加速器与孵化器:哪个适合您的创业公司?

您的创业公司需要孵化器还是加速器? 要回答这个问题,您必须了解它们是什么以及它们之间的区别。

加速器和孵化器通常可以互换使用,但它们并不相同。 是的,他们都迎合初创公司,但他们以不同的方式和不同的目标来做这件事。

如果你有一个创业公司或一个想法,并且正在考虑走哪条路,那么你应该首先了解这两个业务系统是什么。

本文着眼于加速器和孵化器,重点介绍它们的运作方式和提供的好处。

对加速器和孵化器的需求

大多数创始人都面临同样的问题,这取决于他们的创业公司发展或进步的程度。 最早的阶段是您发展创业公司的基础,这就是孵化器可以帮助您实现的目标。

一旦您制定了可靠的商业计划或您的商业模式似乎正在发挥作用,那么就该加速其增长了。 那是您需要启动加速器服务的时候。

但是,您应该记住,创始人对其创业公司的分析可能是主观的。 因此,他关于可靠的商业计划或最小可行产品的想法可能与市场现实不同。

因此,获得更多洞察力的最佳方式是与业内人士建立联系。 那些已经在市场上活跃的人。 加速器和孵化器很好地提供了这个机会。

什么是创业孵化器?

创业公司或企业孵化器是一个帮助创始人将他们的想法转化为稳固业务的组织。 孵化器包括首次创业者生存所需的所有工具,而且它们通常以非常低的价格提供这些工具。

典型的孵化器提供了一个共享工作空间,可以使用高速互联网、电话、打印机等相关硬件和会议室等必需品。 它们与科技园区或中心不同,因为孵化器通常只允许小型初创企业。

孵化器还可以包括法律和管理帮助。 这有助于创始人轻松创建可靠的商业计划、最小可行产品、启动公司、学习如何管理日常运营以及寻找付费客户。

其中一些还将包括社交活动、营销和市场研究帮助、会计以及与导师、天使投资者、监管合规和银行贷款的联系。

孵化器有两种类型——非营利性和营利性。 非营利孵化器通常由政府、社区、大学等创建或资助。 他们可以为他们的服务收取少量且负担得起的费用,仅此而已。

另一方面,以利润为导向的孵化器是为了钱而做生意的。 这不一定是坏事,因为他们经常提供急需的解决方案。 但是,他们的费用可能更高,或者他们可能要求为其服务提供股权。

什么是启动加速器?

创业加速器是一项短期计划,可帮助创业公司及其创始人扩展为更大、更有利可图的组织。 他们尝试使用通常持续 3 到 6 个月的结构化和强化计划来实现这一目标。

该计划通常包括关于扩展现有业务的方法的指导、课程和研讨会。 创始人还接受了关于团队合作将企业提升到新水平的必要性的讲座。

加速器计划的所有参与者必须在固定日期毕业。 这是孵化器的另一个主要区别。 不过,在毕业时,创始人通常会从加速器那里获得种子投资。 加上向其他投资者推销他们的业务的机会。

这种种子投资的范围从 10,000 美元到 125,000 美元不等,具体取决于所涉及的地区和公司。 它还可以附带价值高达 1 万美元的福利,例如云托管积分、法律咨询等。

然而,它也带有附加条件,因为加速器通常要求持有公司的股权,以换取投资。 该股份可以在 7% 到 10% 之间,但也可能高达 20% 或更多。

尽管这对许多人来说听起来很棒,但被加速器录取并不容易,因为最好的项目只接受 1% 到 2% 的申请者。 每批可以有 10 到 20 个团队,具体取决于项目,他们经常一起工作或定期会面。

加速器与孵化器比较

恒温箱加速器
训练:有电紧张的
学制:1至5五年3到6个月
业务领域:促进创新将创新货币化
范围/目标:开发 MVP团队合作/扩展
支付方式:设施费用股权
资金来源:不是为了利润,大学风险投资公司
种子资金:有时总是
贸易支持:总是总是
基本规定:办公室、法律帮助、导师资金、推介培训

