量子计算:意义、优势及更多

对所有量子计算的讨论感到困惑并渴望了解它的全部内容? 这是一个适合初学者的介绍。

量子 计算 是量子力学原理在执行计算中的应用。 这里使用的基本现象是 纠葛 叠加.

虽然量子计算是一个相对较新的流行词,但量子力学的存在时间要长得多。 它负责电子行业的重大发展,还为人类的许多谜团提供了答案。

量子力学专注于原子和亚原子粒子如何工作,而量子这个词是指可以使用的最小粒子。 这是任何物理对象最基本的构建块。

从马克斯·普朗克到阿尔伯特·爱因斯坦、尼尔斯·玻尔和欧文·薛定谔,许多伟大的科学家都参与了量子力学的发展,并最终将其推向量子计算竞赛——我们这个时代最伟大的技术竞赛之一。

这篇文章带你进入量子现象的神奇世界,向你展示如何用它制造计算机,并探索它的相关领域。

远处的幽灵行动

量子现象违背了传统的理解,并以与经典物理学完全不同的术语工作。 因此,在 1930 年代,爱因斯坦使用“幽灵般的超距作用”一词来描述量子纠缠现象以及它如何不适合传统科学。

量子纠缠并不是什么新鲜事。 如果你在同一个地方和瞬间创建两个粒子,那么它们就会纠缠在一起。 这意味着无论一个人发生什么,都会影响另一个人。

这就像坠入爱河,每当你想到你的爱人时就会接到一个电话。 或者拨打电话并听到“我正要给你打电话”。 同卵双胞胎也会同时生病。

量子纠缠最令人毛骨悚然的部分是你可以把一个纠缠的粒子带到很远的地方。 无论你对其施加什么条件,都会立即影响第二个粒子,即使是在半个星系之外。

量子计算机利用这一特性一次存储多个粒子的大量信息。 这些粒子被称为量子比特或量子比特,但首先,看看第二种量子力学现象。

欧文·薛定谔和他的猫

另一位早期的量子研究人员是奥地利物理学家欧文·薛定谔,他和阿尔伯特·爱因斯坦一样,同样发现量子现象的某些部分是荒谬的。 于是,他提出了现在著名的思想实验,叫做“薛定谔的猫”,将量子叠加的悖论形象化。

这个实验表明,如果你把一只猫和可以杀死猫的东西放进一个盒子里并密封起来。 在你打开盒子之前,你不会知道这只猫是死是活。 所以,从逻辑上讲,在你打开盒子之前,这只猫既死又活。

叠加是使量子计算成为可能的第二种现象。 经典计算机处理在任何给定时间可以表示 1 或 0 的信息位,而量子计算机处理可以同时表示 0 和 1 的量子位(量子位),就像既死又死的猫一样。活。

这是对量子比特的仔细研究。

比特与量子比特

量子位使量子计算成为可能。 也称为量子位或 qbit,量子位是您可以操纵以保存和检索信息的最小能量单位。

在任何给定时间,常规计算机位只能是 0 或 1。 而一个量子位可以同时是两者。 因此,两个常规位可以在任何给定时间保存 00、01、10 和 11。 但是两个量子比特可以同时保持所有四种状态。 这意味着计算周期快 4 倍。

使用 3 个常规位,您可以在任何给定时间获得 000、001、010、011、100、101、110 和 111。 但是 3 个量子位将同时保持所有 8 个状态,从而为您提供 XNUMX 倍更快的计算周期。 如您所见,这种关系是指数级的,然后每增加一个位,可用信息量就会增加一倍。

因此,如果有 5 个量子位,您会同时查看 32 个状态,如果有 10 个量子位,则有超过 1,000 个状态,如果有 20 个量子位,则有超过一百万个状态。 现在,考虑有多少个州 1,000-qubit 量子计算机 IBM 和谷歌正在开发的可以同时进行。

你可以从 光子, 电子, 原子核, 量子点, 超导体,以及其他实现。 目标是创建一个稳定的量子位能量集合,您可以方便地随意设置和测量。

量子计算的优势

量子计算的主要优势是复杂问题的即时结果。 这主要是在您必须从许多可能性中选择正确答案的情况下。 这使得它们非常适合人工智能中的数字分解、大规模模拟和模式识别。

经典计算机的标准方法是调查每一种可能性,直到你找到你要找的东西。 通常被称为大海捞针,此操作将花费的时间取决于您必须筛选多少干草或记录。 以及你的机器有多快。

超级计算机通过提高检查每种可能性的速度使此类问题变得更容易。 另一方面,如果有足够的量子比特可用,量子计算机可以同时产生所有可能性。 这就是为什么他们可以在几个小时内计算出普通计算机需要数百到数千年才能计算出来的问题。

