其特定用户的位置——指定为接收者的位置。

IP 地址和域名

您一定已经注意到,大多数网站并不宣传其 IP 地址,而是宣传其域名,例如 目标趋势网 or Google.com or Twitter.com

原因是在 Internet 协议之上建立了一个新的通信层,称为万维网。 这部分互联网使用超文本传输​​协议(HTTP)、文件传输协议(FTP)等协议,以互联网协议为传输基础,使文档在互联网上的传输变得容易。

它还包括一个域名系统,它允许您简单地输入一个域,后台运行的协议将处理其余部分。

例如,当您在浏览器中输入 Twitter.com 时,您的计算机将首先检查其本地缓存,看看是否有 Twitter IP 地址的最新副本。 如果是,那么它将使用它。 如果没有,它将向您的 ISP 或您选择的域名系统 (DNS) 服务器发送请求。

DNS 服务器系统与根名称服务器和顶级域 (TLD) 名称服务器一起工作,将所有域名解析为 IP 地址。 请注意,TLD 名称服务器负责每个顶级域,例如 .com、.org、.ru 或 .co.uk。

IP 地址和端口

另一种自带IP号的通讯系统是通讯端口。 与 USB 和串行端口等物理计算机端口一样,软件端口用于通信并作为 IP 号的扩展。

尽管您可以为个人应用程序开发打开和使用您喜欢的任何端口号,但端口号通常分配给特定的服务。 例如,端口 80 用于 HTTP,端口 22 用于 Telnet,端口 25 用于 SMPT 电子邮件。

所以,当你连接到你的网络服务器时 http://localhost/index.html,您的 Web 客户端或浏览器正在向 127.0.0.1:80 发送 HTTP 请求。 当您通过简单邮件传输协议 (SMPT) 连接到本地网络上的邮件服务器时,您的邮件客户端将向 127.0.0.1:25 发送请求。

以下是最受欢迎的端口及其编号的列表。

端口号默认服务使用案列
20和21文件传输协议(FTP)127.0.0.1:21
22安全Shell(SSH)127.0.0.1:22
23远程登录127.0.0.1:23
25SMPT(电子邮件)127.0.0.1:25
80HTTP(网页浏览)127.0.0.1:80
110电子邮件邮局协议 (POP3)127.0.0.1:110
119网络新闻传输协议 (NNTP127.0.0.1:119
123网络时间协议127.0.0.1:123
143IMAP(电子邮件管理)127.0.0.1:143
194互联网中继聊天 (IRC)127.0.0.1:194
443安全HTTP(HTTPS)127.0.0.1:443
3389远程桌面协议127.0.0.1:3389

表 2. 流行的 Internet 协议通信端口

常见问题解答

以下是有关 IP 地址的一些最常见问题。

什么是 IP 欺骗?

IP 地址欺骗是在 Internet 协议 (IP) 数据包中使用指向其他计算机的虚假地址伪造源 IP 地址。 IP 欺骗可用于绕过安全措施,例如使用代理或测试和调试网络,但它也经常用于分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击。

IP 地址是如何分配的?

IP 地址由网络管理员(例如您的互联网服务提供商)使用不同的方法分配。 第一种方法是手动网络分配,管理员为您的设备分配一个静态 IP 地址,在管理员更改之前,它将始终连接到 Internet。 第二种方法是动态 IP 分配,其中动态主机配置协议 (DHCP) 服务器自动将 IP 地址分配给在网络中为每个会话激活的设备。

可以追踪 IP 地址吗?

是的,IP 地址通常可以追溯到某个地理位置,但精确度取决于许多因素,例如动态 IP 地址的使用、VPN,以及 ISP 或 VPN 主机是否保留日志或保留日志的时间.

IP地址会随着位置改变吗?

这取决于。 如果您使用的是移动设备,那么它可能会。 如果您在固定有线互联网连接之间切换,那么它肯定会。

IP可以改吗?

是的,它可以。 如果您有一个动态 IP 地址,那么只需关闭您的设备并重新打开它可能会改变它。 对于静态 IP,您需要联系您的网络管理员进行更改。

为什么我的 IP 地址一直在变化?

许多因素可能导致您的 IP 不断变化。 第一个是拥有使用动态 IP 地址的 Internet 服务提供商。 第二种是移动您的移动设备或平板电脑,这会导致其切换基础设施和更改 IP 地址。 第三种是如果您使用 VPN 服务,因为这些提供商通常会在您每次登录时为您的设备分配新的 IP。

如何阻止我的 IP 地址更改?

阻止您的 IP 地址更改的几种方法包括获得提供静态 IP 地址的 Internet 订阅、停止移动您的移动设备或停止使用 VPN 服务。

总结

在这篇关于 IP 地址及其工作原理的文章的总结中,您已经看到它们只是网络上设备的数字标识符。

互联网协议及其相关技术是浩瀚无边的。 所以,你使用它们做什么以及你如何做,都取决于你和你在做什么。

纳姆迪·奥克克

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:203

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

IP Address: Meaning, Types, How It Works & More

Wondering what IP addresses are and what they do? Here is everything you need to know.