为了更好地理解这两个系统,以下是它们不同功能的并排比较。

  • 培训——这两个系统都为他们的初创公司提供培训。 孵化器专注于提供从公司成立到客户管理的基本业务实践所需的培训。

    另一方面,加速器通常专注于演示培训。 因为它可以帮助创始人获得扩大业务的资金。

  • 持续时间——加速器通常是快节奏的,通常从 3 到 6 个月不等。 这是近似的,因为总是存在差异。 但是大多数加速器都是分批工作的,一旦一个批次完成,下一批就开始了。

    孵化器更悠闲。 虽然它们通常持续 1 到 5 年,但创业公司在孵化器中的持续时间没有限制。 很大程度上还取决于孵化器的所有者,因为有些人专注于发展特定的社区,而另一些则是纯粹的企业。

  • 重点——孵化器专注于在特定领域或环境中促进创新,而加速器则专注于从这些创新中赚钱。

    行业资深人士或大学经常资助孵化器以促进其特定领域的创新,而政府则试图促进特定地理区域的创新。

  • 目标——孵化器专注于帮助创始人将他的想法变成真正的业务。 这意味着创建一个可靠的商业计划,可以吸引种子资金来帮助实现业务。 或者创建一个最小可行的产品,这是一个可行的业务的基本模型。

    另一方面,加速器主要专注于将有效的商业模式转化为财务成功。 为此,他们大多接受具有有前途的商业模式或 MVP 的初创公司,然后向其创始人传授团队合作的原则、方法和优势。

  • 支付——两种商业模式都需要为其服务获得某种报酬,以保持盈利。 这里没有固定的规则,但孵化器往往会为其服务收取少量费用,而加速器往往更喜欢创业公司的股权。

    当然,价格取决于具体业务及其创始人的目标。 例如,社区和政府资助的孵化器在逻辑上会比以盈利为导向的孵化器收取更少的费用。

  • 资金来源——加速器通常由以下机构资助 创投 和其他以利润为导向的公司,而孵化器通常由慈善家、大学、社区和政府资助,以刺激其所在地的创新。

  • 种子基金——加速器和孵化器都可以为初创公司参与种子轮融资。 然而,非营利孵化器往往只将创始人与 天使投资人、银行和其他资金来源。

    然而,许多孵化器将投资于一个有前途的企业。 与加速器一样,投资金额和预期回报可能会有所不同。 40,000 美元到 80,000 美元之间的金额可以在美国占据 6% 到 8% 的股份,而较小的金额可以在其他地方占据相同的百分比。

  • 业务支持和规定——两种模式都提供基础设施和业务支持服务。 但孵化器更多地关注这一领域。 这些可以包括办公空间、实验室、会议室、通信和网络服务。

著名的孵化器

以下是来自世界各地的一些著名孵化器:

  1. Idealab – 成立于 1996 年,总部位于加利福尼亚。 理想实验室 已经创建了 150 多家公司,进行了大约 50 次 IPO 和收购。 它们包括 Picasa、Pet.net、Overture、Citysearch 等。
  2. Seedcamp – 于 2007 年推出,总部位于英国伦敦。 Seedcamp 其投资组合中有数百家公司,包括 Transferwise、UiPath 和 Revolut。
  3. 总部设在新加坡的快乐青蛙, 快乐青蛙数字创新 有助于在东南亚地区培养人才。
  4. Capital Factory – 德克萨斯州奥斯汀的企业家和初创企业的热门中心。
  5. ActiveSpaces – 位于喀麦隆的非洲科技孵化器。

著名的加速器

以下是著名的加速器:

  1. Y Combinator – 2005 年推出的最受欢迎的加速器。 Y组合 总部位于加利福尼亚州,帮助创办了 2,000 多家公司,包括 Dropbox、Coinbase 和 Reddit。
  2. Techstars – 位于科罗拉多州博尔德, TechStars的 已通过其计划帮助了 1,600 多家公司。 校友包括 Bench Accounting 和 DigitalOcean, Inc.
  3. Startup BootCamp – 与世界各地的许多地点建立网络。 它们包括开普敦、迪拜、伊斯坦布尔、纽约、孟买、柏林和伦敦。
  4. 500 Startups – 成立于 2010 年,总部位于加利福尼亚州旧金山。 500 Startups 拥有超过 2,400 家公司的投资组合。

结论

到此加速器与孵化器比较的结尾,您现在应该很明显,两者都没有比另一个更好。

这些模型中的每一个都有其优点和缺点,使其比其他模型更适合某些初创公司。 因此,由您来分析您的业务及其需求,以决定哪种方式最适合您。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

一个评论

  1. 令人惊叹的文章,值得一读。X-Byte 正在推出其超级独家技术加速器计划,以帮助和指导所有有抱负的企业主扩大业务规模并发展他们的企业。 继续发布这些帖子!每个应用程序类型都附有正确的示例集,可以轻松理解并深入了解技术。这对未来的开发人员有很大帮助。 谢谢你

    了解更多信息: 创业加速器商业模式

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Accelerator vs incubator: Which is right for your startup?

By

Does your startup need an incubator or an accelerator? To answer that question, you have to understand what they are and how they differ from one another.

Accelerators and incubators are often used interchangeably, but they are not the same. Yes, they both cater to startups but they do it in different ways and with different goals.

If you have a startup or an idea and are considering which route to take then you should first understand what these two business systems are.

This article takes a look at accelerators and incubators with a focus on how they operate and the benefits they offer.

The need for accelerator and incubator

Most founders face the same problems, and this depends on how far their startups have grown or advanced. The earliest stages are where you develop the startup’s foundation and this is what an incubator helps you to achieve.

Once you have developed a solid business plan or your business model seems to be working, then it is time to accelerate its growth. That is when you need the services of a startup accelerator.

You should keep in mind, however, that a founder’s analysis of his or her startup can be subjective. So, his idea of a solid business plan or minimum viable product might be different from market realities.

The best way to gain more insight, then, is to network with industry insiders. Those that are already active in the markets. Accelerators and incubators excellently offer that opportunity.

What is a Startup Incubator?

A startup or business incubator is an organization that helps founders to transform their ideas into a solid business. Incubators include all the tools that the first-time entrepreneur will need to survive and they often provide them at very low rates.

A typical incubator offers a co-working space, with access to necessities, such as high-speed Internet, relevant hardware like telephones, printers, and a conference room. They are different from technology parks or hubs, as only small startups are usually allowed in incubators.

The incubator can also include legal and managerial help. This helps founders to easily create a solid business plan, a minimum viable product, launch their company, learn how to manage the day-to-day operations, and find paying customers.

Some will also include networking events, help with marketing and market research, accounting, and access to mentors, angel investors, regulatory compliance, and bank loans.

There are 2 types of incubators – non-profits and for-profits. Non-profit incubators are usually founded or bankrolled by governments, communities, universities, and so on. They can charge a small and affordable fee for their services and that is it.

Profit-oriented incubators, on the other hand, are in the business for the money. This isn’t necessarily bad, as they are often providing a much-needed solution. However, their fees may be higher or they may demand an equity stake for their services.

What is a Startup Accelerator?

A startup accelerator is a short-term program that helps startups and their founders to scale into larger, more profitable organizations. They try to achieve this using a structured and intensive program that often lasts between 3 and 6 months.

This program usually includes mentoring, classes, and workshops on methods to scale their existing business. The founders are also lectured on the necessity of teamwork in scaling an enterprise to new levels.

All participants of an accelerator program must graduate on a fixed date. This is another major difference to incubators. At graduation, though, the founders usually receive a seed investment from the accelerator. Plus an opportunity to pitch their business to other investors.

This seed investment can range from $10,000 to $125,000 depending on the region and the company involved. It can also come with up to $1 million worth of perks, such as cloud-hosting credits, legal consultations, and so on.

However, it also comes with strings attached, as the accelerator usually demands an equity stake in the company, in exchange for the investment. This stake can range between 7% and 10%, but it could also go as high as 20% or more.

As great as this sounds for many, acceptance into accelerators is not easy, as the best programs only accept 1% to 2% of applicants. Each batch can feature 10 to 20 teams, depending on the program, and they often work together or meet periodically.

Accelerator vs incubator comparison

IncubatorAccelerator
Training:YesIntensive
Duration:1 to 5 years3 to 6 months
Focus:Fostering innovationMonetizing innovation
Scope/Goals:Develop an MVPTeam Work/ Expansion
Payments:Fees for amenitiesEquity stake
Funding Sources:Not for profits, universitiesVenture capital firms
Seed Funding:SometimesAlways
Business Support:AlwaysAlways
Basic Provisions:Office, legal help, mentorsFunding, pitch training

To understand these two systems better, here is a side-by-side comparison of their different features.