量子计算问题和限制

虽然您可以在经典计算机中轻松测量比特,但测量量子比特会破坏其状态及其纠缠量子比特的状态。

此外,经典位由多种半导体材料制成,只需保持电荷 (1) 或不保持电荷 (0)。 然而,量子位要复杂得多,也难以实现。 除了在空间上隔离量子位之外,您还需要保护它免受环境干扰,例如温度和静电波动。 因为如此小的环境变化也会破坏这些状态。

这种纠缠或系统平衡的损失称为量子退相干,是大多数研究人员试图解决的主要问题。 它是如此严重,以至于谷歌即将推出的 1,000 量子位机器将需要多达 1,000 个量子位来对每个量子位进行纠错。 从而使其成为一个 1 万个量子比特的机器。

这也意味着您目前无法像处理笔记本电脑或智能手机一样处理量子计算机。 计算机需要实验室条件来维持其量子比特的安全稳定水平。

另一个缺点是所谓的量子霸权范围有限,因为并非每个计算问题都涉及大量数字或可能性。 因此,大多数其他操作中的计算提升太微不足道,不足以证明量子计算方法的合理性。 除非量子计算机最终比经典计算机便宜,否则它们也不会很快取代它们。

尽管存在所有这些缺点,但量子计算机及其量子比特在计算机行业具有很大的潜力,因为它们可以轻松处理大量数据。

量子计算有危险吗?

是的。 每个优秀的黑客都知道每项技术都有漏洞。 你只需要找到它。 因此,无论未来量子计算机的实际实现如何,该技术仍然存在问题。 演员们准备好利用它们。

此场景涉及银行、金融、政府和类似的公共活动等用途。 第二种情况是恶意行为者利用优质量子计算机的惊人功能来完成一项壮举。 和往常一样,人们只有在行动完成后才会意识到这种可能性。

量子计算在数字方面做得很好。 因此,使用分解的非对称加密算法,例如公钥 RSA 是不安全的。 另一方面,散列和对称加密,例如 AES-256 和 512,以及 SHA-256 和 512,是相对安全的。

量子力学的其他应用

尽管量子计算的世界令人兴奋,但它仍然只是量子力学的一部分。 所以,换句话说,量子派对才刚刚开始。

量子力学在半导体和现代电子学的发展中发挥了重要作用。 量子网络和密码学的工作也在进行中,例如瑞士 量子密码学先驱 ID Quantique. 此外,量子现象在光合作用、嗅觉感受器甚至 我们对时间的理解.

真实世界的量子计算机

那里有许多量子计算机和类似的应用程序。 他们来自像谷歌和 IBM 这样的大型跨国公司,以及政府,甚至像 Rigetti 这样的小公司。

量子计算目前是地球上最热门的研究领域之一。 所以那里可能有比你想象的更多的秘密程序。 以下是一些主要项目:

  • 谷歌拥有 54-qubit 和 72-qubit 机器
  • IBM 拥有遍布全球的 30 多台机器,包括 65 量子比特的曼哈顿
  • 中国拥有许多量子计算机,包括一台 76 量子比特的机器,甚至还有量子卫星通信。
  • 谷歌的 54 量子比特 Sycamore 驱动的机器只用了 200 秒来计算超级计算机需要 10,000 年才能计算的内容。
  • IBM 计划到 1,000 年开发出 2023 量子比特的机器
  • Rigetti Computing 拥有四台机器,包括一台 31 量子比特的机器
  • 谷歌正在建设一个新的量子中心,以在 1,000 年之前创建一台 2029 量子比特的计算机。考虑到纠错因素,该计算机的总量子比特可能达到 1 万。

结论

量子计算机将继续存在。 因为它们将创造许多机会并解决传统计算机几十年来一直在努力解决的现实问题。

然而,在我们到达那里之前,还有很多工作要做,还有很多挑战需要克服。 在那之前,中国可能会让世界大吃一惊。

Nnamdi Okeke

纳姆迪·奥克克

Nnamdi Okeke 是一位喜欢阅读各种书籍的计算机爱好者。 他偏爱 Linux 而不是 Windows/Mac,并且一直在使用
Ubuntu 从早期开始。 你可以在推特上通过 邦戈特拉克斯

文章:278

接收技术人员的东西

每月一次或两次技术趋势、创业趋势、评论、在线收入、网络工具和营销

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Quantum Computing: Meaning, Advantages & More

By

Confused by all that quantum computing talk and itching to understand what it is all about? Here is a beginner-friendly introduction.

Quantum computing is the application of quantum-mechanical principles in performing computations. The basic phenomena employed here are entanglement and superposition.

While quantum computing is a relatively new buzzword, quantum mechanics has existed for much longer. It was responsible for major developments in the electronics industry and additionally offers answers to many of mankind’s mysteries.

Quantum mechanics focuses on how atoms and sub-atomic particles work, while the word quantum refers to the smallest particle one can work with. That is the most basic building block of any physical object.

From Max Planck to Albert Einstein, Neils Bohr, and Erwin Schrödinger, many great scientists were involved in the development of quantum mechanics and its eventual culmination into the quantum computing race – one of the greatest technology races of our time.

This post takes you into the magical world of quantum phenomena, shows you how to make a computer from it, and explores its related fields.

Spooky Action at a Distance

Quantum phenomena defy conventional understanding and work on completely different terms from classical physics. So, in the 1930s, Einstein used the words “spooky action at a distance” to describe the phenomena of quantum entanglement and how it does not fit into conventional science.

Quantum entanglement is nothing new. If you create two particles at the same place and instant, then they become entangled. Meaning that whatever happens to one, affects the other.

It is like falling in love and getting a call whenever you think of your lover. Or making a call and hearing “I was just about to call you”. Identical twins have also been known to fall sick at the same time.

The spookiest part of quantum entanglement is that you can take one of the entangled particles far away. And whatever conditions you subject it to will affect the second particle instantaneously, even from half a galaxy away.

Quantum computers employ this property to store huge amounts of information on multiple particles at once. These particles are called qubits or quantum-bits, but first, a look at the second quantum-mechanical phenomenon.

Erwin Schrödinger & His Cat

Another early quantum researcher was Austrian physicist Erwin Schrödinger, who, like Albert Einstein, equally found parts of quantum phenomena ridiculous. So, he came up with the now-famous thought experiment called “Schrödinger’s cat” to visualize the paradox of quantum superposition.

This though experiment states that if you put a cat and something that could kill the cat into a box and sealed it. You would not know if the cat was dead or alive until you opened the box. So, logically, the cat was both dead and alive until you open the box.

Superposition is the second phenomenon that makes quantum computing possible. Where classical computers work with bits of information that can either represent 1 or 0 at any given time, quantum computers work with qubits (quantum bits) that can represent both 0 and 1 at the same time, just like the cat that was both dead and alive.

Here is a closer look at qubits.

The Bit vs The Qubit

The qubit is what makes quantum computing possible. Also referred to as quantum bit or qbit, a qubit is the smallest unit of energy that you can manipulate to save and retrieve information from.

A regular computer bit can only be 0 or 1 at any given time. While a quantum bit can be both at the same time. Two regular bits, therefore, can hold 00, 01, 10, and 11 at any given time. But two quantum bits can hold all four states at the same time. This means 4x faster compute cycles.

With 3 regular bits, you can either get 000, 001, 010, 011, 100, 101, 110, and 111 at any given time. But 3 qubits will hold all eight states at the same time, giving you 8x faster compute cycles. As you can see, this relationship is exponential, then each additional bit doubles the amount of information available.

So, with 5 qubits, you are looking at 32 simultaneous states, with 10 qubits it is over 1,000 states, and at 20 qubits, over a million. Now, consider how many states the 1,000-qubit quantum computers that IBM and Google are developing can hold simultaneously.

You can make qubits from photons, electrons, atomic nuclei, quantum dots, superconductors, and other implementations. The goal is to create a stable collection of quantum bits of energy that you can conveniently set and measure at will.

Advantages of Quantum Computing

The major advantage of quantum computing is instantaneous results from complex problems. This is mainly in situations where you have to choose the right answer from many possibilities. And this makes them great for number factoring, large-scale simulations, and pattern recognition in artificial intelligence.

The standard approach for classical computers is to investigate each possibility until you find what you are looking for. Often called a needle in a haystack search, the amount of time this operation will take depends on how much hay or records you have to sift through. And on how fast your machine is.

Supercomputers make such problems easier by increasing the speed of checking each possibility. Quantum computers, on the other hand, can generate all the possibilities simultaneously, if enough qubits are available. That is why they can compute problems in a few hours that ordinary computers will take hundreds to thousands of years to compute.

Quantum Computing Problems & Limitations

While you can easily measure bits in a classical computer, measuring a qubit destroys its state and that of its entangled qubits.

Also, classical bits are made from a wide range of semiconductor materials that just have to either hold a charge (1) or not (0). Qubits are, however, much more complex and difficult to implement. And in addition to spatially isolating a qubit, you need to shield it from environmental interference, such as temperature and electrostatic fluctuations. Because such small environmental changes will also corrupt these states.

This loss of entanglement or system balance is called quantum decoherence and is the major problem that most researchers are trying to solve. It is so severe that Google’s upcoming 1,000-qubit machine will need up to 1,000 qubits for error correction of each qubit. Thus making it a 1-million qubits machine.

It also means that you cannot currently handle a quantum computer as you would a laptop or smartphone. The computer needs laboratory conditions to maintain a safe level of stability for its qubits.

Another drawback is the limited scope of the so-called quantum supremacy, because not every computing problem involves large volumes of numbers or possibilities. So, the computational boost in most other operations is too insignificant to justify a quantum-computing approach. And unless quantum computers end up cheaper than classical computers, they are also not replacing them any time soon.

Despite all these drawbacks, quantum computers and their qubits hold a lot of potential in the computer industry because of the large numbers they can handle with ease.

Are there Dangers with Quantum Computing?

Yes. Every good hacker knows that every technology has a loophole. You just have to find it. So, no matter the actual implementations of quantum computers in the future, there will still be issues with the technology. And actors ready to capitalize on them.

This scenario refers to uses like banking, finance, government, and similar public activities. A second scenario is when a malicious actor employs the amazing power of a good quantum computer to pull off a feat. And as always, people will only become aware of such a possibility after the deed is done.

Quantum computing does well with numbers. So, asymmetric encryption algorithms that use factorization, such as the public-key RSA are not safe. Hashing and symmetric cryptography, such as the AES-256 and 512, as well as SHA-256 and 512, on the other hand, are relatively safe.

Other Applications of Quantum Mechanics

As exciting as the world of quantum computing is, it is still just a part of quantum mechanics. So, in other words, the quantum party is just getting started.

Quantum mechanics has been instrumental in semiconductor and modern electronics development. Work is also underway for quantum networking and cryptography, such as Swiss-based quantum-cryptography pioneer ID Quantique. Plus, quantum phenomena have additionally shown promise in numerous research fields, including photosynthesis, smell receptors, and even our understanding of time.

Real-World Quantum Computers

There are many quantum computers and similar applications out there. They come from large multinationals like Google and IBM, as well as governments, and even smaller players like Rigetti.

Quantum computing is currently one of the hottest research areas on the planet. So there are probably more secret programs out there than you can imagine. Below are some major projects:

  • Google owns 54-qubit and 72-qubit machines
  • IBM owns over 30 machines scattered across the globe, including the 65-qubit Manhattan
  • China is home to many quantum computers, including a 76-qubit machine and even quantum satellite communication.
  • Google’s 54-qubit Sycamore-powered machine spent only 200 seconds to compute what supercomputers would need 10,000 years to compute.
  • IBM is developing a 1,000-qubit machine by 2023
  • Rigetti Computing owns four, including a 31-qubit machine
  • Google is building a new quantum center to create a 1,000-qubit computer by 2029. Factoring error correction, that computer’s total qubits could reach 1 million.

Conclusion

Quantum computers are here to stay. As they will create many opportunities and solve real-world problems that classical computers have struggled with for decades.

However, there is still a lot of work to be done and challenges to overcome before we get there. And until then, China might just surprise the world.

Photo of author

Nnamdi Okeke

Nnamdi Okeke is a computer enthusiast who loves to read a wide range of books. He has a preference for Linux over Windows/Mac and has been using Ubuntu since its early days. You can catch him on twitter via bongotrax

Leave a Comment