Every device on the Internet works with an IP address, so it is important to know what it is and what you can, and cannot do with it.

What is an IP Address?

An IP address or Internet Protocol address is a numerical label such as 127.0.0.1 that is assigned to any computing device that is attached to the Internet and that uses the Internet Protocol to communicate with other computers.

The Internet Protocol is a laid-out standard for relaying information across the computers and network routers that make up the Internet. Without the Internet Protocol and the IP address system, there would be no Internet as you know it today.

This post looks close at IP addresses to shed more light on their architecture and characteristics, so you can make the best use of them.

IPv4 or the Internet Protocol version 4 was first launched in 1982 on the SATNET and in 1983 on the ARPANET. Fast forward to today and it is the same protocol that handles most of the current Internet traffic.

To make communication on the Internet fast and efficient, the Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4) includes an Internet Protocol (IP) Address system that gives each computer a numerical identifier, much like a telephone number. This allows every computer on the Internet to connect with any other computer, so long as it knows its IP address.

127.0.0.1 is a typical example of an IP address. This one, however, is automatically reserved for use on your computer’s loopback interface, which is the virtual network that handles all data routing inside the same device. It is the address to access all network services on the same computer or mobile device.

So, if you want to run a web server on your laptop or Android device, your Apache web server, for instance, would be listening to incoming connections on 127.0.0.1:80. The :80 stands for port 80, while the 127.0.0.1 stands for the same device or Home Network or localhost

(See IP Addresses & Ports below)

IPv4 addresses range from 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255. The second type of address called IPv6, which though more advanced than IPv4, is sadly not as widely used.

IPv4 vs IPv6

IPv4 or Internet Protocol version 4 is the older and most widely used addressing system of the Internet. It uses a 32-bit addressing system, arranged in four octets. An octet here is a group of 8 bits with a maximum value of 11111111 in binary format or simply 255 in decimal.

IPv4 addresses are written in a decimal format for human readability. Else, its highest address value of 255.255.255.255 in decimal would be 11111111.11111111.11111111.11111111 in binary. A pain to work with.

In total, the IPv4 addressing system allows for up to around 4 billion unique addresses, which might seem like much, but less so when you consider the amount of IoT devices coming online each year. Furthermore, it is subdivided into classes, as you can infer from the table below.

ClassRange
Lowest AddressHighest Address
A0.0.0.0127.255.255.255
B128.0.0.0191.255.255.255
C192.0.0.0223.255.255.255
D224.0.0.0239.255.255.255

Table 1. IPv4 Internet address ranges

IPv6, on the other hand, is a 128-bit addressing system, which supports up to 3.4 x 1038 devices. That is a 3.4 multiplied by 38 zeros–enough addresses to supply all the computers, tablets, mobiles, IoT devices, and drones in the world with an IP address many times over.

A typical IPv6 address is represented by eight groups of four hexadecimal digits that are separated by colons. So, an example IPv6 address would look like this:

1aa1:0db8:02fa:0bc3:0000:8a2e:0730:7345

Types of IP addresses

There are four major types of IP addresses–namely dynamic, static, private, and public. However, lots of usage situations have given rise to many different IP-related labels. So, the following are the most popular types of IP addresses you will find and what they mean.

1. Dynamic IP Address

Most Internet service providers today offer dynamic IP addresses. This system uses a DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) server to assign a new IP address to your device each time it logs on to the provider network. And this IP will often last till your browsing session ends.

2. Static IP Address

A specific address that is assigned to a particular device and that does not change. It is used to recognize that device across the Internet until the network administrator changes it.

3. Private IP Address

This type of address is used to identify devices that are within a closed network, such as a home or office network. A device with a private IP is not accessible to other computers on the Internet.

4. Public IP Address

This is an address that is assigned to a device that is connected to the Internet. Any other computer can connect to it from anywhere in the world.

5. Shared IP Address

As the name implies, this is an IP address that is shared by more than one online service. Cheap hosting services often bundle many websites into one shared IP address and automatically route data to the different domains within.

6. Dedicated IP

Unlike a shared IP address where multiple domains use the same IP, a dedicated IP address points to a single domain name. A dedicated IP address is often an indication of a serious business.

7. Broadcast IP Address

This is an address that is used to send a message to all users on a network. It is only available on IPv4 but not on IPv6.

8. Multicast IP Address

This is an address where a group of devices on a network can receive messages at once. Unlike a broadcast address for all hosts, only interested devices receive multicast data, plus the sender only has to transmit the data once. Multicast IPs are often used for streaming music and videos.

How IP Addresses Work

IP addresses are assigned to networks depending on their size. Take, for instance, the addresses range:

From 212.0.0.1 to 212.255.255.255

could be assigned to a network called XYZ Incorporated. In addition, XYZ Inc. can now divide its IP addresses among its network users, or if it has more users than available IP addresses, it can implement a dynamic IP assignment system using a DHCP server.