  • Training – Both systems provide training for their startups. Incubators focus on providing the training needed for basic business practices from incorporation to customer management.

    Accelerators, on the other hand, typically focus on presentation training. As it helps the founders to secure the funding for scaling their business.

  • Duration – Accelerators are usually fast-paced, often ranging from 3 to 6 months. This is approximate though, as there can always be differences. But most accelerators work in batches and once a batch finishes, the next batch is on.

    Incubators are more laid back. While they typically last from 1 to 5 years, there is no limit to how long a startup can last in an incubator. A lot also depends on the incubator’s owners, as some are focused on developing a particular community, while others are pure businesses.

  • Focus – Incubators focus on fostering innovation in a particular field or environment, while accelerators focus on making money from these innovations.

    Industry veterans or universities often fund incubators to foster innovation in their given fields, while governments attempt to foster innovation in a specific geographic area.

  • Goals – An incubator focuses on helping a founder to turn his ideas into a real business. And this means creating a solid business plan that can attract seed funding to help make the business a reality. Or creating a minimum viable product, which is a bare-bones model of the business that works.

    Accelerators on the other hand, mostly focus on turning working business models into financial successes. To do this, they mostly accept startups with a promising business model or MVP and then teach its founders the principles, methods, and advantages of teamwork.

  • Payments – Both business models need to receive some sort of remuneration for their services, to stay profitable. There are no fixed rules here, but incubators tend to charge small fees for their services, while accelerators tend to prefer an equity stake in the startup.

    Of course, prices depend on the exact business in question and the goal of its founders. Community and government-funded incubators, for instance, will logically charge less than profit-oriented incubators.

  • Funding Sources – Accelerators are usually funded by venture capital and other profit-oriented firms, while incubators are often funded by philanthropists, universities, communities, and governments in a bid to stimulate innovation in their location.

  • Seed Funding – Accelerators and incubators can both engage in seed funding rounds for the startups. However, non-profit incubators tend to only connect the founders with angel investors, banks, and other funding sources.

    Many incubators, however, will invest in a promising venture. And as with accelerators, the amount invested and the returns expected can vary. Sums between $40,000 and $80,000 can command 6% to 8% stakes in the U.S., while lesser sums can command the same percentage elsewhere.

  • Business Support & Provisions – Both models provide infrastructure and business support services. But incubators focus more on this area. These can include office space, laboratories, conference rooms, communication, and networking services.

Notable Incubators

Here are some notable incubators from around the world:

  1. Idealab – Founded in 1996 and based in California. Idealab has produced over 150 companies, with about 50 IPOs and acquisitions. They include Picasa, Pet.net, Overture, Citysearch, and so on.
  2. Seedcamp – Launched in 2007 and based in London, UK. Seedcamp counts hundreds of companies in its portfolio, including Transferwise, UiPath, and Revolut.
  3. Joyful Frog Based in Singapore, Joyful Frog Digital Innovation helps to develop talent in the South East Asian region.
  4. Capital Factory – Popular hub for entrepreneurs and startups in Austin, Texas.
  5. ActiveSpaces – African tech incubator based in Cameroon.

Notable Accelerators

Here are notable accelerators:

  1. Y Combinator – Most popular accelerator launched in 2005. Y Combinator is based in California and has helped launch over 2,000 companies, including Dropbox, Coinbase, and Reddit.
  2. Techstars – Located in Boulder, Colorado, Techstars has helped over 1,600 companies with its program. Alumni include Bench Accounting and DigitalOcean, Inc.
  3. Startup BootCamp – Network with many locations around the world. They include Cape Town, Dubai, Istanbul, New York, Mumbai, Berlin, and London.
  4. 500 Startups – Founded in 2010 and based in San Francisco, California. 500 Startups has a portfolio of over 2,400 companies.

Conclusion

Reaching the end of this accelerator versus incubator comparison, it should be obvious to you by now, that none of the two is better than the other.

Each of these models has its advantages and disadvantages, making it a better fit for certain startups than the other. So, it is up to you to analyze your business and its needs, to decide which is best for you.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Leave a Comment