Now, any time an Internet device requests a connection to a number within that range, the data transmission is carried out according to the Internet Protocol. Here, each communication is divided into packets of data that contain a header and a payload.

The header part of each Internet Protocol transmission package includes a destination IP address and a source IP address. The payload part is the actual data getting transmitted by the network. The Internet Protocol is designed in such a way that each network node continues to transfer data that it receives to the nearest best node.

And since the physical location of XYZ Inc.’s data center is known, the data will eventually find its way through routers to it. Then XYZ Inc. will now have to further route the data to its specific user’s location–the one designated as the recipient.

IP Addresses & Domain Names

You must have noticed that most websites don’t advertise their IP address, rather they advertise their domain names, such as TargetTrend.com or Google.com or Twitter.com

The reason is that a new communication layer was built upon the Internet Protocol and called the World Wide Web. This part of the Internet uses the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), the File Transfer Protocol (FTP), and other protocols to make the transfer of documents easy across the Internet, with the Internet Protocol as their transport basis.

It also includes a domain name system, which allows you to simply input a domain and the protocols running in the background would handle the rest.

For instance, when you type Twitter.com into your browser, your computer will first check its local cache to see if it has a recent copy of Twitter’s IP address. If it does, then it will use it. If it doesn’t, then it will send a request to your ISP or your selected Domain Name System (DNS) server.

The DNS server systems work together with root name servers and top-level domain (TLD) name servers to resolve all domain names into an IP address. Note that a TLD name server is responsible for each top-level domain such as .com, .org, .ru, or .co.uk.

IP Addresses & Ports

Another communication system that comes with IP numbers is the communication port. Like physical computer ports such as the USB and serial ports, software ports are there for communication and as an extension of the IP number.

Although you could open and use any port number you like for personal application development, port numbers are generally assigned to specific services. For instance, port 80 is for HTTP, port 22 is for Telnet, and port 25 is for SMPT email.

So, when you connect to your web server at http://localhost/index.html, your web client or browser is sending HTTP requests to 127.0.0.1:80. And when you connect to a mail server on your local network through Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMPT), your mail client will send requests to 127.0.0.1:25.

Here is a list of the most popular ports and their numbers.

Port NumberDefault ServiceExample
20 & 21File Transfer Protocol (FTP)127.0.0.1:21
22Secure Shell (SSH)127.0.0.1:22
23Telnet127.0.0.1:23
25SMPT (Email)127.0.0.1:25
80HTTP (Web browsing)127.0.0.1:80
110Post Office Protocol (POP3) for Email127.0.0.1:110
119Network News Transfer Protocol (NNTP127.0.0.1:119
123Network Time Protocol127.0.0.1:123
143IMAP (Email Management)127.0.0.1:143
194Internet Relay Chat (IRC)127.0.0.1:194
443Secure HTTP (HTTPS)127.0.0.1:443
3389Remote Desktop Protocol127.0.0.1:3389

Table 2. Popular Internet Protocol communication ports

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are some of the most frequently asked questions about IP addresses.

What is IP spoofing?

IP address spoofing is the forging of source-IP addresses in Internet Protocol (IP) packets with false addresses that point to other computers. IP spoofing can be used to bypass security measures such as by using a proxy or to test and debug a network, but it is also frequently used in Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks.

How are IP addresses assigned?

IP addresses are assigned by the network administrator (such as your internet service provider) using different methods. The first method is manual network assignment, where an admin assigns a static IP address to your device, with which it will always connect to the Internet until the admin changes it. The second method is dynamic IP assignment, where a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) server automatically assigns IP addresses to devices that become active in the network for each session.

Can an IP address be traced?

Yes, an IP address can often be traced to a geographical location, but how precisely, depends on many factors, such as the use of dynamic IP addresses, VPNs, and if the ISP or VPN host keeps logs or for how long they keep them.

Will an IP address change with location?

It depends. If you are using a mobile device, then it might. If you are switching between fixed cable internet connections, then it definitely will.

Can an IP be changed?

Yes, it can. If you have a dynamic IP address, then simply switching off your device and switching it back on might change it. For a static IP, you will need to contact your network administrator to make changes.

Why does my IP address keep changing?

Many factors could cause your IP to change constantly. The first is having an Internet service provider that uses dynamic IP addresses. The second is moving around with your mobile device or tablet, which causes it to switch infrastructure and change IP addresses. The third is if you use a VPN service, as these providers usually assign new IPs to your device, each time you log on.

How do I stop my IP address from changing?

The few ways to stop your IP address from changing include getting an Internet subscription that offers static IP addresses, stopping to move around with your mobile device, or stopping to use a VPN service.

Conclusion

In summary of this post on IP addresses and how they work, you have seen that they are simply numerical identifiers of the devices on a network.

The Internet protocol and its related technologies are vast. So, what you use them for and how you do, all depend on you and what you are doing.

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using
Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Articles: 203

Receive techie stuffs

Tech trends, startup trends, reviews, online income, web tools and marketing once or twice monthly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *